Montgomery by John Partridge Classic Duffle Coat - Wool (For Tall Women)

Closeouts. Nothing even comes close to the quality of a genuine English duffle coat, and this Montgomery by John Partridge Classic duffle coat embodies all the traditional hallmarks -- from the wool-rich fabric, to the horn-toggle front, to the regal plaid lining.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NewMeme from Victoria, Texas on Sunday, March 1, 2015
    Love the fit, color, and style. I will buy another in a different color.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Top Mom from Minnesota on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    I just bought my third duffle coat, and this is the second one from John Partridge. Because this coat accommodates layers, it serves me well at temperatures at 0 and above. If it had an insulated lining, I would rate it at a full 5 stars, but it is not quite able to keep me warm during the coldest MN winter days. I like the length, the sturdy hood, and the double closure--zipper and toggles. Sizing is accurate, as long as I remember that the coat is made to allow a heavy sweater or blazer to fit comfortably under it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BarbLINY from New York on Monday, September 1, 2014
    The description is very misleading. I ordered a John Partridge duffle coat in a women's tall. This is not what I received. I actually received an Original Montgomery, which I do not even see on the STP website. Also, Original Montgomery coats do not come in tall sizes.The coat is beautifully made. This company has been making the classic duffle coat in England since 1896. It retails for double what I paid at STP. So what's not to like? Unfortunately the sizing , as described on the website is way off as well. I ordered the 42 which is described as a size 12. I wasn't alarmed by the few reviews claiming they ran large, thinking a little room would be ok in this style….. WOW… way off. I thought for a moment I received a men's coat except the plaid lining was pink and cream. It fit me more like a 16 or 18 perhaps? Sadly I had to return.
  • Reviewed by Grammy from New York on Monday, October 28, 2013
    I spent a lot of time on the reviews for this and the regular sized John Partridge duffle, Since I lost out on a good price for the regular and could fit a tall, I opted for the tall. I already have a Gloverall duffle in brown, so, didn't want camel, and I have a navy coat. This is my fifth duffle coat in 61 years.
    First, read the reviews. The sizing on this coast is like nothing I have ever seen. Most duffle are oversized (that's the style of the duffle), But, this one is fitted in the hips, the sleeves are VERY narrow and the back is very big. It appears to be made for a busty woman, with small hips and very skinny arms. Or, it is made for a woman who wants to wear just a cotton shirt underneath, (and who will still be warm. without another layer). As for the length, it is fine. The hood is adjustable and the wool is double sided, and I guess it will be very warm. I wear a size 12 coat. I bought this in a size 38, but, could have gone to a 40. Remember, it is narrow in the hips, roomy up top and narrow in the arms. Figure that out for your shape, and you will be fine with this coat.
  • Reviewed by NurseK from Central Michigan on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    This is a very nice coat. The wool feels very soft, the extra length is great for keeping my bottom warm. Haven't gotten to the really cold weather yet, but so far, so good. Service was very fast too. Took 1star away because I would have liked it even better if it had hand warmer pockets - collar could be a little higher.
    Ver nice coat, especially since it's a tall so the sleeves are long enough for me.
  • Reviewed by Pidgelovins from Sydney, Australia on Friday, August 23, 2013
    I love this product. In fact this is the 6th one I have purchased over the years for both myself and my daughters.
    The Duffel coats are extremely warm and comfortable. I love the tartan on the inside of the coats. I would recommend them to anyone and have done so with some of my friends who have as a result t purchased the coat from you.
  • Reviewed by just j from Pennsylvania on Thursday, May 30, 2013
    i just got my exchanged duffle coat and am very pleased. I had previously ordered my normal size medium -12 T, but when i got it felt it wouldn't be roomy enough with heavier winter clothing. I was impressed enough with the material and workmanship that I exchanged it for a large. I am glad I did. Am real satisfied with the coat and feel I will be wearing it for many years.
  • Reviewed by Lady London from Europe on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    This duffle is true to size. Remember you may be wearing a heavy sweater underneath as it is a fall/winter garment. So most people would allow a little extra room. If you never wear anything but your lightest sweater then you could size down if you really wanted to. The material is lighter than the older duffle coats of yesteryear so it is able to fit to you much better. Altogether it's a much lighter more feminine fit than you may have been used to in a duffle coat, yet still very warm. Attractive on.
  • Reviewed by just Jo from Kansas on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    It's so nice to be able to find a really good quality coat. It's a bit heavy but it blocks the wind beautifully and keeps me nice and warm. English brands I've bought here are excellent. It's great there are still such products available; even if they're expensive, they're well worth the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by stay warm from Klamath Falls, OR on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
    feels great. receive lots of complements on the appearance of the coat
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #