Merrell Trail Glove Barefoot Trail Running Shoes - Minimalist (For Men)

Closeouts. Runner's World Magazine's pick for "Best Debut" for 2011, Merrell's Barefoot Trail Glove trail running shoes offer exceptional flexibility and support from the glove-like fit of an ultralight upper. These also latch to dynamic trail surfaces with a responsive Vibram® Trail Glove TC-1 rubber compound outsole.

Average Rating based on 96 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 10 »
  • 21-30 of 96 reviews
  • Reviewed by Some Guy from MI on Tuesday, February 4, 2014
    While I've only had these for a few weeks they feel better than I expected. I've been running in Five Fingers for 3 years but they just don't last so I'm trying the Merrells. I was worried that running in them would not feel as "authentic" but it feels nearly the same as the Five Fingers. I feels like I am running naturally and my feet do not feel restricted.
  • Reviewed by JT from Florida on Friday, December 27, 2013
    I have been using these shoes for a couple of years for running. As they are a 0-rise shoe, I use a minimalist (barefoot running) type of stride to which I had to initially and gradually adjust in order to get up to the higher mileage (4-5 miles for me). I started out in Vibram 5 Fingers and will always love those, but I tend to have more residual metatarsal pain when I run in them. These trail gloves have more binding type of support (as in a supportive wrap around my foot) which seems to help prevent metatarsal stress. The slightly thicker soles also help with the metatarsal pain. But I still get the benefit of a super light weight running shoe and being able to run in the minimalist style. I love these shoes. They are fairly durable, but being made of synthetics, they will wear out sooner than a leather shoe would. This particular style is good for warm weather, but not as comfortable running in the cold because of the extensive mesh.
  • Reviewed by 13Fox from Lancaster,PA on Friday, December 20, 2013
    These shoes fit like a glove. I find it amazing that the fit is the same whether I go barefoot or put on hiking socks for colder mornings. At 7 ounces per shoe they're lighter than my flip flops. Run faster, jump higher. Anxious to see how they perform in the sand. After Sandy I stopped running the beach because you never know what kind of nasties are lurking beneath the sand.
  • Reviewed by Gulfcoaster from Saint Petersburg, FL on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    Bought these for my husband who was very happy when he saw them, but put them on and said he could feel a "bump" under his heel. Perhaps part of the design for barefoot running? He and I were both sorry that I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by Gulfcoaster from Saint Petersburg, FL on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    Bought these for my husband who was very happy when he was them, but put them on and said he could feel a "bump" under his heel. Perhaps part of the design for barefoot running? He and I were both sorry that I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by Jonny the Medic from Afghanistan (deployed) on Monday, December 2, 2013
    I purchased these at full price when they came out in 2011, I was ecstatic to see them in a different color at a deep discount on Sierra Trading post! I love these shoes. Great for trail running and my crossfit workouts!
  • Reviewed by NoCo Drew from Colorado on Thursday, November 14, 2013
    As a new barefoot/minimalist runner i wasn't sure which shoe to choose, but I liked how these Merrell's looked and that I could use them for the trail or road. They have been comfortable, but my right shoe has needed tweaking with figuring out just the right tightness balance of the laces from bottom to top. At first i wore a spot above my right big toe raw but fixed it by adjusting lace tension. My left littlest piggy was just starting to rub raw after a 6 miler yesterday so I will probably have to play with that. I do go sock-less and I have fallen arches and flat feet so not sure how much that contributes to my issues. Overall, I am happy with my purchase and am glad I made the switch to barefoot/minimalist style.
  • Reviewed by Randy on a Bike from North Carolina on Monday, September 30, 2013
    This is the fourth Merrell shoe in this style that I bought. They are very comfortable and fit my foot very well. I use them for bicycle commuting and wear them all day long.
  • Reviewed by clayster from NC on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    This is an amazing shoe! It is extremely lightweight, very flexible and has great traction on the trails. The forefoot also has a thicker sole than the road glove which help to protect against roots and rocks bruising the soles of my feet. It's very breathable, but unlike the road glove has a liner inside the mesh. This helps to keep my feet warm when it's a little cooler outside. This runs big so order a half size smaller than your normal shoe size. The only downside to this shoe is that it has terrible traction on hard wet surfaces. I have also tested the road glove and sonic glove. This is my favorite for the trails because the road glove sole is too thin and the sonic glove is not flexible enough although it is pretty much waterproof.
  • Reviewed by AK from Portland, OR on Friday, September 6, 2013
    Switched to minimalist running and forefoot strike (slowly and carefully) a year ago and will never go back. These shoes are perfect for that purpose; snug fit around the ankle and mid-foot, but roomy enough up front for toes to spread out and forefoot to absorb the impact. This is my third pair; they've held up really well, I just use them so much, and they're such a good deal, that I keep getting more pairs!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 10 »
  • 21-30 of 96 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.