Merrell Barefoot Train True Glove Shoes - Minimalist (For Men)

Closeouts. Merrell Barefoot Train True Glove minimalist shoes combine the benefits and performance of a lightweight, zero drop trail shoe with the looks of a conventional casual shoe.

Average Rating based on 55 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 55 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G from Maryland on Monday, July 28, 2014
    Really comfortable. Number is slightly bigger than other brands and Derailed exchanged without any additional fee!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TSAZ from Arizona on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    Exactly as the name says- these are true glove. My absolute favorite workout shoe, hard to imagine anything more minimalist next to bare feet. I wear a 10 usually, but found the 9.5 more to my liking with no binding or toe space issues. Switched the lacing style from traditional to adding a runners hitch and the fit was more custom and to my liking. Strangely, I needed a couple days "break in" due to how they fit across my achille's tendon, but after that- perfect. Current favorite shoe for everything. Truly a glove-like fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Soc from Chino Hills on Sunday, June 8, 2014
    Being a minimalist (barefoot) shoe it does take a little getting used to!

    This is my second pair (minimalist shoe), the previous being the FILA "skeletoes" a cheap knockoff of the more expensive Vibrams. They didn't last very long even though I mostly used them at the gym (the Velcro straps & loop strings tore up quickly. So I went shopping for another try of the barefoot feel!

    The Merrells have a Vibram sole so I figured I would give them a try. The first try felt a little tight but by the second/third try they felt much better.
    I use them to go around the 2-3 mile park trail around the neighborhood. I also used them recently for a beach run the Newport Coast along with some rock climbing & held up pretty well. I did manage to get some sand in them.

    Overall I am getting attached to them & would recommend for people who want that "minimalist" feel with no socks:)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sunship from ny on Friday, May 2, 2014
    I just couldn't get to loving these shoes -- my feet felt jammed in them, and I felt like there was too much arch support.

    Also, it's taken a long-long time for STP to process my prior returns, so I'm still unable to return these shoes, since they haven't shown up on my return list yet --

    -- anyway, there's always some reality-checking when things seem too good to be true -- and with me, that's STP's return process -- it isn't what it seemed initially.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by steve from rockaway park, ny on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    well constructed but toe configuration was problematic. technically shoes fit but toes were forced out of natural position. changing for a size larger seemed like overkill so i returned the shoes. also wondered if "barefoot" was a euphemism for insufficient cushioning
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by blshaw from Pa on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    I have other Merrell shoes and have been very happy with them. These are sized a bit small not to mention the "glove" like fit. They take effort to get on, I thought they were waayy to small out of the box, I could barely get half my foot into them. With effort once you get them on they fit snug but comfortably. As I said sized a bit small. My other Merrells are size 13 and I did get 13 in this shoe. They are quite snug in the wide ball area of the foot but I think they will wear in, its not so small to not be able to wear them. The trim around the opening is rubber like and rubs the ankle area because of the grippy nature of a rubbery trim. This is very uncomfortable and I'm not sure if this will break in. I was going to send these back but there were no sizes available over 13 so I decided to see how they feel after some wear time. They are very light, the zero drop is quite comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sunship from ny on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    I wear socks with other barefoots, merrells at that, and they're fine.

    With these, they're just tight tight --

    I wanted to love them, but back they go -- :|
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob-O from Florida on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    I was expecting a shoe that I would be able to trail run in without socks. I was mistaken. I went for a run on the beach the first day I tried them and had a blister within a 1/2 mile. I tried several lacing changes but the heel is just so stiff and rather wide that I will never be able to run in them without socks. The shoe laces are also ridiculously long. They could be at least 6" shorter. I do have a rather narrow foot but I can usually run comfortably in a medium width shoe. I have ordered some bungee laces and will use these to go to the gym and knock around town in. They are otherwise good looking and well made shoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cacti36 from Fort Bragg on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    I like these shoes... But I love the price even more. If you're in the Army and loved running in five finger shoes but can't (thanks SMA)... these shoes feel nearly the same but since their not a toe shoe there authorized to wear during PT!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RW from California on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    I bought these as a replacement to slaps for quick outdoor fitting protection for my feet. I have diabetes and my feet get sore and most shoes like this don't provide enough support. These however, really fit well and I've found if I wear them with a thin pair of socks, I can use them all day as walk-around shoes. Well made, and a very good deal on Sierra Trading Post dot com!

  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 55 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.