Merrell Trail Glove Barefoot Trail Running Shoes - Minimalist (For Men)

Closeouts. Runner's World Magazine's pick for "Best Debut" for 2011, Merrell's Barefoot Trail Glove trail running shoes offer exceptional flexibility and support from the glove-like fit of an ultralight upper. These also latch to dynamic trail surfaces with a responsive Vibram® Trail Glove TC-1 rubber compound outsole.

Average Rating based on 91 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10 »
  • 1-10 of 91 reviews
  • Reviewed by Artem from NJ on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    super seller otlichn?y
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave - canoeist & cyclist from Ithaca NY on Friday, May 30, 2014
    Had these less than a month. I use these just for walking about, not running. I'm not a runner. I like the minimalist sole, but need to put my orthotics in these shoes to have them correct my foot's tendency to collapse inward. So not sure how much I've gained. But they seem to be made well. A leather version might be nice for walking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Maple Valley, WA on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    This is my fourth pair of the Merrell Glove series. I like the sole on these first generation Trail Gloves better than the second so I'll keep buying them until they are no longer available. I think it's funny that someone commented that the concept of barefoot shoes is a manufacturer's excuse for no cushioning. Well, duh, that's kind of the demand of minimalist/barefoot runners. If you heel-strike and want to continue to heel-strike, these are not your shoes.

    I owned a pair of the VFF several years ago and couldn't get past the faddish, goofy looks. I ditched them as soon as I found a better alternative for someone like myself that wants a little protection from the elements for a forefoot strike. These shoes have a very comfortable wide toe box so there is no need to purchase a size bigger like many running shoe stores recommend. These shoes are true to fit.

    If you plan on doing rugged trail runs, I wouldn't recommend these either. Look into a minimalist shoe like the Brooks PureGrit that will give you a little cushion from coarse or uneven surfaces such as rooted or gravel trails.

    In summary,

    BUY THESE IF:
    -You hate the look and style of VFFs
    and/or
    -You're already a barefoot runner

    DON'T BUY THESE IF:
    -You're a heel-striker
    -Need cushioning for coarse trail conditions
    -Are interested in transitioning to barefoot running (you'll want a "minimalist" shoe to transition first)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Seymour Butts from USA on Monday, May 19, 2014
    This is my third pair. No they don't have any support in them.....over time your feet become very strong!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr. t from North Carolina on Friday, May 09, 2014
    I purchased 3 pairs of this shoe when they first came out. I finally wore one pair out and ordered a replacement pair. The new version was Trail glove 2. I can only say, if you loved the original version of this shoe ( as I did), you will hate the Trail glove 2 version. It is stiff and anything but a glove. Iawas lucky enough to find some of the original Trail glove shoes online and purchased them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sussya from Arizona on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    I bought a pair of these for my teenaged son, who hates clunky shoes. He has been wearing Brooks minimalist shoes for a couple of years, and he wanted to try these out. He raved about them so much, we bought my husband a pair, too. My husband said they feel like socks. Both love how comfortable they are. They have worn them on the trail and walking around downtown with good results. STP has such a great price on them, we are looking to buy more!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allen H. from Naperville, IL on Monday, April 28, 2014
    Unlike runners who normally land more on the middle part of there feet, I'm a walker who hit squarely on the heels of my feet with toes up high. This allows my ankles to progress to its full range of motion. And this shoe fits great and it is very comfortable shoe.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John L from Washington on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    These shoes just didn't fit right. My feet literally went to sleep and got tingly even when i was just wearing these in the house to see if I liked them. Strange but didn't work for me.

    Size was good though.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colleen from Illinois on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    There are very comfortable and great for running, Built well, lightweight and made for "barefoot running" feel This is his second pairt and the price here was great. I definately buy again.
  • Reviewed by desertcastaway from AZ on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    These are great shoes, but Merrell made a rocky transition from their kids' sizes to mens'. My son is outgrowing his youth size 7 Merrell's, so I ordered him an 8 in these. Barely bigger. Will return for 8.5.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10 »
  • 1-10 of 91 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.