Montgomery by John Partridge Classic Duffle Coat (For Men)

Closeouts. Nothing even comes close to the quality of a genuine English duffle coat, and this Montgomery by John Partridge Classic duffle coat embodies all the traditional hallmarks -- from the wool-rich fabric, to the horn-toggle front, to the regal plaid lining.

Average Rating based on 53 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 53 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BilliJean3 from Ohio on Sunday, January 11, 2015
    I went head over heels for this coat when I saw it on the Internet, so I bought one in the camel color to give him at Christmas. He loves it!! It's a very nice coat that fits that middle space between a heavy jacket and a dress coat. It fits him beautifully. We are both so glad I bought it. I just can't say enough good about this coat. You will love it, too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New Jersey shopper from New Jersey on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    This coat works with jeans and suits. It is warm and water proof. My son will be wearing it on job interviews and for his time in grad school,
  • Reviewed by Samskara from New York on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    Never mind the claims of "original" and "authentic" -- this is not the coat that won the Battle of Jutland, it's more like the coat that sat through a thousand college football bames starting in the 1970s. The company may have some element of history, but the best thing about this coat is the look. It's a reasonably thick 70% woolen fabric with a plaid lining and will be adequate for fairly cold days, particularly if worn with a warm sweater. If you have a thick lambswool turtleneck that you never found an excuse to wear, you need this coat.

    The style has been modified many times over, both for fit and features. This coat does not have flaps over the pockets, it does not have a zipper, it has only one inside pocket and while that's just about large enough for an iPhone 6, larger would be better. It does not have a thinsulate lining or satin in the sleeves. In other words, this is a perfect coat for a casual look for week-ends when the trees are turning color, or to wear to work if you have a job that calls for casual wear. It's also great for tree lightings in December.

    The coat I received had an Original Montgomery label, but that seems to be the same firm as John Partridge -- at least they're at the same address. The sleeves were the perfect length -- for me. I haven't had a chance to check how well the toggles are sewn on, but they look okay. Oh yes, their web site says "this first fabric was similar to our current boiled wool- the only difference was the weight-the original was nearly twice as heavy." That should say a lot.

    This is a design classic, well made, and looks good on almost every casual outfit, chinos or jeans. Match it with a mid to heavyweight sweater and a plaid shirt.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Hudson Valley Guy from Lower Hudson Valley on Saturday, November 01, 2014
    This coat was a real find. It is light weight and warm.
  • Reviewed by Bee from Utah on Friday, February 21, 2014
    Beautiful, warm and heavy coat. The first coat I had to send back because one of the closure slings broke after a few days.
  • Reviewed by Jay Dub from Rhode Island on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    The leather straps used to secure the coat together are very cheap, and all of them broke within 4 weeks of intermittent use. This renders the coat unusable as there is no zipper.
  • Reviewed by Beate from Utah on Monday, February 10, 2014
    I bought this coat for my husband to walk our dog. He likes the length and the hoody and says it is very nice and warm. However after a week one of the sling closures broke and I had to exchange the coat. It was not sown on correctly.
  • Reviewed by Kenny A from Brooklyn, NY on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    Very pleased with this coat. Fit is perfect. From chest to length to sleeves there is nothing wrong. I couldn't be more satisfied with this garment.And, as I always do when shopping with Sierra, I found a great deal. Between the personal service I received and the fantastic price I am totally happy.
  • Reviewed by Clothes Hound from Alhambra on Friday, February 07, 2014
    Great coat, well made, sized right, A coat to last a lifetime.
  • Reviewed by N Flamer from Wisconsin on Friday, January 24, 2014
    I returned mine. Compared to a Lands End duffle that was about half the price. Liked that the JP coat was true to style (no zipper; no pocket flaps) but LE was 80% wool instead of JP's 70%. The JP fabric felt cheap to the hand and don't think it would be as warm...less wool. Also, as many other reviewers have pointed out, the sleeves were too short. Other reviewers have recently complained about Sierra's copywriters getting a little "loose" with the truth. "Wool-rich fabric"?? Give me a break!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 53 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.