Customer Reviews Of:
Montrail Rogue Racer Trail Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. A stripped-down, low-profile performer, Montrail's Rogue Racer trail running shoes combine Trail Shield underfoot protection and an outstanding midfoot fit in a flexible, ultralight design.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.363636 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rushfan from Chattanooga on Monday, July 13, 2015
    This is my second pair of Montrail shoes and i love both pair. The fit is perfect (ordered 1/2 size larger) and very comfortable for biking, walking and long days on my feet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Duck hunter from Utah on Wednesday, June 10, 2015
    The shoe seems to run small. I had to send them back for a larger size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sport469 from Central NY on Wednesday, October 29, 2014
    I ordered a half size up as recommended but it is still small. Otherwise it felt fine.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoorsy Girl from Michigan on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    Bought these for my husband and he said they're a great all around running shoe. Light yet stable. He will run a race in them this weekend and tail run next.
  • Reviewed by tntrailrunner from columbia tn on Tuesday, September 17, 2013
    On my third pair of these shoes, and love them. Lightweight and provide good ground feel. Toe box is roomy for a wider foot but not too roomy, just right. on a minimalist platform, but not too minimalist. Heel to toe drop is just right for me for longer distances. I train on trail and road in these and they do fine on both. Feet have done fine in these in 12hr runs as my longest to date. I replace them right around 400mi. On the pair. Some mesh will start to come apart at that time and usually I have the ball of the foot midsole flattened out by then. Zero issues with tread wear. Cant beat this shoe for the price. And they also drain very well on creek crossings.
  • Reviewed by Mike the backpacker from California on Sunday, April 28, 2013
    Nice well made shoe. Very lightweight yet has enough substance in the sole for rugged trails. A bit narrower than some trail running shoes I've had. Overall a good value.
  • Reviewed by Jonah from Denver, CO on Monday, April 8, 2013
    This shoe is a great lightweight shoe. It has the feel of an old racing flat. It's less supportive than some trail shoes but that's to be expected with a minimalist style shoe. The sole feels great thus far and the rock plate does a good job to protect your feet from rocks. Also the tread grips most any surface well. It fits a little snug at first but I'm sure it will loosen with more wear. I love this shoe so far.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NB from Ashland, Oregon on Saturday, October 20, 2012
    I have used this as my trail running show for the past few years, they fit my foot very well and perform excellent. Bottom line is that I simply don't notice them when I run, which is how any good product should be, serve the function without interruption. They are a good combination of light and sturdy. I find these shoes feel even better after about a week or two of running to break them in. I have heard that Montrail may be discontinuing these, so I stocked up and bought a couple pair on here.
    • Best Uses: All Trail Conditions, Hiking, Trail running
    • Cons: None to Speak of
    • Pros: Excellent Grip In Wetdry, Light Weight, Sturdy For Its Type, Well built
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hikealot from mn on Monday, October 8, 2012
    had to send it back - it was far too narrow
    • Cons: Very narrow
    • Pros: Light, Well Made
  • Reviewed by Terminate the Trails from Danville, PA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
    After just a week of testing, I chose this shoe over many others I own for running a tough mountain marathon. I have trail shoes by Inov-8, Salomon, Adidas, and other Montrails. This is currently my favorite as it has the feel of a lightweight/ minimalist shoe, yet the protection from rocks of a much heavier model.
    The tred is not very pronounced, but is sufficient for everything except mud. I've found that these worked great on every surface from gnarly rocks and roots, to stream crossings, snow, and blacktop roads [which is what I encountered in my race].
    There are "rumors on the internets" that these wear out faster than other shoes. I can't speak to that as I've only put 100 miles on them. But if you can get them on sale, it shouldn't matter- buy two pair.
    • Best Uses: Trail Races, Training
    • Cons: Rumors Of Short Life
    • Pros: Great Fit, Sufficient Traction, Super Light
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2