Merrell Barefoot Bare Access 2 Running Shoes - Minimalist (For Men)

Closeouts. By providing 8mm of cushion in a minimalist design Merrell's Barefoot Bare Access 2 running shoes are perfect for barefoot running beginners or more experienced runners who are tackling longer distances.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by Arctic Bob from Northwest Greenland on Friday, April 18, 2014
    I just received these yesterday and found they were very light and perfect for indoor training and outdoor running in warmer climates. They were slightly larger by a half to one size, but that's quite alright - I use socks most of the time.

    Kudos goes out to Sierra Trading Post - My original order was lost in transit and they quickly sent another shipment to me. I received the replacement shipment right away. I truly appreciate the customer service.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carl from WA on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    I liked it so much I ordered another pair a week later. The fit is true and mitten like. Traction is good in both wet and dry conditions. Cushioning is just right at 8mm in back and about 4 in front. However, the description says that there is no drop between front and back. From wearing them and performing a visual and touch inspection there is definitely a drop.
  • Reviewed by Carl from WA on Monday, March 31, 2014
    I have purchased many products from the Merrell Barefoot line since it was introduced. Why? Because they are great shoes. Whether casual, trail or road running, the fit and finish is tops. The Bare Access 2 is no exception. First run in them was comfortable, supportive and light. I used them on asphalt, concrete, and hard packed dirt/gravel roads. The Bare Access 2 was always grippy and well planted, even if I was not. The website (STP) description claims that there is no drop between the heel and toe. Looking at them from the side and having worn them I say there is a drop, probably 4mm, heel to toe. I liked them so much that I ordered a second pair a week later. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed by niwwin from california on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    My first minimalist shoes. It is light, of course, and has a good fit to it. It has reasonably solid construction, as much as a minimalist shoes could have. But I would avoid any thing abrasive against the uppers.
    Other reviews suggested order a 1/2 size smaller for this product and that worked for me.
  • Reviewed by MG from New Mexico on Friday, March 14, 2014
    Nice to kick around in on the weekends.
  • Reviewed by The Happy House-wife from Illinois on Wednesday, March 5, 2014
    My husband purchased a pair of these over 9 months ago and wears them almost every day to work. He spends a lot of time walking, and being on his feet. These shoes are far better than Mizunos or Asics he has tried in the past. He likes the feel of being almost barefoot. My husband also needs an extra wide toe box. Something that is hard to find in athletic shoes... Let's just say the choices are very limited and not always pleasing in both comfort or style. These are by far the best shoes we have found to fit his wide feet... Even though these shoes are not considered EE. So we now have 3 more pairs... In case this shoe is discontinued. If you have wider feet and are looking for a comfy shoe, look no further.
  • Reviewed by Jennifer E from Charlotte nc on Monday, March 3, 2014
    These are a true barefoot shoe. They are snuggly comfortable.
    My husband likes to wear socks so they are a little snug but he says not uncomfortably snug. Nevertheless, he loves the fit and feel as well as the lightness of the shoe --awesome shoe!!
  • Reviewed by Luke from Portland, OR on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    My go-to pair of running shoes are Merrell Barefoot Trail Gloves, but I also have Sonic Gloves. I've used them for years and I love them. I do mostly road running in the 10k - 25k range, but also run trails, the occasional Tough Mudder or similar event, and play racquetball.

    The Bare Access 2s appear to be a good quality shoe judging by the fabric, stitching, and sole. They fit loose by standard shoe sizing, these were even difficult to adequately tighten while wearing a pair of wool socks. I wasn't able to cinch them up tight enough without deforming the area below the bottom lacing loops. Despite the loose midshoe, the length was right, leaving enough space in the toe box to avoid jamming on downhills. The Vibram sole is good.

    Unlike either the Trail Glove or Sonic Glove, these had a stiff outer midsole support which proved uncomfortable for my feet and running style. It's possible I didn't give them enough of a break in period, but I cut short my initial run in them because the pressure on my outer midsoles was starting to cause pain.

    I gave them three stars because they are well designed and constructed, light, and I trust the Merrell brand from my past and current experience to hold up over time. In particular, the sole looked like it would outlast the Trail Glove sole, which makes it disappointing that I won't get to test the wear over time and miles. Everybody's feet are different, so what seems wrong for my feet may be right for yours. If you have wide or tall feet, and/or like outer midsole support, these might be perfect for you.

    I'll be trying out the Road Glove 2s next.
  • Reviewed by treerock from appalachia on Friday, February 7, 2014
    picked these up for the appalachian trail in ga, nc and tn and they have been super awesome. have taken about a pound from each foot by switching to minimalist shoes.
  • Reviewed by EP from Atlanta on Friday, November 22, 2013
    Ordered for my husband who is a 10, I suggested he should ordered down (that's what I did for my Merrell Barefoot) but he didn't listen. So now have to exchange for 9.5... I love the women's version & he'll love his when he gets the size right. We use them for Crossfit.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.