Mountain Hardwear Allston Down Coat - 650 Fill Power (For Women)

Closeouts. Light on weight, but heavy on warmth, Mountain Hardwear's Allston down coat features an extra-long length with extra-warm 650 fill power goose down insulation for serious cold-weather coverage.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by New User from Virginia on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    True to size Soft Fabric Nice Fit I am glad I ordered it.
  • Reviewed by Cold to the bone in the Midwest from Illinois on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    I received this coat and when I took it out of the box, I was very disappointe! It feels cheap, looks cheap, has no weight, the feathers are tiny less the a quarter inch and too make matters worse it is not WARM!! I wore it in 20 below zero here in the Midwest and I had three layers underneath and still felt cold. I'm very disappointed with the quality I would not recommend this coat to anyone. I looked up the return policy as well and that too was dissatisfying. I was sold on several items before but this was a gift and I'm very very very unhappy with it. BUYER BEWARE!!!!! I only hoped this product had been review before. I don't believe it's 650 fill maybe 100 because as I said it was really flat and had no-weight and the few feathers it has are coming out. I'm not trying to be funny even my husband said "it looks and feels cheap what a waste." Sierratrading post you have this item described incorrectly. I'm hoping after this review maybe I get told my coat was defeative because in all honesty I think it is it just has yo be. Should be zero stars but it wouldn't let me pick that as an option.
  • Reviewed by Jeanie from MA on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    I searched high and low for a down coat for the New England winters, and was so excited to have found the Allston Down (on sale too!). The coat is light weight and fit great from the waist up (I'm 5' 5", 125 lbs and ordered the small). The problem was that the coat seemed to have a ton of extra material in the back and sides towards the bottom, resulting in a very odd bell shape. I prefer a more slimming look, and I thought maybe I could have it tailored, but decided to return it in the end. I did not wear it outside so can't attest to it's warmth.
  • Reviewed by irinalk from Moscow, Russia on Monday, January 20, 2014
    It really weights nothing. The whole coat is very convenient, the step width comfortable for me (amy similar coats are not wide enough for my steps and always go unzipped). For me it is very comfortable at -10 C with a thin merino-wool sweater but it was not warm enough at -15. Although I usually easily get cold.
  • Reviewed by Sizrwiz from Panama City, FL on Monday, January 13, 2014
    Bought this for an upcoming trip to Chicago. Love, love, LOVE this coat...with one exception. I ordered it in a medium and found it to be a bit snug around the hip area. I could wear it, but couldn't wear a sweater underneath comfortably. I wasn't able to keep it or exchange it with STP. Had to order it from someone else in a large. STP no longer had it in black in a large.
  • Reviewed by SF Bicyclist from San Francisco on Friday, December 27, 2013
    This coat is not warm. It is very lightweight and doesn't have the insulation for serious cold weather. The velcro closures fill up with lint and tangle your hair. Extremely disappointed in this coat! Returned it promptly.

    I have other Mountain Hardwear jacket that I purchased last year that is excellent quality. What happened with this product?
  • Reviewed by Another outdoorer. from Wisconsin on Friday, December 27, 2013
    I'm so in love with my new coat. The fit is great! I'm 5' tall and the small fits great! It is long and goes down to mid shin which is long enough to meet my snow boots. The cut is not square it is slightly tapered in the chest and "A" lines out from hip down. It is so light as down is and is nice and warm. "A warm wife is a happy wife!" Loving it!
  • Reviewed by MNMomma from Minneapolis, MN on Wednesday, March 06, 2013
    Love the length of this coat and the way it fits. It is very comfortable and not at all bulky. The design is good. I love the cuffed sleeves, the zippered pockets, and the velcro over the zipper. But, it is more like a light jacket in terms of warmth. Good for 30 degress or so, but you will freeze if it is much colder. I put layers underneath to stay warm.
  • Reviewed by FrizzyLizzy from Cold, upstate New York on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    An elegant looking, comfortable, well-fitting coat but it doesn't live up to its warmth claims. Sizing is a touch on the small side.
  • Reviewed by Tanker from Seattle on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    I am so pleased with this coat! It's super lightweight because it's all down, you feel like you're not wearing a thing. I have MS and so walk my dog in a scooter, where it's cold since there's no blood pumping from walking and it's nice and warm. I was debating what size to get, and went with the medium which turns out to be perfect. I've got a small frame, but wear 34D bra, am 5'6" and weigh 120. The coat actually has some style, and is fitted which is so nice. I've got room enough for a heavy knitted sweater, but it also looks nice without. The Seminole is a nice dusty rose, I'm delighted to have a great down coat that is not black or brown.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.