Merrell Trail Glove Barefoot Trail Running Shoes - Minimalist (For Men)

Closeouts. Runner's World Magazine's pick for "Best Debut" for 2011, Merrell's Barefoot Trail Glove trail running shoes offer exceptional flexibility and support from the glove-like fit of an ultralight upper. These also latch to dynamic trail surfaces with a responsive Vibram® Trail Glove TC-1 rubber compound outsole.

Average Rating based on 91 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-30 of 91 reviews
  • Reviewed by Artem from NJ on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    super seller otlichn?y
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave - canoeist & cyclist from Ithaca NY on Friday, May 30, 2014
    Had these less than a month. I use these just for walking about, not running. I'm not a runner. I like the minimalist sole, but need to put my orthotics in these shoes to have them correct my foot's tendency to collapse inward. So not sure how much I've gained. But they seem to be made well. A leather version might be nice for walking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Maple Valley, WA on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    This is my fourth pair of the Merrell Glove series. I like the sole on these first generation Trail Gloves better than the second so I'll keep buying them until they are no longer available. I think it's funny that someone commented that the concept of barefoot shoes is a manufacturer's excuse for no cushioning. Well, duh, that's kind of the demand of minimalist/barefoot runners. If you heel-strike and want to continue to heel-strike, these are not your shoes.

    I owned a pair of the VFF several years ago and couldn't get past the faddish, goofy looks. I ditched them as soon as I found a better alternative for someone like myself that wants a little protection from the elements for a forefoot strike. These shoes have a very comfortable wide toe box so there is no need to purchase a size bigger like many running shoe stores recommend. These shoes are true to fit.

    If you plan on doing rugged trail runs, I wouldn't recommend these either. Look into a minimalist shoe like the Brooks PureGrit that will give you a little cushion from coarse or uneven surfaces such as rooted or gravel trails.

    In summary,

    BUY THESE IF:
    -You hate the look and style of VFFs
    and/or
    -You're already a barefoot runner

    DON'T BUY THESE IF:
    -You're a heel-striker
    -Need cushioning for coarse trail conditions
    -Are interested in transitioning to barefoot running (you'll want a "minimalist" shoe to transition first)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Seymour Butts from USA on Monday, May 19, 2014
    This is my third pair. No they don't have any support in them.....over time your feet become very strong!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr. t from North Carolina on Friday, May 9, 2014
    I purchased 3 pairs of this shoe when they first came out. I finally wore one pair out and ordered a replacement pair. The new version was Trail glove 2. I can only say, if you loved the original version of this shoe ( as I did), you will hate the Trail glove 2 version. It is stiff and anything but a glove. Iawas lucky enough to find some of the original Trail glove shoes online and purchased them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sussya from Arizona on Tuesday, May 6, 2014
    I bought a pair of these for my teenaged son, who hates clunky shoes. He has been wearing Brooks minimalist shoes for a couple of years, and he wanted to try these out. He raved about them so much, we bought my husband a pair, too. My husband said they feel like socks. Both love how comfortable they are. They have worn them on the trail and walking around downtown with good results. STP has such a great price on them, we are looking to buy more!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allen H. from Naperville, IL on Monday, April 28, 2014
    Unlike runners who normally land more on the middle part of there feet, I'm a walker who hit squarely on the heels of my feet with toes up high. This allows my ankles to progress to its full range of motion. And this shoe fits great and it is very comfortable shoe.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John L from Washington on Tuesday, April 8, 2014
    These shoes just didn't fit right. My feet literally went to sleep and got tingly even when i was just wearing these in the house to see if I liked them. Strange but didn't work for me.

    Size was good though.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colleen from Illinois on Tuesday, April 8, 2014
    There are very comfortable and great for running, Built well, lightweight and made for "barefoot running" feel This is his second pairt and the price here was great. I definately buy again.
  • Reviewed by desertcastaway from AZ on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    These are great shoes, but Merrell made a rocky transition from their kids' sizes to mens'. My son is outgrowing his youth size 7 Merrell's, so I ordered him an 8 in these. Barely bigger. Will return for 8.5.
  • Reviewed by Skibum53 from Peoples Republic of Madison on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    LOVE
  • Reviewed by TdeP from La Jolla, CA on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    I had to return my size 9 for 9.5
  • Reviewed by sga from Minneapolis on Thursday, March 6, 2014
    The shoe is everything it promises. Shipment was made quickly.
  • Reviewed by Kevin G. from Santa Barbara, CA on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    This is my third pair of Trail Gloves (I own a pair of the II's but went backwards for these due to the closeout price) and I can't recommend them enough. They're a versatile minimalist shoe with great traction, no lift, a wide open toe box (for average feet), and a slim weight of less than 7 oz per shoe. They treat your feet right while providing all the protection you need for even the nastiest of trails. If you're new to the minimalist/barefoot genre, make sure to ease into them and adjust your form accordingly. It's on you if you run into trouble after slamming your heels into the ground for 20 miles the day you get them.
  • Reviewed by Chris from Hawaii on Wednesday, February 5, 2014
    This is my second pair, in active service. Price here was excellent, about 53 bucks with a coupon or two. I still have my first pair with the only signs of damage being a worn sole, two years in. Not a seam ripped nor anything coming un-glued. I am fairly hard on shoes, often using them wet in my work as a landscaper.
    Sure wish they had high heels, grin. And I would rather not feel the ground... so thin the sole:)

    Major sport marts have these to try on. Compare. Price is half here!
    Aloha!
  • Reviewed by Some Guy from MI on Tuesday, February 4, 2014
    While I've only had these for a few weeks they feel better than I expected. I've been running in Five Fingers for 3 years but they just don't last so I'm trying the Merrells. I was worried that running in them would not feel as "authentic" but it feels nearly the same as the Five Fingers. I feels like I am running naturally and my feet do not feel restricted.
  • Reviewed by Running in FL from Florida on Friday, December 27, 2013
    I have been using these shoes for a couple of years for running. As they are a 0-rise shoe, I use a minimalist (barefoot running) type of stride to which I had to initially and gradually adjust in order to get up to the higher mileage (4-5 miles for me). I started out in Vibram 5 Fingers and will always love those, but I tend to have more residual metatarsal pain when I run in them. These trail gloves have more binding type of support (as in a supportive wrap around my foot) which seems to help prevent metatarsal stress. The slightly thicker soles also help with the metatarsal pain. But I still get the benefit of a super light weight running shoe and being able to run in the minimalist style. I love these shoes. They are fairly durable, but being made of synthetics, they will wear out sooner than a leather shoe would. This particular style is good for warm weather, but not as comfortable running in the cold because of the extensive mesh.
  • Reviewed by 13Fox from Lancaster,PA on Friday, December 20, 2013
    These shoes fit like a glove. I find it amazing that the fit is the same whether I go barefoot or put on hiking socks for colder mornings. At 7 ounces per shoe they're lighter than my flip flops. Run faster, jump higher. Anxious to see how they perform in the sand. After Sandy I stopped running the beach because you never know what kind of nasties are lurking beneath the sand.
  • Reviewed by Gulfcoaster from Saint Petersburg, FL on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    Bought these for my husband who was very happy when he saw them, but put them on and said he could feel a "bump" under his heel. Perhaps part of the design for barefoot running? He and I were both sorry that I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by Gulfcoaster from Saint Petersburg, FL on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    Bought these for my husband who was very happy when he was them, but put them on and said he could feel a "bump" under his heel. Perhaps part of the design for barefoot running? He and I were both sorry that I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by Jonny the Medic from Afghanistan (deployed) on Monday, December 2, 2013
    I purchased these at full price when they came out in 2011, I was ecstatic to see them in a different color at a deep discount on Sierra Trading post! I love these shoes. Great for trail running and my crossfit workouts!
  • Reviewed by NoCo Drew from Colorado on Thursday, November 14, 2013
    As a new barefoot/minimalist runner i wasn't sure which shoe to choose, but I liked how these Merrell's looked and that I could use them for the trail or road. They have been comfortable, but my right shoe has needed tweaking with figuring out just the right tightness balance of the laces from bottom to top. At first i wore a spot above my right big toe raw but fixed it by adjusting lace tension. My left littlest piggy was just starting to rub raw after a 6 miler yesterday so I will probably have to play with that. I do go sock-less and I have fallen arches and flat feet so not sure how much that contributes to my issues. Overall, I am happy with my purchase and am glad I made the switch to barefoot/minimalist style.
  • Reviewed by Randy on a Bike from North Carolina on Monday, September 30, 2013
    This is the fourth Merrell shoe in this style that I bought. They are very comfortable and fit my foot very well. I use them for bicycle commuting and wear them all day long.
  • Reviewed by clayster from NC on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    This is an amazing shoe! It is extremely lightweight, very flexible and has great traction on the trails. The forefoot also has a thicker sole than the road glove which help to protect against roots and rocks bruising the soles of my feet. It's very breathable, but unlike the road glove has a liner inside the mesh. This helps to keep my feet warm when it's a little cooler outside. This runs big so order a half size smaller than your normal shoe size. The only downside to this shoe is that it has terrible traction on hard wet surfaces. I have also tested the road glove and sonic glove. This is my favorite for the trails because the road glove sole is too thin and the sonic glove is not flexible enough although it is pretty much waterproof.
  • Reviewed by AK from Portland, OR on Friday, September 6, 2013
    Switched to minimalist running and forefoot strike (slowly and carefully) a year ago and will never go back. These shoes are perfect for that purpose; snug fit around the ankle and mid-foot, but roomy enough up front for toes to spread out and forefoot to absorb the impact. This is my third pair; they've held up really well, I just use them so much, and they're such a good deal, that I keep getting more pairs!
  • Reviewed by Steve from South Carolina on Wednesday, September 4, 2013
    True to size, with plenty of room in the toe box. Great traction and toe protection.
  • Reviewed by pete from san diego on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    1st pair still going strong. i wanted 2nd pair b4 they were discontinued or unavailable. weigh next to nothing and add no bulk to gym bag.
  • Reviewed by Traveler from Memphis on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    Comfortable, easy to pack.
  • Reviewed by Eddie the Ed from Illinois on Sunday, June 30, 2013
    I just returned from a long trip scooting around several locations in the Southwest, Chaco Canyon, Cathedral Rock, Navajo National monument and many others. These shoes stick to slabs of limestone like gum. Great shoe and since I returned, I bought a back up pair. My feet were never tired and for this type of trip, a wonderful choice.
  • Reviewed by Bobbity B from Loveland, CO on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    I wear around a 10.5. Thinking I needed toe space, I ordered an 11 and it was too large. I returned the 11's for 10.5's and they fit perfectly. Plenty of toe space. Super light. I wear them with thin socks simply because I like that feel. They were perfect on my first run on trails and rocky roads behind my house. Order them true to size and you won't be disappointed.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-30 of 91 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.