Customer Reviews Of:
ML Kessler Chullo Hat - Alpaca Wool, Fleece Lined (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Pairing hollow alpaca fibers that trap heat with a soft fleece lining creates the dynamic Chullo hat from ML Kessler, an unbeatable head and ear warmer.

Average Rating based on 37 reviews 4.432432 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Richard from Pennsylvania on Friday, December 27, 2013
    Got it for my wife for Christmas and she loves it. Warm. Especially likes that it is made in Peru instead of the usual cheap-labor countries.
  • Reviewed by Lawn bliss from Tennessee on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    Great fit.............
    Great comfort.............
    Great value..............
  • Reviewed by 45YDQUEM from Northern Ohio Buckeye Trail on Friday, December 6, 2013
    What a great way to keep heat from escaping through my head and letting more blood get to my feet. I stay warmer and can increase my trail time by using this Chullo Hat to really regulate heat loss. At this price point to warmth factor this hat is a no brainer. Stay warm and look cool at the same time.
  • Reviewed by Caitlyn from Colorado on Sunday, November 10, 2013
    The hat looks rather nice, and the alpaca wool feels great. However, I tried it out on a semi-windy day at around 50F and found out that my ears were cold. A pair of earmuffs kept my ears warmer than the hat and I'm afraid I may have to return this one. It is pretty, but without it's primary function I don't see how I can use it.
  • Reviewed by ecoGoddess from West Virginia on Wednesday, May 1, 2013
    Wow...I'm pleased by that FT label! And the material is softer than I anticipated, so of good quality (not as soft as softest alpaca, but really nice & not scratchy). Not as blue as I anticipated. And it almost seems too small - I have a small head & it does fit, but if you have a large head, I think you would be disappointed. I think it's the lining that makes it difficult to stretch on your head, so it poofs a little at the top...but my ears were covered.
    Why do they put that dingly on these hats? That has never appealled to me at all.
    Well, I've been looking at this hat for a good year, so I'm glad I finally ordered it! Can I have a scarf by the same company, please?! And gloves, while your at it, thanks.
  • Reviewed by grandma from Kansas on Sunday, April 28, 2013
    A very nice hat, but it doesn't fit anyone with a large head size.
  • Reviewed by moguin from Rhode Island on Wednesday, March 6, 2013
    Well made, nice color combination and premium materials make for a great winter hat. Plus, the alpaca with fleece lining really makes a nice combination for itch free warmth.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carl Sagan's Turtleneck Sweater from Lakewood, Ohio on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    The hat is clearly well-constructed and very warm. I plan to get several years' use out of it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bigtoe Uptown from Chicago, il on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    It's hard for me to find a warm hat that is large and comfortable for my non-skinny snow boarder dude head. This was a good deal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tony b from hurley, ny on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    A nice cap from the Andes! Well made, stylish and most of all warm. And nice to see a product that is not made in China for a change!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jersey Mom from Central New Jersey on Monday, January 14, 2013
    Unusual to find an alpaca hat that is so stylish and colorful - another STP amazing find!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cowgirl rhumba from guilford vermont on Monday, December 17, 2012
    this is a richly colored, soft, homemade-feeling hat that is fun to wear. fits well, and the natural alpaca is a delight. i bought the rust/blue, which is on the orange side, which is fine. it's a gorgeous hat.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by yogapriestess from boise, idaho on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    I love these merino wool hats with ear flaps..they keep my ears and head really warm. This hat is 100% merino wool with a nice fleece lining. It is very warm, but runs a little on the small side. It is a high quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BlzaTrl11 from Charlottesville, VA on Wednesday, November 7, 2012
    This hat is a gift for my 20-year old son. With the fleece lining and alpaca wool outer--it is definitely warm and a much better deal than some I've seen that aren't nearly as well constructed.
    • Best Uses: Extreme Cold, Winter Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AtomicFrolic from Wyoming on Thursday, February 16, 2012
    The price was so good I bought one, knowing somebody in the family would love it. I was right. My wife adopted it right away. Now I wish I bought two.
    • Best Uses: Extreme Cold, Winter sport
    • Describe Yourself: Athletic, Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by breeze from Santa Fe, NM on Tuesday, January 31, 2012
    I bought this hat to wear to work (I work outside sometimes) and for skiing. The hat is warm, but the earflaps are really light and so they flap around providing no cover unless you tie it.
    Other than that, the color is nice and the hat fits well.
    Finally, I didn't realize how much Sierra Trading Post charges for a exchange/return. I traded in a pair of pants that didn't fit for this hat and ended up spending a lot in shipping. Wish I hadn't purchased the hat, but not willing to lose more money to send it back.
    • Cons: Not Warm Enough, Too thin on the ear flaps
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fancy nancy from himalayan foothills in afghanistan on Saturday, January 28, 2012
    Perfect hat except the fleece lining is only at the top of the hat.. the wind easily goes thru the ear flaps and it's cold there !! Doesn't mess up my hair so it keeps the head warm, just not the ears !
    • Best Uses: Walking
    • Cons: Not Warm Enough, Wind cuts thru ear flaps
    • Describe Yourself: Athletic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Attractive knit design, Lightweight, Nice colors
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gflack71 from Ohio on Friday, January 6, 2012
    This hat is super soft alpaca and beautiful but does not have any elasticity to hold it in place and slips around. And my ears were cold when it was 20 degrees (feels like 9). I wear it over a wool hat for added warmth.
    • Best Uses: Fashion
    • Cons: No elasticity, Not Warm Enough, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathable, Lightweight, Very soft
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kate Cod from Cape Cod , MA on Saturday, December 17, 2011
    Planning on putting these in stockings for xmas. I like the look and the colors. I hope they will like them too!
    • Best Uses: Commuting, Extreme Cold
    • Describe Yourself: Athletic, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gel from Sunnyvale CA on Monday, December 12, 2011
    ear flaps are not insulated, so this hat is not for a really windy cold day. Just a very cozy hat
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sue from Charleston, SC on Friday, December 9, 2011
    Great for running around in style and warmth.
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeff from Buena Vista, VA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
    Nice quality Chullo and shopping experience
    • Best Uses: Commuting
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by QT3.14 from Seattle, WA on Monday, November 28, 2011
    love the colors, and it's not under sized like most of the hats of this style. Great for outdoor spectator sports and makes it easy to spot someone in a crowd.
    • Best Uses: Athletics
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John the cyclist from Big Bear, CA on Thursday, October 20, 2011
    Quick processing and shipping
    • Best Uses: Commuting
    • Describe Yourself: Athletic, Practical
    • Pros: Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DeerSlayer from T-ville, VA on Friday, October 14, 2011
    I was a little worried at first about this hat. But once you wear it for a little bit you wont want to take it off. It has a pretty attractive fall-like design. It's really soft, especially compared to normal wool. Kinda self regulates on warmer days, your head doesn't sweat. I like that it was double knit at the ears and part way up. I'm ready for the cold now, bring it. Very high quality hat, I would defiantly recommend!
    • Best Uses: Athletics, Commuting, Extreme Cold, Recreation, Travel
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amy from Buffalo, NY on Wednesday, September 21, 2011
    Love the stye, fit & colors. "One size fits most" is often snug on my head but this is very comfortable. Wasn't looking for this but glad to have found it!
    • Best Uses: Athletics, Commuting, Extreme Cold, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kate from FL on Thursday, January 20, 2011
    Very nice, warm hat. I like the stile and color.
    • Best Uses: Extreme Cold, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Borrego Badlands from Altadena, CA on Wednesday, December 22, 2010
    For those who want comfort, quality and durability, this sort of pull on alpaca hat will last almost forever. The fleece lining is a nice touch, though alpaca wool seldom itches. The hat is whimsical and exotic-looking (from the Andes), but (to my surprise) gets many compliments from strangers who find it whimsical. The comment I get is usually, "That looks comfortable and warm!" Yep, it is.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Classic style, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Traveler
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Whimsical
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by county.agent from PA on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
    OK, this is one winter cap that looks sort of dorky on an adult and probably would look best on a young face with cheekbones...but alpaca is one of the warmest natural fibers around and with the inclusion of a fleece-lining, the hat definitely will do the job of keeping a head and ears warm. The colors are bright and the hat is really lightweight - I got several to give to friends who also live in cold places. If pure style is your intent, keep on shopping...if you're interested in warmth with quirky looks, look no further.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Commuting
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Henryheck from Baton Rouge on Tuesday, November 30, 2010
    Bought as a gift!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2