Customer Reviews Of:
Marmot Vapor Trail Hooded Soft Shell Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. When you're warming up faster than the temps are, Marmot's Vapor Trail hooded jacket is the wind- and water-resistant solution. M2 soft shell fabric on the sides and back is highly breathable, and a microfleece backing on the body and sleeves adds extra warmth.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 3.900000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by Jonny The Jet from Fort Collins, CO on Wednesday, March 23, 2016
    This jacket is great for that 50-65 degree range where you want something to eliminate the chill, but nothing so heavy to overheat you. Range of motion is great.

    I normally wear size Large (even in Marmot clothing) but had to order a size up to an XL to get a perfect fit for my 6'4" 190lb frame. The size Large was very tight and the torso and sleeves were short for me.
  • Reviewed by domernuc from Oregon on Friday, February 12, 2016
    I wear a 48 jacket and this jacket is tight on me, not quite wet suit tight, but tight. The feel of the material is great. The quality looks excellent. If it was even close to a slim fit for 46-49 like STP says I'd be wearing it (and giving it 5 stars). It's great in length for 6'4", 19" torso, me. I'd say it would fit 6'4" 200 lb who is a L or XL. For a guy who goes between XL and XXL, this is a non-starter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tim S. from Atlanta on Saturday, August 29, 2015
    Love this jacket, but the material is a little thin for extreme cold conditions in my opinion. I used this on Mt. Rainier and definitely got a chill at about 25 degrees when I stopped moving (I am a little cold natured) when combined with a lightweight and midnight base layer. Otherwise, solid jacket in terms of moving moisture and comfort. Very easy to pack given the thin fabric.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tim S. from Atlanta on Monday, August 10, 2015
    Bough this softshell for an upcoming trip to Rainier (August). Did a lot of research and this one consistently received great reviews. Some of the reviews indicate that the sizing runs small, so I started off with an XL (I typically wear a Large) and ended up trading it in for a Large, which fits perfectly for me (6'4" / 190 - 42" chest). Even so, there is room for base layers given the stretch of the fabric. Nice technical climbing features without adding a ton of weight. This is going to end up being my go to jacket combined with layers and a lightweight hardshell in case the conditions really turn.

    As always Sierra came through with a price that couldn't be beaten and terrific customer support.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kody from Midwest on Tuesday, August 4, 2015
    I have bought several marmot jackets for different seasons. This is a light weight jacket that I will use for temps in the 30's to 50's degrees. Size is true to fit for the Marmot brand. More of a tight fit around the body and longer arms. Classic Marmot fit. If you are a larger built person or someone who lifts weights, this jacket will ride you in the arm pits. Zippers are very functional for phone or small carrying items.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AlinKC from Kansas City on Tuesday, May 12, 2015
    I expected this shell to be much thicker providing more warmth in the winter months. If you are looking for a jacket to provide warmth in the winter then you will need to make sure you layer up to provide the extra warmth. I like this jacket but i'm not sure what season i'm going to use it. It is spring and the jacket already is overkill for my current temps. I know in the winter this jacket will not provide the warmth i wanted from a soft shell. I think this would be a good accent jacket but you would have to hit the right day as i would not recommend this jacket much below 25 degrees Fahrenheit without very specific layering.
  • Reviewed by Rhino from Oregon on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    This jacket is definitely slim fitting. I usually wear and large or extra large depending on cut and brand, but in this jacket an XL is very form fitting. That is by design, I believe, but you should know this before buying. The material is fantastic: breathable, capable of shedding light rain, stretchy, blocks some wind, provides a little warmth. A very versatile jacket for a wide range of conditions. Highly recommended provided you get the sizing right.
  • Reviewed by HIKER from JAPAN on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    Feeling of wearing is well warm.
    It is perfect, if it can do and will be Gore-Tex now.
  • Reviewed by Church Family from Kusel, Germany on Friday, October 11, 2013
    Sharp looking jacket.

    I wished it fit.

    I'm 5'8 and around 175 with 42 inch chest.

    I wear a Medium in the Marmot ROM jacket, but this was too tight. Should of gotten a large.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wfsy from NWA on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    This jacket is another well made product from Marmot. BUT it is designed as a very slim fit...almost like a Cycling design. I have owned many Marmot products and this is a very tight fit for an XL ! Buy at least one size bigger.
  • Sort by: