Mountain Hardwear Alakazam Dry.Q Elite Soft Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. It's not a magic trick. The instant-on technology of a Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable membrane makes Mountain Hardwear's Alakazam jacket the choice for racking up the vertical on stormy days.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
  • Reviewed by Ducaholic from New England. on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    High quality jacket with great features. The Monkeyman fleece at the back of the neck and shoulders is a cool feature as well. Most jackets I wear a medium (5' 9' and 175lbs) but I had to exchange the medium for a large. A little baggy around the midsection but with layering it's not a problem. You can't go wrong with MH quality. I recommend.
  • Reviewed by Crowrunner from West Texas on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    I bought this to replace a worn out North Face Mt. Light jacket. Of course it does not have zipped in options like the Mt. Light but is just as, if not more technical with just enough room inside for layering. Zippers in right places and best of all... love the red.
  • Reviewed by West Concord Hobo from West Concord MA on Friday, March 01, 2013
    A great jacket to replace my 20 year old Moonstone.

    Pros:
    Price
    Material

    Cons:
    Strange cut in the sleeves - short (I suggest one buys a size bigger than normal)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Arthur from Jacksconville, FL on Sunday, February 24, 2013
    I bought this jacket primaryly to use as a shell when skiing on not so cold days. It works very well for that purpose. I did not notice any moisture build up inside or any uncomfortable clammy feeling. I also wanted to use it as rainy day jacket here in Florida, again it has performed well with that. I have noticed no leaking and it keeps me dry. As a bonus I found it to perform pretty good on colder days when paired with the proper mid and base layers. The fit is not loose so there is a limit the amount of layering it can handle.

    The only cons where the pit zipper sometimes snag on the sleeves, more annoyance than anything else. The hood could have been a little larger as it just barely covers my helmet when skiing.
  • Reviewed by JB from Knoxville on Monday, February 11, 2013
    absolutely amazin idea but executed sort of poorly, picture is worth a thousand words..

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANv6cI87OZE
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by California Dreamer from San Francisco Bay Area on Monday, January 28, 2013
    My husband chose this jacket after reading multiple online reviews of several different waterproof jackets. It got very high reviews, and now we know why. The jacket is very well made with sealed seams and zippers, and it has some strategically placed, monkey fleece lining in the back of the upper arms, and across the shoulders, which adds extra padding for carrying a backpack, without being overly warm or bulky. This jacket also has pit zips, and an attached hood with adjustable drawcords. It is not lined, and is cut roomy enough for under layering with a fitted fleece or thermal jacket, without being bulky. My husband is 5'6" and 155# with a muscular build and broad shoulders. The size Medium fits him perfectly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pat from short-hills,nj on Friday, January 18, 2013
    I'd tried all different kind of jacket, but I had always something to complain. Not on this jacket. OK, it isn't really warm, however, it has a furry inside which is very unique for this kind of jacket. Snow stopper is also included.
  • Reviewed by Tony from San Francisco on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    Yes I would recommend it but size up. I'm 175, 42'chest and 5-9" with an athletic build. Normally Medium ski jackets fit a bit too snug for skiing, backpacking or alpine activities and Large jackets feel roomy enough for ample layering. This Large size Mt Hardware feels like Medium. Both this year's model and the new 2012 model run small. Sure wish Mt Hardware would address that. I had to return two jackets to get the right fit when most all other manafacturers fit correctly. Annoyed. Yes I recommend this jacket but with a huge reservation: be prepared to return it due to poor fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Acf from Western ny on Monday, January 14, 2013
    My husband is 5'10" and 160 pounds. Very lean and muscular. he has fit well into medium jackets by mountain hardware, marmot, Patagonia, etc with no problems. This jacket was a great deal, but both medium and then large after an exchange had arms that were too short. Literally would come up to his forearms. Definitely will not work for snowboarding. So this will go back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by On the move from San Jose on Saturday, December 22, 2012
    I ended up using this jacket very often. It breaths better than enything I've ever tried and is completely water proof so ideal for wet weather. I also use it in the cold and wind as it allows me to add layers underneath and still breath very nicely. The fit is just a little large, but not bad. I would have preferred something more fitted, but that's a very minor concern.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.