Montgomery by John Partridge Classic Duffle Coat (For Women)

Closeouts. Nothing even comes close to the quality of a genuine English duffle coat, and this Montgomery by John Partridge Classic duffle coat embodies all the traditional hallmarks -- from the wool-rich fabric, to the horn-toggle front, to the regal plaid lining.

Average Rating based on 65 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 65 reviews
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    Beautiful, well made coat. Runs a bit large. I had to return and couldn't get the right size. Darn!
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    This is a gorgeous English-made coat that screams QUALITY! Just like other top-notch clothing, this coat runs large with a lot of room around the arms and hips. I usually wear a 12 and the 42 was MUCH too large for me! I think I need 36! Well worth the price, this is a coat that will last for years to come with the quality of construction and the timeless design!
  • Reviewed by Disappointed from VA on Friday, February 14, 2014
    For an originally priced $600 coat (of course I paid less thru STP), I received it with a toggle loop already broken. The rest of the coat appeared fine, but what does that matter with a dangling toggle right in front. I returned the coat and did not want a replacement.
  • Reviewed by Upstate ER from Upstate New York on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    I ordered two in order to get the correct fit. The coats were quite different, different zippers, different wool, etc., although both high quality with the same cut. Because of the straight fit, the sizing can be a challenge. I'm a standard 4 US, and found the size 32 to be quite large -- long sleeves and big in the shoulders. I returned the 32 and kept the 30.
  • Reviewed by Alex from Oslo on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    Got one of these, the zipper broke, got another one in a different color. Felt like the first one was much better quality than the 2nd- wool felt denser/sturdier, and the linings were a nicer fabric. Even so, it's a great warm coat- served me well so far in the Norway winter!
  • Reviewed by Coatless in Brooklyn from NYC on Monday, December 30, 2013
    I wear a size 8/10. I am 5'5" & weigh 128 lbs. When I removed the coat from the plastic bag it looked extremely tiny. The coat looked closer to a size 4. I could barely fit my arms through the sleeves. Needless to say I did not attempt to try closing the jacket. It annoyed me to have to spend $16.95 at the USPS to send it back. Prior to ordering the size 36 I did call customer service to get the measurements in order to avoid the costly expense of ordering the wrong size & having to pay for return shipping. The only information your customer service has is the length of the garment which is on your website . I asked what the measurements were at the hips & chest but all they could tell me what I already knew. I also checked out an international sizing guide to verify what English size would be consistent with the the American size I wear. An American size 10= a British 36 so I purchased the 36. It would helpful to provide complete measurements of the garment at the hip & chest especially so the customer does not have to go through the unnecessary expense & trouble of returning an article of clothing they purchase from Sierra Trading
  • Reviewed by Sun Lover from Minneapolis, MN on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    This is a super adorable coat and I love the classic cut of it. Because it doesn't cinch in at the waist, it is very important to get it in the correct size. I am 5'7" and weigh 145 pounds and the 36 fit really well. It is a little bit boxy in the shoulders, but perfect if I am wearing a heavy sweater underneath. The sleeves are just barely long enough, but a larger size would look too big. I love the red, although there weren't many other size options by the time I got it. I have worn it in sub-zero temperatures and found it to be warm and have a nice wind-blocking effect. This is one of the best purchases I have ever made.
  • Reviewed by GQ from Ontario on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    Although it is a little difficult to figure out the sizing on this coat it is beautiful. I'm about 5"5" and 135 pounds and bought a 38. I could have gone smaller but want to be able to wear heavier sweater underneath. The looser fit looks good in this style. Also love the red colour but haven"t worn it yet so can't comment on warmth or durability. Looks very well finished.
  • Reviewed by Optimiss from Chicago on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    I got this coat for the Chicago winter and I am very pleased with it so far. The wind in the Windy City can be pretty biting but the coat is quite warm and blocks out the gales. The coat has a nice plaid wool lining and all of the materials seem high quality. My only complaint is that part of the leather catch for the bottom toggle ripped loose at the seam after a week so I can't close the toggle. It might be because the bottom toggle closure gets the most wear because it as right at thigh level. The coat has a zipper so you can certainly wear it without the toggles closed, but it doesn't look as good.

    I ordered a 36 Short and the coat fit perfectly which was a pleasant surprise. The arms on most coats and jackets are too long for me and the fit is too baggy in weird places, like in the back, because I'm short and slim. This coat has a slightly snug fit without being restrictive and is well proportioned. Some reviewers haven't liked the boxy look of the coat but I think it has the classic duffle look and feel that I really like.
  • Reviewed by Charlotte left in the cold from Albany, OR on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    The coat is well-tailored, the chest size complements boyish figures. The wool/nylon material has a hard finish, it feels stiff and uncomfortable. Might discolored pilling may become a problem? Returned the item.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 65 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.