• Mephisto Reviews

After studying in the United States for six years, twenty-seven year old Martin Michaeli returned to Europe and founded Mephisto, a company that soon became synonymous with extraordinary footwear. Michaeli received his first patent for his special shoemaking process in 1973 and transformed Mephisto into a global brand just two years later. Famous for comfort, Mephisto utilizes exclusive technologies and offers finely crafted shoes with excellent cushioning, support, and breathability. The Air-Techno or fresh air system constantly circulates air throughout the shoe to avoid odor and clamminess. ... Learn more about Mephisto Air-Relax midsoles, Air-Step cushioned removable insoles, and the Soft Walk shock absorbing system are a few more Mephisto breakthroughs that define their continued popularity. Refreshing and rejuvenating, each and every step taken in a Mephisto feels like the first. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 102
  • Reviewed by Gardener in the Redwoods from Northern California on Tuesday, June 7, 2016
    I bought these boots based on the fine reputation of Mephisto. I am happy that I did, in fact I purchased two pair, one in my normal size 7 to wear with lighter socks and one in 7.5 to wear with heavier ones. I reside in Northern California on a terraced, uneven parcel. I need warm boots to wear especially when I exercise my two Labs. The boots will serve my purpose well. They run true to size and are very comfortable on my narrow feet. They have wonderful cushion, are waterproof and have a very nice rubber sole that will grip well on uneven ground especially during wet weather. Mephisto is quality as are these boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Suzy from Upstate NY on Thursday, June 2, 2016
    My narrow feet felt pinched in the toes and heel slides up and down. I usually wear 8 1/2 to 9 and these were a 9.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Style Pro from New York on Monday, April 18, 2016
    These boots are a great find: excellent fit, meticulous waterproofing, and as flattering a shape as you could find in this type of footwear. The sole has deep traction grooves, and the lacing is set up on an adjustable gore, without any openings, to stop the water or slush.
    I bought them at the end of season, to wear next winter. Hoping to navigate thru the snowstorms with no problem now.
  • Reviewed by BHealthy from new england on Wednesday, March 23, 2016
    I needed a boot with a waterproof foot to wear when I slog my way to the mailbox (100 yards from the house), take out the trash, or get caught in the rain while shopping. These are only waterproof up to the seam around the ankle, which is good enough for me.

    They're a little more on the stylish side than hiking boots, which I like. I have several pair of hikers and they're too heavy for everyday wear. The only thing I don't like is that the sole is a bit stiff so I'm clomping around. I hope that goes away once I wear them in.

    These are light enough, and comfortable enough, to wear around the house, which I am currently doing. They're a little too chunky to wear with a skirt but they're perfect with leggings.

    I normally buy a size 7.5 so I'll have room for an insole and heavy socks. These have enough padding in the sole that I don't need an insole. I don't think there is room for an insole now, so they do run a bit small.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Occasionally dressy, more often a woodsy hiker from Massachusetts on Monday, February 29, 2016
    Stylish, yet comfortable and practical, to boot :-)! Before buying, I read someone's review saying the zipper had broken. If unzipping the zipper, I find that it can catch on the internal gusset that seals the lower portion of the boot against external moisture. This gusset ends at the ankle. If the zipper catches, reach inside and coax it carefully over this spot. That requires some patience and dexterity, without which the zipper might break. These boots kept me warm on a 0 F degree day even though I wore only thin socks and had to stand quietly for a half hour at least. They are comfortable to walk in. Knowing what I know, I'd buy them again.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Butchdog from Minnesota on Sunday, February 28, 2016
    Bought these for my wife and she likes them a lot. Very comfortable and warm. A perfect winter combination.
  • Reviewed by sara from PA on Monday, December 28, 2015
    I bought my first pair of these at Nordstrom's, at the full retail price, on impulse. I liked them so much, I wanted more, but I certainly don't have the budget for that. Then, I found them at the Sierra Trading Post. This turned out to be the beginning of a long relationship, because that visit showed me what STP had to offer. I've bought many other items since then - including four more pairs of this precise shoe (Mephisto Sarah clogs) in various colors. I was stockpiling them in case they disappeared from the marketplace. Why do I like them so much? Reasons abound: comfort, looks, durability. Especially comfort and looks. They don't look clunky, they don't feel clunky, but they are real clogs, not dress shoes masquerading as clogs. I simply cannot recommend them highly enough, and I seriously hope the precise make and model are resurrected - or that someone finds a lost trove of them. I would buy more in a split second.
  • Reviewed by clothes horse from pa on Tuesday, December 22, 2015
    Like the other reviewer says, these are really more a fashion boot with grit! The lace up part is not solid and though you use the zipper to get in and out, snow and slush could get in the lace up part. I am a solid nine and trying these on with trouser socks, there is no room for more sock and the right one is definitely tight. That said, I really like them and even at 90 will probably keep them b/c larger size not available and Mephistos are forever.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dcburbs from maryland on Sunday, December 6, 2015
    No snow yet, so I haven't worn them, but my first impressions are that they will be warm and comfortable. A little concerned that they may end up rubbing at the back at upper ankle, but decided that with thick socks and the adjustable elastic I would be able to alleviate that problem. I am between sizes so almost ordered down but am very glad I did not--these are true to size, not a lot of extra room in them. Excellent price from STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eli from NY - New York on Thursday, November 19, 2015
    Great pair of boots and very comfortable.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 102
;