Montgomery by John Partridge Classic Duffle Coat (For Men)

Closeouts. Nothing even comes close to the quality of a genuine English duffle coat, and this Montgomery by John Partridge Classic duffle coat embodies all the traditional hallmarks -- from the wool-rich fabric, to the horn-toggle front, to the regal plaid lining.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by J from California on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    Haven't got to really wear it much yet secondary to the weather, so I can't comment on that. However, i wanted to give a review to suggest other purchasers buy one size up. My chest measured 40 inches, thus I went with the size 40 which has a chest size 48 according to the product specialist's estimates (noted in comments of the Q & A section). I thought it would be perfect because it ran a little bigger than the actual size. But it fit very snug with only a t-shirt on under it (as to be expected for a true size 40). I would suggest that other consumers buy one size up for a more comfortable fit.
  • Reviewed by Steve from Rhode Island on Monday, March 4, 2013
    When my FIRST coat arrived I was very excited. I noted the fine wool, horn toggle closures and "Original Motgomery Duffle" label - complete with the Brittish Crown. However, when I tried it on, the sleeves were about 2" too short and the weight did not feel right for the wool - as advertised. This coat is not for extremely cold weather, as the wool is very lightweight. Because I am a tall man (6'-2"), not only does the length have to be longer than most, the sleeves also have to be longer. After checking the cloth label, I did see that it was the correct numerical size that I ordered (42), but the "TALL" or "LONG" designation was nowhere to be found. I called STP and the first CSR assured me that it was a "TALL" simply based upon the length - which is good. I kept trying to explain to this young woman that tall men also need longer sleeves, to which she turned a "deaf ear." The next day, I spoke with a male CSR who completely understood my plight. He wrote up a ticket for a "Product Specialist" to inspect the inventory in the Cheyenne Distribution Faciltiy. Two days later, the male CSR stated that there were coats in inventory with a cloth tag marked "TALL," and he would send one to me. My new coat is the same: Sleeves are 2" too short and the "TALL" or "Long" designation is nowhere to be found inside the garment. STP has covered these coats with plastic sleeves (similar to dry cleaning bags) and designated them as "TALL," with THEIR labels and barcoding without any regard to the fact that they simply do not measure up and lack the cloth label from the manufacturer stating that they are a "TALL" or "LONG" garment. Now I have another coat that is 2" too short in the sleeves. "What to do now???
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kj from Tokyo, Japan on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    I am about 6'3" tall. But the both sleeve and full lengths are shorter a inch or so. I am wondering whether this is "For Tall Men" or not.The size tag is only indicated 46.
    The size 46 body fit is well, but tight on jacket or suits.
    Totally acceptable because of its material/texture and its
    authenticity.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pppppp from anywhere, us on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    I had to change the size which was very easy to do.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AndreMark from Brooklyn, NY on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    the workmanship in not on point, very little detail
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Expat up North from Montreal, Quebec, Canada on Monday, January 21, 2013
    I purchased this coat (charcoal) about a year ago and loved it, but lost weight and need a smaller size, so ordered a new one this year (camel); very disappointing. It seems the manufacturer is now using a lighter (likely cheaper) wool fabric that is not nearly as warm as the old stuff, thus the coat is now more of an autumn garment than a winter one, which is not what I wanted, so I returned it.
  • Reviewed by Dirk from South Carolina on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    Never have reviewed a STP purchase in 7 years of doing business with them but this one needed reviewing. As others have said, the button system stinks, as I had two buttons pop off within the first two days I wore it. Unfortunately I was in Stuttgart and it was the only coat I had. Coat fit beautifully and was very warm, at least until half the buttons popped off. Had a lengthy live chat with STP rep to make sure they would exchange the item, as I had used a 40% coupon code and the quick return was telling me I had a credit, not that they would exchange it. He promsied they would send a new coat. They never did, even after I included a letter asking for an exchange. Got a refund, which after reading all the reviews relating to the buttons, is probably for the best.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deseronto from Kingston ON Canada on Saturday, January 5, 2013
    At 10F with a 15mph North wind I was warm and protected walking about town and along the St Lawrence River. The adjustable hood is large enough to accomodate a hat/touque and ear phones. Size is correct to wear over a Harris Tweed jacket or blazer. No complaints at all, the ideal Winter coat when a more formal suit and overcoat not required.
  • Reviewed by Sideshow from Dayton Ohio on Wednesday, October 31, 2012
    This coat strikes a good balance between material thickness and weight and is a good value at this price point. Being able to get my actual size puts it over the top. I am 6'3" and wear a 38 tall suit coat and the 38 tall duffle fits like it was tailored for me. Just fits over a wool sport coat and tie comfortably, hem at top of knee, and sleeves right at the balls of my thumbs.
    Sierra Trading got it here (Ohio) in three days. Very pleased first time costumer.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Wet Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Otche from Santa Fe, NM on Wednesday, April 4, 2012
    I have always wanted one of these, so I read the criticisms and ordered one a little larger than I'd have otherwise. Style is classic, functioning is perfect, and the price is wonderful. When it came, it fit perfectly. I am delighted.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Classic, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.