Mountain Hardwear Ampato Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. The ultra-breathable Mountain Hardwear Ampato jacket offers durable, waterproof protection on the trail thanks to a Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable membrane and fully seam-sealed construction.

Average Rating based on 58 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 58 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Canyonman from Montana on Friday, September 05, 2014
    I've only worn this jacket once, in a downpour in Montana's Beartooth Mountains. It performed beautifully, and I was surprised at the level of breathability. It was steamy, like all rainwear, but far less so than other jackets I've had. I'm a gearhead and have owned many, but this is my new favorite. This jacket bridges the gap between a heavy alpine hardshell and lightweight packable rainwear. It's a versatile compromise. The fit is true and it layers nicely over lightweight fleece, but it might be snug over puffy jackets.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NH Sailor from Central New Hampshire on Thursday, August 21, 2014
    When i used this in torrential rains last week, the jacket was fantastic. It shed all the pounding rain, 4" in a 12 hour period, while I was picking up debris around the house. In spite of my activity level, this jacket breathes so well that it never got wet from body moisture. Previous Gore-Tex jackets haven't performed this well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Coltrex from Maryland on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    I've had this for about two weeks now, and so far so good. I wore it in some pretty heavy down pours on my way to work, and it kept me dry. The only complaint I can really think of (and the reason for the 4 stars) is that the jacket is a bit short at the waste. It pretty much comes to my belt line, maybe an inch below. I generally like rain jackets to come down to at least halfway down my butt... It's always nice to have a dry butt when you get through the rain and go to sit down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nigel from Mars on Thursday, August 07, 2014
    ??????????????,??????????
  • Reviewed by Lem of the Koots from British Columbia on Monday, August 04, 2014
    I have read multiple reviews from those in the 5'9" to 6'1" range weighing 200+ pounds with wide, athletic builds who were on the fence with getting the large and XL size in this jacket. I'm one of those people standing 5'10" and weighing around 205-210 pounds, wide across the back with a big chest. I can't stand jackets that are tight in the armpits and across the back during physical activities out doors and opted for the XL in this jacket. The ampato fits me really well across the back, in the shoulders and chest but it's a bit roomy in the torso and a touch long in the arms. However, not so roomy in the midriff and long in the arms that it's a deal breaker at all. This will be a true 4 season jacket for me and I will layer with it in the colder months. Ordering a jacket in the large would most likely prove to be a bit too tight across the back and armpits at my size. I think a 6 footer with an athletic build who weighs 200-215 pounds would find the XL to be really close to a perfect fit. Those of us who are a bit under six feet weighing 200 pounds or more usually find jackets in the XL size to be a bit long in the arms regardless. I always have for the most part and it's just the way it is when you aren't very tall. Anyways, I find this jacket to be very comfortable and it breathes well. It actually breathes unlike many Gortex offerings with the claim of breathability that is just a pipe dream and you sweat like mad while wearing one. I have been on bike rides in the rain and stayed dry , and it this jacket just works period. Looks good casual and it's very functional in the outdoors. Definitely up a level from other jackets priced in the 100-150$ range as far as comfort and performance/functionality goes. The sale price being offered on the Ampato makes it a no brainer imo, and I recommend it for sure.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Jim from Port Angeles on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    I bought it for my morning walks along the waterfront as a waterproof windbreaker, but it is so much more than that. The Dry Q Elite fabric is superior to anything else I have ever owned. Totally waterproof and total breathability too. The feel of the fabric is soft and it wears comfortably, not stiff like a regular 'rain jacket'. This jacket even has the armpit zippers for extra-strenuous activity. The brim on the hood means I don't have to wear a ball cap under the hood to keep the rain from running down onto my face, and the unique rear neck bungee adjustment makes for a perfect fit on the hood. The extra inch in sleeve length combined with the adjustable cuffs equates to ease of arm movement, especially comfortable for using trekking/snowshoe poles. The cuff adjustments are easy to use and feel comfortable even when snug. The warm fuzzy lined hand pockets were a must for me on my cold and wet morning walks. I ordered the size that was correct for my chest and hips, and because I have a large waist I was concerned about whether it would fit me comfortably. But there is ample room so that I can wear the fleece liner from my heavy winter parka under it, without it being too snug. I plan to use that combination for snowshoeing this next winter. I would have to say it is the best weather shell I have ever owned!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nobody from IA on Monday, June 09, 2014
    I have not had much call to use it yet, but it is what you would expect from MH @ a reasonable price from stp
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Darktrail40 from Where Ever I May Roam on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    I purchased this jacket to replace my black DryQ that was stolen. My new blue Ampato jacket has plenty of well-beingplaced pockets and has kept me dry under some very nasty conditions. This jacket is much lighter than traditional rain-proof outerwear. Buy this jacket if you like dry comfort with great looks. Keep your eyes on it though, or you may need to replace yours as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LIQINYU from CHINA on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    GOOD
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fs0500 from Oregon on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    The right size, good quality, beyond imagination
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 58 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.