Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Ampato Dry.Q® Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. The ultra-breathable Mountain Hardwear Ampato jacket offers durable, waterproof protection on the trail thanks to a Dry.Q® Elite waterproof breathable membrane and fully seam-sealed construction.

Average Rating based on 86 reviews 4.453488 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 9
  • Reviewed by GS from Wyoming on Wednesday, April 27, 2016
    This jacket got a long term soak test whilst walking in the French Alps last weekend - incessant rain defeated other waterproof items (boots & trousers) but jacket remained completely dry. Walking through a static rainstorm, low cloud, high humidity etc the only dampness on the liner was due to water from my hands when taking jacket off to change base layers (hiding under rock overhangs or mountain refuges).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Larry from NY on Monday, February 29, 2016
    Well made. Keeps the rain out and never feels clammy inside-very breathable. Does what a rain jacket ought to do and what others claim to do but don't.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rebadog from Arizona on Tuesday, February 23, 2016
    Very nice jacket with great color combination. I am 5" 11" and 175 pounds and the large fit perfectly with room for layering. Have not had it in the rain yet, but am confident with the Mountain Hardwear name behind it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brorat79 from Virginia on Monday, February 22, 2016
    This is a high-end, extremely waterproof jack that normally sells for many hundreds of dollars. I tested it during a rainstorm recently and was completely dry after hours out in a downpour. If you want a true waterproof jacket for under $150, this is your product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Patroller2 from Idaho Falls, ID on Tuesday, December 1, 2015
    Greta jacket, nice color and Mountain Hardwear quality. I did return it as it fit tight under the armpits. A quite common issue with Mtn. Hardwear. I wear a size 44 suit coat, shirt size 17 X 34. Fit is great thru the body and elsewhere but binds under the pits. I ordered a Mtn. Hardwear Torsen jacket in XL from Sierra Trading Post as an alternate to replace it. Arms are a bit long, but otherwise great replacement. I do have other Mtn. Hardwear jackets in a large -- typically the lightweight insulated small puffies, but this one didn't quite work. Nevertheless 4 stars for quality, price and great service. The price was incredibly good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lake boy from Western Washimgton on Wednesday, November 18, 2015
    I have a MH ski shell made of DryQ elite that is fantastic. Ordered the Ampato for a rain jacket , breathed very well as expected but in the first real rainstorm hike the fabric on the sleeves wet out & soaked thru !
    I am returning for credit , not sure why the DryQ let me down, almost seemed as if the back of the sleeves were not made of it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WarminRichmond from Richmond, VA on Thursday, November 12, 2015
    I purchased this jacket to replace an eight year-old Marmot Precip jacket. It isn't as packable, but it's construction is much more robust. The fit of the XXL is excellent. I am 6'4" and 240 lbs. The fit is fine when worn alone, but it is roomy enough for me to layer a light puffy underneath it. It is relatively new, and shed water efficiently during a recent storm. That is to be expected. I haven't tried wearing it all day in monsoon-like conditions, but I suspect it will be fine. Until it passes such a test, I feel I can only give it 4 stars. Pockets are well placed. The adjustable cuffs and pit-zips both add to its value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chl from NC on Friday, October 30, 2015
    Great looking jacket and fits really well. Does a great job in rainy weather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Soapmaker from Appalachian Foothills on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
    I bought this jacket in hopes that it would be extremely waterproof and yet still breathable in warmer weather. It has not let me down. I would like to point out that the sleeves run a bit longer in length than expected. The model I have is the newer one which is not lined with mesh but nylon and does not have an inside pocket. If you order one pictured that has a storm flap across the front zipper, it is an older model and should have mesh lining with the inside pocket. Just an FYI.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JW from Missoula on Tuesday, April 7, 2015
    Python green is pretty bright, but I like it! seems like a great jacket so far, but haven't tested it out in any serious weather yet. Well made, runs a little big compared to other jackets I have owned, but will allow for layering. Only request would be that it had an internal pocket, but I am completely happy with this jacket, especially for the price.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 9