Merrell Trail Glove Barefoot Trail Running Shoes - Minimalist (For Men)

Closeouts. Runner's World Magazine's pick for "Best Debut" for 2011, Merrell's Barefoot Trail Glove trail running shoes offer exceptional flexibility and support from the glove-like fit of an ultralight upper. These also latch to dynamic trail surfaces with a responsive Vibram® Trail Glove TC-1 rubber compound outsole.

Average Rating based on 98 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10 »
  • 1-10 of 98 reviews
  • Reviewed by SSFTR from New York on Monday, December 15, 2014
    Seemed like a good shoe, but they're shorter than any other merrell shoe I've worn. I can pretty confidently wear a 10 of the rack, but these shoes were short. I had to return them, I would have ordered the next size up, but STP was sold out of that size already.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scout from Houston on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    Finding a good fitting shoe is like playing a game of Goldilocks. Too narrow, too squishy, too stiff, not enough arch support, or Just Plain Ugly. These are light, flexible, just the right amount of cushion to protect the tender parts of your foot. The toe box is roomy, no crunched toe nails. The Vibram sole takes a lot of abuse whether you're running, hiking or chasing a kid through the mall. They stay grippy in the wet too. They are a little thin for walking/running on gravel, you'll feel every stone. I use them as my daily shoe, have used them as my running shoes and even did some trial hiking with them a few times. I've lost track of how many pairs I've worn out over the last couple years. Sizing is close but very consistent, I buy a half size larger than my typical casual shoe.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jake from Western New York AND Ontario Canada on Sunday, September 28, 2014
    This is the shoe that converted me. I thought about getting the 5-finger but that shoe only works if your toes fit it perfectly. This shoe has the same effect with a wide toe-box without the individual toes. I love it. I wore through my previous pair (it quickly became the only shoe I wore). There are some small changes but I still love my new pair. Only problem is hiking with it over smooth-wet rocks. It is more slippery than my conventional hiking shoe. Having said that I wear it all the time in the city and on my last trip I didn't even bring by hiking boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mkan from Colorado on Monday, September 22, 2014
    I purchased some Merrell mocs and loved the barefoot feel, so I decided to get some regular running shoes. Both are primarily for everyday use. The mocs have a really comfortable fit. Unfortunately, the trail shoes don't fit so well. The inside part of the ankle opening seems to be too big so there is a fairly large opening when I stand. It's weird, I've never had that happen before. Also the laces attach to a mechanism that pulls down on the tongue. This provides a nice tight fit, but at the cost of flexibility.

    The construction of the shoe is first rate, and I really like the Vibram outsole.

    I also noticed that both of my Merrell barefoot shoes seem to run a bit big compared to other running shoes.
  • Reviewed by Anonymous from Colorado on Friday, September 12, 2014
    Best shoes I have ever owned. I have had a pair for a year and put many many miles on them. I tried to use a traditional pair of running shoes a few days ago, and I don't think I could go back. I bought two more pairs of this shoe because I like them so much and I want backups for when I wear my first pair out!
  • Reviewed by AppalachianFam from NC on Monday, September 8, 2014
    Again, Merrell does not disappoint. These shoes look good, fit great and are super comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Buffalo, NY on Sunday, September 7, 2014
    I have three other pairs of these. I originally bought them for tai chi because they are light, flexible, have no heel to toe drop, and have a wide toe box. They were so comfortable that I have several other kinds of Merrell barefoots. I'm buying these against the day the others wear out. That might be a long time from now, since I have only light wear on the vibram soles of the ones I wear most. At around $50 it's worth buying for a future need.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Splitley from Arizona on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    I bought these for use at crossfit, they work great for deadlifts, front & back squats, also running short distances.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave the retired librarian from Ithaca NY on Friday, May 30, 2014
    Had these less than a month. I use these just for walking about, not running. I'm not a runner. I like the minimalist sole, but need to put my orthotics in these shoes to have them correct my foot's tendency to collapse inward. So not sure how much I've gained. But they seem to be made well. A leather version might be nice for walking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Maple Valley, WA on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    This is my fourth pair of the Merrell Glove series. I like the sole on these first generation Trail Gloves better than the second so I'll keep buying them until they are no longer available. I think it's funny that someone commented that the concept of barefoot shoes is a manufacturer's excuse for no cushioning. Well, duh, that's kind of the demand of minimalist/barefoot runners. If you heel-strike and want to continue to heel-strike, these are not your shoes.

    I owned a pair of the VFF several years ago and couldn't get past the faddish, goofy looks. I ditched them as soon as I found a better alternative for someone like myself that wants a little protection from the elements for a forefoot strike. These shoes have a very comfortable wide toe box so there is no need to purchase a size bigger like many running shoe stores recommend. These shoes are true to fit.

    If you plan on doing rugged trail runs, I wouldn't recommend these either. Look into a minimalist shoe like the Brooks PureGrit that will give you a little cushion from coarse or uneven surfaces such as rooted or gravel trails.

    In summary,

    BUY THESE IF:
    -You hate the look and style of VFFs
    and/or
    -You're already a barefoot runner

    DON'T BUY THESE IF:
    -You're a heel-striker
    -Need cushioning for coarse trail conditions
    -Are interested in transitioning to barefoot running (you'll want a "minimalist" shoe to transition first)
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10 »
  • 1-10 of 98 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #