Customer Reviews Of:
Medima Virgin Wool Lightweight Bottoms (For Women)

Closeouts. Nothing beats the soft, gentle warmth of virgin wool and angora in these lightweight Medima bottoms.

Average Rating based on 72 reviews 4.486111 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Erin from East Bay Area on Wednesday, December 2, 2015
    So wonderfully soft and cuddly. Initial scratchiness fades fast with use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NCP from Central Illinois on Wednesday, December 2, 2015
    I've had a few pairs of these for years - they last many seasons before getting holes. They're warm, fit great, and can be machine washed and dried. I wear them as tights with skirts and dresses, as sleepwear, as workout bottoms, and as long underwear under pants when it's really, really cold. I'm 5'7, 140# and the Medium fits me better than Large. The enclosed, narrow, stretchy elastic waist is very comfortable and doesn't bind. Relatively expensive but worth the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Burque Girl from Albuquerque, New Mexico on Saturday, January 17, 2015
    These bottoms fit well and have a waistband that is not too tight. However, after trying them on, I decided that they were just too itchy. They may soften and be less itchy after washing, but I did not want to take a chance, so I sent them back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chibomiki from Wisconsin on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    I love medima underwear. Light not bulky, and warm. My son likes men's long johns, too. And not itchy as most wool underwear gives you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outdoorbee from North Carolina on Friday, December 5, 2014
    I loved the fit of these but found them itchy so sent them back
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Monika from New Jersey on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    I am looking forward to wearing medima virgin wool bottoms. I have previously owned them and love them...
    I recommend them highly. I am just glad that I found them at Sierra Trading Post.
  • Reviewed by Martha from Wisconsin on Friday, March 7, 2014
    Warm but not too heavy
  • Reviewed by Sierrafan from PA on Saturday, February 8, 2014
    I had the opportunity to compare both of these excellent brands on the same hike - 15 -22 degrees F. temp, 9" snow with heavy crust, for 2 1/2 hours - Medima bottoms, Icebreaker top. Both garments performed beautifully. I got warm quickly with trail breaking, sweated and got warmer still, then stopped to drive home and run errands in town for an hour, and began to chill. The ultimate test is which garment allows you to re-heat more quickly. Maybe not a completely fair test, but the Medimas seemed to stay drier and allow me to re-heat my bottom half more quickly. I wamed up a little more slowly in the icebreaker top but it wicked and allowed me to regain body heat as well. The Icebreaker top is a little softer but both are comfortable. I have washed each 3-4 times. Each time, they soften. I went with the Medima bottoms because I wanted them to double as leggings. Reviews of the Icebreaker bottoms mentioned that the knees bagged out a little too much for this use. I went with the Icebreaker top for the zip up turtleneck. My take is that Medima has the edge in wicking, warmth and fashion; Icebreaker the edge in softness and sports styling. Both are great products - you can't go wrong with either for a range of uses.
  • Reviewed by Trudi from florida on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    Great leggins. Thin but warm, soft and non-itchy, very comfy to lounge around the house during chilly winter days. I only wish they had come in a longer length for tall people.
  • Reviewed by Trudi from florida on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    Great leggins. Thin but warm, soft and non-itcy, very comfy to lounge around the house during chilly winter days. I only wish they had come in a longer length for tall people.
  • Reviewed by Trudi from Florida on Friday, January 3, 2014
    These pants look and feel very soft , warm and non-itchy to wear around the house during occasional chilly winter spells here in Florida. I also bought a pair for my Mom who could enjoy wearing them as a baselayer during cold winters up North. I hope they will never be discontinued.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lake dweller from michigan on Saturday, February 23, 2013
    Soft right out of the box. Not baggy. Medima wears like iron, I have camisoles 10 years old, not a run or rip in them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Paloma from Indiana on Sunday, December 2, 2012
    I use this, along with the matching top, as pajamas, and under clothing in cold weather. The fit is very snug. They were just a bit itchy when I tried them on, but after washing (cold water, line or flat dry), they were soft and comfortable. I took one star off because the fit is so snug, and the price a bit on the high side, imo.
  • Reviewed by Natschultz from NY on Friday, November 23, 2012
    These are nice and cozy soft, so I wish they weren't itchy on my legs. I am allergic to acrylic, but I had hoped the wool / angora would prevent me from itching. They are soft to the touch, but after one minute wearing them my legs started to itch like whenever I put on acrylic - more like an allergic reaction than a "wool itch." I can get used to itchy wool and angora and ignore it after a few minutes, but acrylic makes my skin start to burn all over.
    If you can wear acrylic without a reaction, these are super-cozy and WARM pants!
    I'm 5'9", 125 pounds and the medium fit, although short.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Quality Frugal Shopper from Talent, OR on Friday, September 21, 2012
    Looking forward to wearing these come winter on my walks to the office!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Double Blessed from Homer, Alaska on Wednesday, May 2, 2012
    Perfect solution for thin,light weight layer. I practcally live in these from fall to spring. They keep me warm without the bulk or itchiness of other wools. They are a snug fit so order a size up if that is a bother for you. I'm a size 6/8, 125lbs and ordered a medium and they FIT me. I will order another pair when available in natural color.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, sleep wear, Snow Sports, Travel
    • Cons: Snug fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Pleased as punch! from Redway, C alifornia on Monday, April 16, 2012
    I've got cold legs all of the time living here on the coastline. I decided to try a pair of these and was naturally reluctant to do so given the price.
    However, these are great long underwear! Lightweight, warm and plenty of stretch. YES.
    I like them in the color black especially as they cover up all of the lumps and bumps (I'd rather not have to look!).
    Will be looking to buy more of these when more come in! A definite recommend! A++++++ :)
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wiley's Mom from Indianapolis, IN on Sunday, February 5, 2012
    Medima products are toasty warm, layer well under clothes and wear like iron. I wear Medima tops and bottoms practically every day in cold weather. They keep me warm when outside and are not too hot when inside. Great to wear inside when you don't want to turn up the thermostat! I even sleep in mine they're so comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Snow Sports, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nitajo from Seattle, WA on Thursday, December 29, 2011
    They fit nicely at the waist, are snug but not binding, warm and comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Running, Snow Sports
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cycling studetter from Healdsburg, ca on Monday, December 26, 2011
    I own another pair of Medina long uw and they are about 5-8 years old and getting holey. They were much more comfortable and thinner. If these are still itchy after I wash them, I will be returning them.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lumie from Vermont on Tuesday, December 6, 2011
    This is my second pair, I live in Vermont where the temps can stay in the single digits or lower for days, I generally put on the long johns in december and they stay on till spring. These are warm,comfortable, fit like tights without being restrictive. They are very soft and feel like a second skin without binding. I usually wear a size 8, I am 5'6" and weigh 140, I find the small fits without being baggy and I can easily wear them under anything. The first pair I have had for two years and I wear them all the time, they show no signs of wear and wash great in washer with my wool socks. They also work great for active outdoor sports like snowshoeing! I am a firefighter and enjoy being outside in the winter.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom to 3 from Illinois on Wednesday, November 30, 2011
    I spend all day outside feeding cattle and horses and they are great under jeans not to heavy, but warm. Elastic at waist could use some work, but aren't bad. I would still buy another pair.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Snow Sports, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aging Babyboomer from Rochester, New York on Tuesday, November 1, 2011
    These bottoms are warm but not bulky. I wear them under dressy
    slacks in the cold northeast during winter.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skibaby from chicago, il on Thursday, February 10, 2011
    its very soft and comfortable , its made of thin wool material so you cant expect it to withstand bitter cold temperature, it is a good tights/leggins as additional layering.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
    • Cons: Too Thin
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Workout
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LX150 from NEW YORK,NY on Monday, February 7, 2011
    I would own them by the dozen but for the cost. The cost, however is just as the item is prime quality.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by me from CA on Friday, February 4, 2011
    I have worn them almost everyday since I got them. Love the soft warm, they fit under my pants fine. They saved me down in J tree this winter, and I wish i have like 5 pairs.

    Cons: lightweight... I'm afraid I will wear a hole in them soon. The waistband is a piece of elastic in a casing, so it might wear too. High, traditional waist - might bug some people.. but I like it cause it keeps me warmer.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Running, Snow Sports, Travel, Warm Weather
    • Cons: Too Thin
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tourdog from New York, NY on Wednesday, January 19, 2011
    My mom bought these and raved about them, so I bought her another pair. She says they are the only lightweight wool leggings she has been able to find recently. And that they are incredibly comfortable.
    Mom's review is a thumbs up.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Workout
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Sierra Shopper from California on Wednesday, January 19, 2011
    These Medima wool and angora base layer bottoms are pure gold. I've bought my third pair - the first pair are over 5 years old and still holding up and providing lightweight warmth and superb quality. Sierra Trading Post has the best prices on Medima products.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Running, Snow Sports, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KT from New York on Tuesday, January 11, 2011
    I live in New York and I wear these every day during the winter. They take me form standing on the elevated platform waiting for a train, to working in a loft building where the bathrooms and halls are not heated. I just wish that the waist was lower so that it is easier to wear them with jeans.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sarah from woodstock, ny on Monday, January 10, 2011
    when something says its wool it should mean its wool, not part wool! these are 35% acrylic, and therefore NOT WORTH so much money!!!! if i didnt have to PAY MORE to return them, i would.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3