Mountain Hardwear Ampato Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. The ultra-breathable Mountain Hardwear Ampato jacket offers durable, waterproof protection on the trail thanks to a Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable membrane and fully seam-sealed construction.

Average Rating based on 53 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 53 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Jim from Port Angeles on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    I bought it for my morning walks along the waterfront as a waterproof windbreaker, but it is so much more than that. The Dry Q Elite fabric is superior to anything else I have ever owned. Totally waterproof and total breathability too. The feel of the fabric is soft and it wears comfortably, not stiff like a regular 'rain jacket'. This jacket even has the armpit zippers for extra-strenuous activity. The brim on the hood means I don't have to wear a ball cap under the hood to keep the rain from running down onto my face, and the unique rear neck bungee adjustment makes for a perfect fit on the hood. The extra inch in sleeve length combined with the adjustable cuffs equates to ease of arm movement, especially comfortable for using trekking/snowshoe poles. The cuff adjustments are easy to use and feel comfortable even when snug. The warm fuzzy lined hand pockets were a must for me on my cold and wet morning walks. I ordered the size that was correct for my chest and hips, and because I have a large waist I was concerned about whether it would fit me comfortably. But there is ample room so that I can wear the fleece liner from my heavy winter parka under it, without it being too snug. I plan to use that combination for snowshoeing this next winter. I would have to say it is the best weather shell I have ever owned!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nobody from IA on Monday, June 09, 2014
    I have not had much call to use it yet, but it is what you would expect from MH @ a reasonable price from stp
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Darktrail40 from Where Ever I May Roam on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    I purchased this jacket to replace my black DryQ that was stolen. My new blue Ampato jacket has plenty of well-beingplaced pockets and has kept me dry under some very nasty conditions. This jacket is much lighter than traditional rain-proof outerwear. Buy this jacket if you like dry comfort with great looks. Keep your eyes on it though, or you may need to replace yours as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LIQINYU from CHINA on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    GOOD
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fs0500 from Oregon on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    The right size, good quality, beyond imagination
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DS from Florida on Monday, May 19, 2014
    Bought for trip this summer so not aware of how waterproof it is, but appears to be great. 5'10" 165...large fit perfect
  • Reviewed by salvator98 from Tacoma, WA on Monday, May 05, 2014
    Excellent jacket for wet weather. Light weight yet breathable. Have had second thoughts on my purchase. This is my everyday jacket in the Pacific North West. Always ready for wet weather!
  • Reviewed by Qfalcata from Durham NC on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    Comfortable fit with just the right roominess for layering, very nicely put together, lightweight for a three layer, thoughtful features. Still needs a walk in a toad-strangler to test water resistance plus a serious workout in warm weather to test breathability but so far lovin' the fabric. Lack of a two way zipper would have been a bigger problem if the jacket had been an inch longer. As it is, this a keeper.
  • Reviewed by George from NY on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    So far, I'm very pleased with this jacket and it should prove to be a very versatile 3 season shell. Breathability seems quite good plus pit zips provide additional backup. Now onto the pros and cons...
    Pros: Numerous features, useful zippered pockets, pit zips, adjustable sleeve closures, excellent hood adjustability, etc. Seems fairly sturdy and should last under reasonable wear and tear. Breathability seems quite good.
    Cons: Material is more of a hard shell and slightly crinkly with a dull sheen. Since it doesn't stretch, getting the right fit is key and may be problematic for some. The fit across the back seems a bit tight. I'm 6' 170lbs and moderately athletic. I usually wear a large but I took a gamble on an XL for this jacket and it's close to the fit I prefer. It allows me to layer and gives me some room without making it appear as if I'm swimming in the jacket.
    One disappointment: the jacket arrived from STP in extremely wrinkled condition, as if it was sitting on the bottom of a heavy pile for a long time. It's so bad I'm questioning whether I can ever get some of the wrinkles out without repeated wash and iron cycles. Yes, I could exchange or return the jacket but I'm opting to give it some time instead.
  • Reviewed by danniel from china on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    the color is bright
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 53 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.