Montrail Rockridge Trail Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Montrail's lightweight Rockridge trail running shoes take on rugged terrain without slowing you down. They feature a breathable mesh upper reinforced with thermoplastic overlays and a removable EVA footbed that absorbs impact for all-day comfort.

Average Rating based on 156 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 16 »
  • 1-10 of 156 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by happy feet from western nc on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
    Very comfortable shoes. Am flat footed so some shoes don't work for me. On feet 9 hrs a day. Feet feel good at end of day. Size runs true. Really like em
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Laurie in the Sierra from Pollock Pines, CA on Monday, August 4, 2014
    I really wanted these to work, but they never got outside of my house. The midsole and insole materials do not protect my feet enough from feeling every lug in the outsole. I tried SofSole insoles and combinations of two different types of insoles, since I had plenty of room to do so. Nothing kept me from feeling those lugs as though they were stamping themselves on the bottoms of my feet. They are on their way back...
  • Reviewed by Charles Forbin from Southeast on Sunday, July 6, 2014
    I have about 250 miles on these shoes at this point so I've had some time to form an opinion. First off, I'm an avid trail runner who runs in the Appalachian and Cumberland Mountains about 5 days a week (anywhere from 5-35 miles). I came to this shoe when Montrail discontinued the Sabino which was a heavier shoe that I liked for it's ankle stability. I generally prefer lightweight racers like the Salomon Speedcross) but like to keep a sturdy shoe with less aggressive tread for certain types of trail work.

    The Rockridge isn't a bad shoe, but it really isn't great in any department. It doesn't provide a lot of protection, it isn't especially stable, it's reasonably light, but not fast. The soles seem especially unimpressive. The Rockridge isn't a minimalist shoe, but the sole is weak enough that I feel the miles. Traction is middling--not great, but not poor. If you have to run in muddy conditions you'll be sliding.

    On a positive note, the shoe has been durable. Unfortunately I can't really recommend this shoe to serious trail runners--there are too many other shoes available that have solid features--the Rockridge is sort of a jack-of-all-trades and master of none. I might recommend this to someone who is just getting into trail running and is coming from a road-shoe background. The Rockridge isn't a *bad* shoe, it's just not very good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kristian from Washington on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    These shoes are awesome! Very comfortable to run in! They handle the trails well!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Blue Toes from Montana on Tuesday, June 3, 2014
    Haven't decided if I'll keep these yet. I like the tread a lot, very aggressive, but the shoe is narrower than the Fairhavens. I'm still wearing them around the house to determine if the width (or lack of it) will be a problem. I do not have exceptionally wide feet, although I do like my shoes wide.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by northernbassist from Alaska on Friday, May 16, 2014
    Very comfortable; snug, but roomy; fit great out of the box and been wearing them daily for a while now as street shoes.
  • Reviewed by Frankysan from North Texas on Tuesday, February 4, 2014
    Bought these for my son for a Philmont trek. He's been training with them the past few weeks now. Nice support, fit well, no blisters, very lightweight. I have a pair of Montrail Mountain Masochist II that I love but I will buy myself a pair of these if they pop up in size 11. These came to us highly recommended by our Scoutmaster who has worn out 2 pair and has two brand new pair in his closet waiting to take their place. A great shoe!
  • Reviewed by Gray-Beard Runner from Billings, MT on Friday, December 20, 2013
    I don't have much experience with trail runners. My wife bought me a pair of another brand to wear when the neighborhood roads where I run are snowy. They were okay, but the seams rubbed on my feet, giving me blisters. More recently, I got these Montrails to try on the steep, unpaved roads near our cabin. When I first tried them on, they felt a little loose and lacked the cushion I'm used to in my regular running shoes. That has turned out fine, given that I wear thicker socks than what I use for street running. The aggressive soles have worked better than I guessed they would to keep me from slipping on steep, gravelly roads. Now that we have snow in town again, I'll be using these for my regular run. I bought a second pair to keep in town. (The first pair is at the cabin.) Note that I followed the advice of some other reviewers and bought them a half-size larger than my normal street shoe size. That has allowed me to use the thicker socks. I would probably give them five stars, but I'm being conservative as a novice runner of trails.
  • Reviewed by Cliff-trail runner from Maryland on Monday, December 9, 2013
    So far so good. I do a lot of trail running, hills and in mountains. These are very comfortable and have found them to be sized appropriately. A little wide maybe for my foot but I like the feel of it.
  • Reviewed by pistol pete from Virginia mountains. on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    These shoes fit well and seem well made. The aggressive soles really give a lot of grip in slippery conditions. Comfortable right out of the box.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 16 »
  • 1-10 of 156 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.