We all have an obsession. Montrail's is fit. Montrail develops activity-specific performance footwear that delivers a comfortable, precise fit for trail runners, adventure racers, hikers and climbers. Montrail's element abiding materials and aggressive rubber outsoles allude to the cutting-edge technologies inside like IntegraFit?, developed from digitized foot scans of 800,000 pairs of feet, and their CTX thermo-moldable foam that transforms into a custom-fit insole after a few minutes in a warm oven! Fast-packing treks, week-long expeditions ... Learn more about Montrail, or weekend trail runs... however you get of your journey. ... Less
Average Rating based on 2132 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 214 »
  • 1-10 of 2132 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uncas from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, October 15, 2014
    Buying clothes online is a risky proposition because of the sizing more than anything else for me. Sound like you? Read on!

    I ordered my normal 101/2 and based on reviews, and because I am fussy, also ordered a pair of size 11. I found the 101/2s fit just fine out of the box and was about to head out for a run in them and thus commit to ownership.
    Then I tried on one of the 11s, just because I could. And they too felt completely wearable.
    What gives? I wondered.
    Here's what gives: Upon comparing the 101/2s to my Saucony Grids size 101/2, I found the Montrail 101/2s to be a wee bit _smaller_, whereas the Montrail in size 11 was just a tiny bit larger than the Saucony 101/2--probably not as much as a true 11.
    My conclusion is that the Montrails run a whisker smaller. If you usually fill every bit of your shoes (in a proper-fit sense), like I do, then I recommend sizing up 1/2 size.
    Once I saw this, still in my living room, I emulated running downhill and--sure enough--felt my toes bumping against the ends of the once-fine size 101/2. (!) I went with the size 11 and haven't looked back.
    Great shoe. Definitely a narrower cut but not overly so. Stable in the rock gardens and grippy-soled. And water proof in wet conditions thus far. The shoe seems stiffer and less shock absorbent than a regular running shoe, but the flip side is that the padding seems to grow more effective the faster I go over broken ground. I'm a fan of these shoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by joe from wyoming on Tuesday, October 14, 2014
    comfortable and well made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Runner from Montana on Monday, October 13, 2014
    I LOVE Montrail shoes. I run on old logging roads which are gravel and with Montrail shoes my feet do not start hurting because of the gravel. I have tried many other brands of shoes and Montrail shoes are the only ones that keep my feet from feeling the gravel and hurting. My knees also start hurting with other brands of shoes. Montrail has just the right amount of stability in their shoes.
    With Montrail shoes I can not go wrong!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandy from TN on Monday, October 13, 2014
    Good fit.

    Have not used them for a hike yet, but plan for them to be my daily walking shoe.

    I have worn Montrail trail running shoes for about 4 years and have been very pleased with them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kirkoman from Austin TX on Thursday, October 09, 2014
    Had recently bought a pair of similar Montrails so thought I'd check out the waterproof ones with Fall around the corner. They have a little thicker sole (read as taller profile) then most but are comfortable and sizing was right for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by adventurer from Northern MI from Michigan on Wednesday, October 08, 2014
    Bought these for my husband and he said they're a great all around running shoe. Light yet stable. He will run a race in them this weekend and tail run next.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by whtcntyga from North Georgia on Tuesday, October 07, 2014
    I replaced an earlier purchase of this Montrail Badrock Outdry Trail Running shoe in order to give it a second chance. I run on dirt and gravel roads, abandoned logging roads and some animal trails in the Chattahoochee National Forest in NE Georgia. The outer soles on the first pair lost 2 of the outer lugs on the ball of one shoe after only 2 months of daily use. Running on the gravel and dirt roads is difficult on the shoes, but to have this happen in 2 months...I see that as a product problem.
    I have to admit that I was skeptical about purchasing Montrail after I learned that Columbia had purchased Montrail. I was concerned that a great product (I had owned 1 pair of hiking boots when Montrail was OneSport, 2 pairs of Montrail hiking boots and 3 or 4 pair of trail running shoes) was going to be cheapened by big corporate ownership. I may be wrong, I may be right.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Quester from Pennsylvania on Monday, October 06, 2014
    Great cushioning, lightweight, and breathable. Already wanting to buy another pair for when these wear out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Quester from Pennsylvania on Monday, October 06, 2014
    Great cushioning, lightweight, and breathable. Already wanting to buy another pair for when these wear out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Katydid from Pennsylvania on Monday, October 06, 2014
    The toe box is roomy and does not squeeze like every other shoe out there. For worn-out feet that have backpacked the entire Appalachian Trail one and 1/2 times, not to mention the hundreds of extra training miles, this feature is essential. Also, the arch support is perfect. I have not needed my orthodics! Since they fit so well, I tried to order another pair the next day, but they are sold out! Oh no....
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 214 »
  • 1-10 of 2132 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;