Montrail Mountain Masochist Trail Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. If endurance trail running means going until long after the competition has thrown in the towel, Montrail's Mountain Masochist trail running shoes are the pair for you. Highly breathable and lightweight, this responsive pair features a full-length Trail Shield to fortify the underfoot and a grippy Gryptonite outsole for unyielding traction, even over loose terrain.

Average Rating based on 135 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 14 »
  • 21-30 of 135 reviews
  • Reviewed by rick the runner from san rafael, ca on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    I like the extra toe room and traction with these as compared to my previous models, the Montrail Rockridge. While these are a bit heavier, the sizing seems more accurate and I like the added stability.
  • Reviewed by Tatonka from North Georgia MTNs on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    This is my second pair of Montrails. The first pair I bought had a high ankle support but still made from the lightweight material and were extremely comfortable for long treks. I got my1st pair for about $40 which I thought was pretty astounding being that I've seen the same pair sold in stores for $180. Who's that for a discount? The only complaint that I had with my first pair was that the sole glue started coming apart after about 6 months. But for the price and the level of comfort and the amount of use I got out of the shoe I was pretty pleased.

    My family and I are headed to the Yucatan and I wanted a lightweight shoe with comfort, support but also something I could really beat on with some long day treks. That's why I bought the Montrail Masochist. I usually prefer a higher ankle support for long trails but this was a nice looking shoe for the price. If you prefer a higher ankle support on your trail shoe as well and are OK with spending a bit more, do a search for the Saucony trail shoe on STP. It looks like a much better shoe but it;s almost twice the price.

    I'll update my post within 6 months to let you know how these hold up.
  • Reviewed by Grand Canyon bound from New Mexico on Monday, May 13, 2013
    Shoes fit great out of the box. Bought them for hiking & planned on wearing 2 pairs of socks (liners + socks) so ordered a size larger & they work perfectly.
  • Reviewed by MadDog from Washington on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    I bought these based on the good reviews but my experience has been disappointment. The soles have little traction particularly in wet conditions. The soles are thin and quickly wear away. They also feel about 1/2 size too small. I ordered a size ten, but they feel too snug.
  • Reviewed by Idmtman from Idaho on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    This shoe has the typical Montrail construction; it is lightweight, great gripping sole, and well ventilated. It does, however, feel a little tight in the forefoot area. Some have suggested purchasing a half size larger but I purchased my normal size. So far I have been adjusting the laces to enlarge the forefoot and also wearing thin socks. I think if I purchased another pair of these, I would try a half size larger. I would give this shoe five stars if it fit true to size.
  • Reviewed by Trekker from Texas on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    Perfect fit and very comfortable right out of the box. However, I have not had a chance to test drive them on any mountain trails yet.
  • Reviewed by Danny boy... from MI on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    I am a ultra runner, and have a neutral foot. This shoe finds a sweet spot of stability and protection, and for half the price. I LOVE Derailed......
  • Reviewed by Annie from Lake Havasu City, AZ on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    This shoe boasts amazing support for a breathable lightweight running shoe. Nice color combonations too.
  • Reviewed by focohiker from fort collins on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    Montrail has generally fit a medium width foot very well since they started integrafit. This shoe is no exception. The eva through the midsole is pretty soft, so I don't expect these to last for ever, but they are comfortable and stable for my low volume size 12 feet. They are also pretty well ventilated for all of the structure they seem to offer.
  • Reviewed by Chuck from Colorado on Monday, April 22, 2013
    Nice shoe for the money. I'm a size 10, and they fit true to size. They seem well constructed, no problems after a month of use, they're comfortable, and I like how the look. The only thing I could nit about is that they're really squeaky when wet, and you walk on a smooth surface floor (e.g. tile, wood, etc.).
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 14 »
  • 21-30 of 135 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.