Merrell Barefoot Bare Access Running Shoes - Minimalist (For Men)

Closeouts. Great for distance running and a supportive introduction to barefoot running, Merrell's Barefoot Bare Access running shoes offer a barefoot feel with the cushioning of an EVA footbed and flexible, lightweight Vibram® rubber outsole.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Surftex from Steamboat Springs, CO on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    I like this shoe for running and walking around town. The more I wear the shoes the better they feel on my feet. I did have to go up a half size. I normally wear an 11, but an 11 in this shoe was too small. I went up to 11.5 and all is well. Derailed was very easy to work with on the exchange and I had the new pair within a couple of days. Great Customer Service from Derailed!!!
  • Reviewed by Mr Prytania from Chicago on Tuesday, March 4, 2014
    I don't use these to run. I use them for the first few months to wear around the house then they become my walking shoes. Love these shoes. I lean towards a 2E and these have a roomy a toebox as possible. They remind me a bit of the old "earth shoes" feel.
  • Reviewed by Chad from Washington on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    New favorite shoes. Already ordered another pair. Ordered a half size larger than I normally wear, based on other reviewers advice, and they fit perfectly.
  • Reviewed by T2green365 from Fruitland Park, FL on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    First pair of Minimalist type shoes. Very impressed, wide toe box is excellent for me. Very glad I tried them.
  • Reviewed by HIKING MAMAW from TENNESSEE on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    I bought these for my 12 yr old grandson who has flat, flat feet and complains with foot and leg pains. He loves these merrell barefoot running minimalist shoes. He asked me to get him Basketball shoes just like these. I sure wish I could get him some minimalist basketball shoes. I would also I some GOOD minimalist winter hiking boots for myself. OH, well. He says he has no foot or leg pain now. Thank you Sierra Trading Post for making them affordable.
  • Reviewed by Jarred from Sweden on Friday, November 15, 2013
    I've been a long-time owner of "barefoot" shoes and have owned many different shoes following a "barefoot" ideology. These shoes are a compromise between a vibram 5-fingers experience (very close to barefoot, especially with the simpler models) and a normal looking shoe. They offer more of a "shoe" feel and support than some other "barefoot shoes." I also own a pair of Inov8's thinnest model, and these Merrell shoes offer more support and a thicker sole, but retain most of the "barefoot" feeling including an open/generous toe box (I have a very wide toe box) and the level toe/heel.
  • Reviewed by David from Buffalo, NY on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    I wear Merrell barefoot shoes for everything, but my feet can get a little beat up when, for example, walking all day in a city. The extra padding in these helps, without losing the barefoot feel that I like.
  • Reviewed by Stephen P. from Illinois on Friday, September 27, 2013
    This is a great shoe for those looking to go minimal, while still running on a little cushion. The footbed is flexible, but is firm enough to give you the feel of running without cushioning. The liner is soft enough that you can run without socks if you like, and does not rub or chafe in any spots. The mesh upper is flexible and lets your foot breathe. I trained for and ran a marathon in these shoes.

    I think one of the best features is the weight of the shoe. I used these used for a stairclimb race and they worked very well for that. The shoe is also great for every day wear, feels like you're not wearing much of anything on your feet.

    I was concerned about the durability of the EVA sole, as the setup is similar to the Saucony Kinvara (mostly EVA, with bits of rubber), which I used for the two years prior to getting the Bare Access. While the EVA did show wear, there was no premature breakdown and the rubber parts of the sole--especially the large patch under the ball of the foot--did not show much wear and overall I think the soles are holding up well.

    As others have mentioned about the fit, the toebox is roomy, which was perfect for me as I have slightly wider feet. However, I tried using these shoes for faster track interval workouts and felt like my feet were swimming around them during harder efforts (200/300/400s). I experienced the same feeling while wearing the Kinvara on the track. No such problems for longer distance training though.

    I saw one video review where someone tested these out for weight training. I don't recommend this shoe for heavier training like squats and deadlifts; I've used both the Merrell Trail Glove and Sonic Glove for that purpose and they work well. No cushioning and the ability to tie them to a snug fit are the keys.
  • Reviewed by Tim Haft from New York City on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    I stumbled on the Merrell Bare Access a couple of years back and was excited to see that they're still available on Sierra. As minimal shoes go, the Bare Access has a reasonable amount of cushioning and a nice, snug fit in the midfoot and heel. This is a big deal for me as I have narrow feet. The toe box is extremely roomy, which is great for folks with bunions or other issues in the forefoot. I use a pair of copper Superfeet inserts and the Bare Access can accommodate those with no problem.
  • Reviewed by Bruce from Oregon on Wednesday, August 21, 2013
    This shoe had a wide toe box, yet a tight heal. Be sure to buy a size smaller than street shoes.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.