Merrell Chameleon Arc 2 Rival Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. Crafted with a split leather and suede upper, Merrell's Chameleon Arc 2 Rival hiking boots are designed to provide extra stability in the heel and improve flexibility in the forefoot. A Q-Form® Comfort midsole and tricot-lined, waterproof breathable membrane take the comfort one step further, making every hike a dry, custom-cushioned one.

Average Rating based on 37 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 37 reviews
  • Reviewed by HerzigElf from Massachusetts on Sunday, July 06, 2014
    I've now hiked quite a bit in these boots, including a 12-mile hike out in Glacier National Park in Montana. If you are only going for short day hikes, maybe 2-3 miles, I could recommend them somewhat... But definitely not for long distance!

    When I initially purchased these boots, I did order 1/2 a size up (from 7 to 7.5) like the reviews suggested and when I first wore them they felt fine in the toe box. But after some serious hiking I discovered these put pressure on top of my big toe nail and the blood blisters under my toe nail from my MT trip just grew out 10 months later. I don't notice the pressure AT ALL when I'm wearing them short distances but after 6+ miles I start to feel it.

    When I hike a steep downhill, my feet slide down into the toe box, curling/cramping my toes and giving me blisters on top of my smaller toes. I usually wear thick cushioned Darn Tough socks. I'd be afraid to try an even larger size because of how much I already side down into the shoe, even when the laces are extra-tight. But you would think the larger size would relieve me of the big toe pressure.

    In addition to that, my little toe feels cramped on the side after long-distance, and the shoe encourages "boot toe." My little toe starts to curl outwards putting pressure on the nail. And I have fairly narrow-medium width feet.

    They also give blisters in the heel on 6 mile+ hikes.
  • Reviewed by Nina Luma from Quito-Ecuador on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    I'm from Ecuador and I'm a biologist so I was looking for comfortable waterproof shoes to use during my field work. When I bought this pair I wasn't sure because they seem a little bit tall for me but after using them at the field I was so amazed of how comfortable and how TRUE waterproof are!!! I'm really in love with this boots and the quality of the leather is amazing I walked with this during the rainy season in the jungle and never got wet feet, also good ventilation and great traction for slippery trails I have been using them a lot and they look like new even after working at the rocky highlands in my country. I never write reviews but I really want to share my experience with this awesome boots!!
  • Reviewed by Suzanne from Michigan on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    I purchased these boots, as I have loved my other Merrells. I had to return them as their sizes run small. I always wear a 6.5 and these boots were way too tight. Look like very nice boots, but make sure you order a half size larger.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MAdogluvr from MA on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    I have an older pair of leather Chameleon boots that I loved, these are about a size smaller and much narrower in the toe. Very disappointed. They went back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AdventureOrr from Apple Valley, CA on Saturday, January 05, 2013
    I loved my first pair of Merrell hiking boots so as they aged I decided to stick with Merrell for my second pair. They aren't quite as comfortable as my last pair but I really love how stable they feel. They have a bit more sole than my old ones but the shape of the sole makes my foot feel like it's just rolling over the rocks on montain trails. I think that will really help on long rocky hikes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GuinLovr from Boise, Id on Thursday, December 20, 2012
    Very comfortable shoe. Very interesting to read the flyer about how Merrell formulates the shoe to match how women walk.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tucker from Avila Beach, CA on Monday, November 19, 2012
    The right boot had an insole flaw. I given a credit to find a replacement insole.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trailrunner/walker from Philadelphia, PA on Monday, November 12, 2012
    I am bigger than 7 less than 7-1/2. The 7-1/2 is perfect. These are waterproof. I tried these out on the most rugged section of the park. ALSO, due to a recent storm there were plenty of trees creating obstacles. When I finished my hike, I realized I dropped something. Despite thick leaves and difficulty duplicating my route, I re did my hike! Did not find what I dropped, of course...Had I been just wearing shoes -I would have had an injury for certain. No twisted ankle or falls climbing over tress and being pulled by my dog down rocky hills. Great traction. I wanted to lace them tight like skates or running shoes. You can't really do it. But I always wear thick wool socks- so they don't feel too loose. They have to be tied very securely with end knots -after double knotting to stay tied.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Difficult Laces
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by MuchaKoda from Colorado Mtns. on Sunday, November 11, 2012
    Bought these in a 8.5 and a 9, just in case the sizing was off. I usually wear an 8.5, and after trying both sizes on, the 8.5 fit fine. They are very comfy, didn't seem like they needed a long break-in, so no sizing problems here! The arch was not in the right spot in the size 9 for me and was too big in the toe.

    I really love the style, they are cute and actually make my feet look smaller for being a boot. They also seem to be durable, better made than other Merrell's I've tried. Perfect weight & build for what I need them for.

    My only issue I have now is that the left boot's leather above my toes isn't bending in the correct spot, causing it to crease down on my big toe and now it's painful to walk in the boots due to it. The right boot is fine, no issues. I tried going to REI to see if they could stretch the leather in that spot above the toe for me, so they tried, then said it wasn't bending right and was a defect in the leather. STP doesn't have my size anymore to exchange, and I love the boots, so I am planning on contacting Merrell to see if they can warranty it and send a replacement pair.

    Would of given 5 stars if it wasn't for having to return for a warranty exchange to Merrell.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susan from Wichita, KS on Monday, October 22, 2012
    These run about a full size small. I'm not happy about paying for the extra shipping to exchange for a larger pair. I think everything about the boots is great otherwise.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 37 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.