Customer Reviews Of:
Marmot Variant Vest (For Men)

Closeouts. Marmot's Variant vest provides core warmth without adding a bulky, restrictive layer. The back and sides are made of Polartec® Power Stretch® fabric for uninhibited movement. Up front, a water-resistant shell with Thermal R synthetic insulation adds warmth.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.090909 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gettin Outdoors from Milwaukee on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    I like Marmot gear a lot and this is no exception when it comes to being well made. I am 6'2" 200 lbs and I bought the large. It is definitely on the baggy and big side. I will be returning.
  • Reviewed by Thom (Thinkingfitguy45) from Bend, Oregon on Monday, October 27, 2014
    A little ticked about this one- read the reviews here suggesting it was "very warm". Perhaps these people live in Florida, but this vest is not warm enough for even a 45 degree day in Bend, Oregon with a long sleeve shirt underneath. I'm very athletic, and even while moving quickly today, covering my boat, storing kayaks, prepping the yard and outdoor gear for Winter, I was cold. Not good considering this is only Fall. The back is completely uninsulated, and the front is barely so. Might be okay for brisk running, but not daily life in a mountain town, even in Fall or Spring. I'm a 44 year old super athletic and muscular 205 lb guy, so it's not like I'm a 70 year old scrawny guy out there expecting too much warmth from a piece of tech gear. It's going back, to join the Marker Torch vest I already returned. I am going to suck it up and pony up $150 for a TNF thermoball, which is probably what I really need.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ragefinder9929 from Central NY on Thursday, October 2, 2014
    Nice light weight vest. The front shell material is extra shiny but the fit is good (XXL).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tr the climber from 'Bama but heading West ASAP on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    I haven't gotten to put the Variant Vest into action yet, but I have tested it inside and it's very warm in the front torso yet remains very breathable. Marmot has been a favorite brand of mine for many years, and they continue to produce quality outdoor goods. The Variant Vest will serve well as a mid-layer for backcountry skiing and as an all-around alpine piece of equipment.
  • Reviewed by Downhill from Oregon on Saturday, February 8, 2014
    Nice vest- stretch feature adds great value on the slopes or off.
  • Reviewed by Pilot17 from NorCal on Sunday, January 5, 2014
    Overall this is a high quality vest as would be expected from Marmot. The back and sides stretch fabric is different than the quilted front. The look s fine for the slopes but not sure it transitions well into urban territory
  • Reviewed by comfy crotch in the deep south from deep south on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    I always check the Marmot offerings because of the quality and they usually run long enough for my 6'6" frame. This vest ran true to form in that the length was perfect and the quality excellent. The finish on the front of the vest,however, had a glossy look to it that my son described as unmasculine( to be politically correct). So I returned it and am now looking for a pure fleece vest.
  • Reviewed by holycow from nc on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    Got this for my husband. He hasn't taken it off. Looks great, nice and light, and is warm.
  • Reviewed by Ephblum from Amherst, NY on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    Recently went on a vest buying binge and picked up the Marmot Caldera, Marmot Variant, MHW Thermostatic and Ortovox Andermatt. All these vests have worked out pretty well but this one is my favorite so far (closely followed by the Ortovox). They all basically have different functions in terms of how much insulation they have (i.e. warmth, bulk, comfort, etc.). The Caldera is a full on insulated vest (not too thick but has insulation all around) while this one (Variant) has insulation only in the front and powerstretch in the back. It still provides wind resistance with the powerstretch but also has lots more comfort and is less bulky and more form-fitting (although definitely not tight). I find myself wearing this one less for athletic pursuits (although I readily could) and more as casual wear because it does look good. I plan on purchasing the other color (green) and wearing that one more for jogging, etc. The Marmot quality is there and the fit in L for me at 6'2" 180 lbs 46L suit, 36W seems pretty good where I put a Haglofs micro-fleece underneath and am pretty set. I may try one in a medium just to see how it also fits since I won't have to worry about sleeve length and prefer a tight fit.
  • Reviewed by JD Of NSC from Boston, MA on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    This vest has features that make it unique and ultra comfortable. It is quilted and insulated only in the front as the back is power stretch Polartec fleece.
    This allows the vest to conform to your body but w/o any tightness so it fits like it was custom made for you. This super breathable back also makes
    your back feel better when seated. A nice elastic in the arm holes also contributes to the perfect fit and makes this vest ideal for all active sports too as it moves with you. Plenty warm but the high fill down type are obviously warmer if that is what you want. I would rather have the vest pocket on the outside
    than the inside but this is a minor complaint and sometimes it is better have an inside zippered pocket to keep electronic devices protected.
    I think this is as good as vests get.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2