Montrail Badrock OutDry® Trail Running Shoes - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Lightweight and versatile, Montrail's Badrock OutDry® trail running shoes provide exceptional stability and support in varied terrain. FluidPost stability technology and a Terra-Hex midsole combine to control pronation and cushion the foot, and an OutDry® waterproof breathable membrane keeps the foot dry.

Average Rating based on 68 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 68 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Reg guy from Chicago on Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    They were true to size and comfortable and sturdy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J.Riley from Flagstaff,AZ on Wednesday, December 3, 2014
    Seemed stiff on initial run but the shoe really shined when I started into the rocky parts of the trail. Badrock name sake really fits the bill. I fit true to size as I have with previous montrail shoes size 9 ordered size 9. I have a very narrow foot so I did have to tighten the laces a bit. For reference I fit La sportiva proton running shoes 1 size over the normal (43 instead of 42) and they have a narrower fit vs Montrail Badrock. Ordered a second pair since the STP price was excellent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Islander from Washington State on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    I walk 10 miles three days a week and live in the Northwest. We can have rain anytime of the year so a shoe that is waterproof is essential. These Montrail shoes are really quite good at keeping my feet dry. My walking is on a combination of paved streets and hiking trails on the prairie not far from our home. The shoes seem to last about 8 months before the tread is worn beyond a level for safe walking, about a 1000 miles, and are then replaced.
    I usually have problems finding a shoe that fits me comfortably so I stock up. I think that I now have enough for about three years.
    They seem to be "true to size" and I always order my walking and running shoes 1/2 size larger to avoid "black toe"
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HikerBiker from Kalamazoo on Wednesday, November 26, 2014
    I am becoming a big fan of Montrail shoes. I already have the Rockridge model and love how they fit and perform. I bought the Badrock model for colder, wetter weather because they have waterproofing. Both models have similar sole patterns and are very grippy. I'm not a hard core trail runner, but prefer trails over asphalt as I find the surface easier on my joints. After taking the Badrock out a few days ago on a wet trail with lots of leaves and puddles, I had no problems at all with the shoes. Shoes felt light yet well supporting.

    Regarding sizing, I wear a 9 in shoes and 91/2 -10 in boots. My regular Asics running shoes are a size 9. Both of my Montrails are a size 9 and they are a perfect fit...the toe box is larger than my Asics but I find the extra room helps on descents. Unless you wear really thick socks, I wouldn't size up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Slick from North Carolina on Monday, November 17, 2014
    I bought a pair of these shoes to work in. The 1st pair were to small, so I gave them to a friend with smaller feet. I bought 2 more pair and I like them just fine.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by T38preston from SoCal on Monday, November 3, 2014
    I use these shoes for everyday wear. They are great. Washed the car wearing them and my feet didn't get wet. They would be great for trail running. Lots of support and nice soles with heavy duty tread. Wouldn't recommend for running on street.
  • Reviewed by Explorer-Missionary Doc-Disaster Worker from Oklahoma on Wednesday, October 29, 2014
    Size is way too small; I wear a 9 1/2 shoe, and ordered this in a 10, but still too small. Didn't like the feel or looks either, so returning.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uncas from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, October 15, 2014
    Buying clothes online is a risky proposition because of the sizing more than anything else for me. Sound like you? Read on!

    I ordered my normal 101/2 and based on reviews, and because I am fussy, also ordered a pair of size 11. I found the 101/2s fit just fine out of the box and was about to head out for a run in them and thus commit to ownership.
    Then I tried on one of the 11s, just because I could. And they too felt completely wearable.
    What gives? I wondered.
    Here's what gives: Upon comparing the 101/2s to my Saucony Grids size 101/2, I found the Montrail 101/2s to be a wee bit _smaller_, whereas the Montrail in size 11 was just a tiny bit larger than the Saucony 101/2--probably not as much as a true 11.
    My conclusion is that the Montrails run a whisker smaller. If you usually fill every bit of your shoes (in a proper-fit sense), like I do, then I recommend sizing up 1/2 size.
    Once I saw this, still in my living room, I emulated running downhill and--sure enough--felt my toes bumping against the ends of the once-fine size 101/2. (!) I went with the size 11 and haven't looked back.
    Great shoe. Definitely a narrower cut but not overly so. Stable in the rock gardens and grippy-soled. And water proof in wet conditions thus far. The shoe seems stiffer and less shock absorbent than a regular running shoe, but the flip side is that the padding seems to grow more effective the faster I go over broken ground. I'm a fan of these shoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by joe from wyoming on Tuesday, October 14, 2014
    comfortable and well made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandy from TN on Monday, October 13, 2014
    Good fit.

    Have not used them for a hike yet, but plan for them to be my daily walking shoe.

    I have worn Montrail trail running shoes for about 4 years and have been very pleased with them.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 68 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.