Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Agama Backpack

Closeouts. The Mountain Hardwear Agama backpack is your burly backpack bud when you need big capacity, organizing features and a supportive suspension to carry it all.

Average Rating based on 48 reviews 4.625000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tina from Maine on Friday, December 11, 2015
    Definately a mix of "school bag" and hiking bag. Great for urban hikers.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Prof from Utah on Tuesday, September 1, 2015
    This is a quality backpack. There is an outer pouch that is stretchable. The next pocket inward has a zippered mesh pocket on the outer inner lining. There is also a zippered small pouch on the inner lining. Behind the zippered pouch there is another compartment for separating. It is difficult to describe without pictures, but there are 4 compartments for this zippered portion of the backpack. The large compartment has a non-padded portion for a laptop. Since I am a teacher, I use this pouch for loose papers to grade and use the main compartment for my laptop with a sleeve and any books. On the outside of the bag there is a zippered pocket for a cell phone (softly lined). Also, the water bottle pouches are deep enough to hold larger water bottles. Plus you can always secure it using the buckled strap. I rarely do that, because then it hinders getting into the zippered compartments. It is a larger backpack than I am used to, but for me it is perfect as I don't know how much I always need to be putting in it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big John from Columbia on Saturday, March 7, 2015
    This a great bag at it's price. Plenty of space, plenty of pockets, well built. I need bags that will take a lot of abuse and I fully expect to have this one for a long time!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by high maintenance babe from Southwest Michigan on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    I bought this in the green color and it looks great. Haven't had it very long so I don't know yet how long it will hold up but it seems very well made and I look forward to using it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alejandro the Great from Virginia on Monday, November 3, 2014
    I purchased this backpack to use as a carry on during my work travel and to use if I can get to a trail while visiting different states. The main compartment has a sleeve that fits my 15 Dell computer perfectly. The should straps are comfy. Great product if you use the discount to get the extra money off.
  • Reviewed by Hiker from Florida on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    For the price, this is a great product. I use it to carry my laptop and textbooks most of the time, and on short day trips/hikes. The outer compartment is great for carrying shoes, wet jackets or other clothing. The only complain I have is the mesh water bottle bottle pockets. After the first hike, a small hole was already torn in one and shortly after, the other did as well. Must be from poor design, but I expected better quality from Mountain Hardwear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mighty Mike from Austin, TX on Wednesday, August 13, 2014
    Second time to buy this one, first one was stolen..... They must have liked the pack as well.
  • Reviewed by ikat311 from San Pedro, CA on Friday, July 25, 2014
    The zipper on the main compartment always gets stuck and I have to pull the material out before I can close it. On the positive side, I like the way how the chest strap is adjustable up and down. It's a good feature for women.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leah from Maryland on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    Bought this for school. Easily fits my laptop, binder and giant textbooks. Comfortable straps and well-padded back. Solid construction and the price was much less than I could find anywhere else for something of similar quality.
  • Reviewed by Will from New England on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    I settled on the Agama for everyday tossing around, airline travel and a bag to accommodate some pre packed items (survival kit, 1st aid, etc..) because of the Agama's practical shape, multiple compartments, color selection and healthy 2000 cu. in. capacity, as well as Mountain Hardware quality.

    With an odd horizontally-flexible suspension and a functionless 1" hyper-thin waist strap the Agama holds more than it supports, but the shoulder straps are nice. This isn't a 'supportive' pack for activities. ..demonstrated further by laptop pouch, no hydration.

    Another let-down - the front 'divided' pocket is too small to fit more than small, loose essentials - no room for a 5" x 6" cube (1st aid kit) so most item will go into the large main compartment.

    I own more supportive bags for hiking and higher performance bags for mountaineering. I have military-strength bags for field items and now I have a nice brightly colored Mountain Hardware backpack for everyday items; when traveling to a friends' in the city or hoping on a flight. I am pleased with the purchase and hope it serves as well as my perfectly good 25 year old Gregory 1.5 day pack. This is a pricey book bag but I like it. (especially in red.)

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5