Customer Reviews Of:
Montrail Hurricane Trail Running Shoes - Waterproof Gore-Tex® XCR® (For Men)

Closeouts. Equipped with a waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® XCR® lining and TerraHex, Montrail's Hurricane trail running shoes also have a three component system that combines a high-traction outsole, a protection plate and a shock-absorbing midsole. This allows these lightweight shoes to provide traction, protection and cushioning.

  • Rubber Gryptonite GT tread outsole
  • Removable footbed
  • Synthetic uppers
  • Weight: 2 lb. pr.
  • Medium width
  • Closeouts. China.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews 3.764705 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hikemaniac from Boone, NC on Wednesday, August 13, 2008
    These are some of the best shoes I've ever owned. I don't have a bad thing to say about them.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Everyday, Wet Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Traction, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rich from Snohomish, WA on Sunday, August 10, 2008
    I use my new pair for every day wear; shopping etc. I use my second pair for trail running and chore work around my farm. My only problem is that a lump has developed near my right little toe at the sole/upper junction that has forced me to throw away 2 pair when they were about 80% worn out.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Day hikes, Everyday, Trail running, Wet Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good foot balance, Great Traction, Non-slip sole, Stable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave the hiker from Seattle on Wednesday, June 11, 2008
    Third pair I've owned, fit well, hold up, light weight. They've hiked in the Grand Canyon and through the Lofoten Islands in Norway. Who needs hiking boots?
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Day hikes, Everyday
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from Knoxville, TN on Monday, May 12, 2008
    These are great shoes, but they are hot because of the XCR. However, this is my second pair and I still love these.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Day hikes, Wet Weather
    • Cons: Hot
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable, Great Traction, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pdwcon from Camino, CA on Wednesday, May 7, 2008
    Could not get the shoe on even though it was the correct size
    • Best Uses: Sport
    • Cons: Hard getting on, Tongue attachment
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mo the Window Man from Steamboat Springs, CO on Tuesday, April 29, 2008
    I am a professional window cleaner in Colorado. I am out in early morning due and go up and down ladders all day long. These shoes perform well and I am very pleased with my purchase
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Stable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backcountryster from Upper Peninsula of Michigan on Monday, April 28, 2008
    I was going to use the shoes for casual/ hiking/snowshoe/ bog slogging use 4 seasons, but the left shoe bends and the fabric bears down on my toes quite painfully. I like the shoes, but unfortunately have to send them back.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Cold weather, Day hikes, Everyday, Wet Weather
    • Cons: 1st pair was a bit small, Am sending 2nd pr back
    • Describe Yourself: Professional Guide
    • Pros: Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trail Runner, Fast Hiker from Western USA on Friday, April 25, 2008
    These shoes are really stable and feel great. The tongue is attached so they are kind of hard to pull on, but then they fit like a glove which I really like. As always the Gore Tex is a compromise. It adds a little weight and can make your feet a bit stuffy, but if you need it you need it. I will feel comfortable using these shoes with a pack up to around 40 lbs.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Day hikes, Fast packing, Trail running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Traction, Stable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe the gardener from Washington, DC on Monday, April 21, 2008
    These are well-made shoes. They are truly waterproof and are very comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Day hikes, Everyday, Wet Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Traction, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Buddy M from CA on Wednesday, April 9, 2008
    These are not at all like the original hurricanes that were on the leona divide last. The uppers are thick and sloppy, the soles are narrow and do not project as far as the uppers, and offer limited traction, especially for a shoe designed to be used on wet trails.

    I have had a lot of success with Montrail trail shoes for nearly 20 years, these really don't have the same DNA.
    • Cons: Narrow sole, Poor traction, Stiff fabric, Too tall in the heel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2