Mountain Hardwear Ampato Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. The ultra-breathable Mountain Hardwear Ampato jacket offers durable, waterproof protection on the trail thanks to a Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable membrane and fully seam-sealed construction.

Average Rating based on 47 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 47 reviews
  • Reviewed by Qfalcata from Durham NC on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    Comfortable fit with just the right roominess for layering, very nicely put together, lightweight for a three layer, thoughtful features. Still needs a walk in a toad-strangler to test water resistance plus a serious workout in warm weather to test breathability but so far lovin' the fabric. Lack of a two way zipper would have been a bigger problem if the jacket had been an inch longer. As it is, this a keeper.
  • Reviewed by George from NY on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    So far, I'm very pleased with this jacket and it should prove to be a very versatile 3 season shell. Breathability seems quite good plus pit zips provide additional backup. Now onto the pros and cons...
    Pros: Numerous features, useful zippered pockets, pit zips, adjustable sleeve closures, excellent hood adjustability, etc. Seems fairly sturdy and should last under reasonable wear and tear. Breathability seems quite good.
    Cons: Material is more of a hard shell and slightly crinkly with a dull sheen. Since it doesn't stretch, getting the right fit is key and may be problematic for some. The fit across the back seems a bit tight. I'm 6' 170lbs and moderately athletic. I usually wear a large but I took a gamble on an XL for this jacket and it's close to the fit I prefer. It allows me to layer and gives me some room without making it appear as if I'm swimming in the jacket.
    One disappointment: the jacket arrived from STP in extremely wrinkled condition, as if it was sitting on the bottom of a heavy pile for a long time. It's so bad I'm questioning whether I can ever get some of the wrinkles out without repeated wash and iron cycles. Yes, I could exchange or return the jacket but I'm opting to give it some time instead.
  • Reviewed by danniel from china on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    the color is bright
  • Reviewed by OutsidePanda from Connecticut on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Each day I walk 1 mile to the train-hour ride on the train-1 1/2 mile to work from train. I wear ski/hiking clothes to work, then shower and change into shirt and tie at work.

    I needed a jacket that would keep me warm but be 100% breathable! I was getting to the train covered in sweat wearing my insulated parkas/ski jackets.

    When I layer this with a base and mid-layer, I would say I am not as toasty warn (been 9-18 degrees here in Connecticut) but I do not sweat-PERIOD!

    I would say this is a cross between a lite shell and a raincoat, there is a net lining and the jacket is wind and waterproof and very light, I plan on using this backpacking in the summer instead of my rain jacket.

    I have to say-I am a 5'11" 230 lbs bodybuilder (rare to find outdoor gear that fits) and the XXL is awesome. I actually went a tried this on in the store before ordering from STP. I have large arms and shoulders and kept ripping the armpits of other brands but the MH has an awesome cut.

    I would say that this jacket would handle anything except for the harshest-below zero mountaineering conditions but for all other purposes I would highly recommend!
  • Reviewed by D5000 from MA on Friday, January 17, 2014
    This is the best shell I've ever owned, I love the DryQ membrane. I've owned goretex and hyvent jackets in the past and this beats them all so far. So far I've up this jacket through a few winter downpours and not only was I dry on the inside, it was dry outside with a good shake the water beaded right off. I have yet to put it through any peaks but I trust it will do just fine. I wear it with a down jacket underneath and have been toasty down to 20deg so far with nothing else but a t shirt but it feels breathable enough to wear in the summer too. Fits a bit large though, I'm 6'2, thin build and usually the lg is too short in the back and sleeves but after receiving the coat I feel like I could've gotten away with the large and still had room to layer, whatever I like it too much to send it back.
  • Reviewed by Arne from Syracuse, NY on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    Excellent jacket with nice features. Vents better than my Helly-Hansen or Marmot.
  • Reviewed by Greg from Maine on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    Jacket seems well made. Has full inner liner, so is a bit heavy for packing/hiking. Zippers with flap but not water resistant design.
    Size seemed ok - 5'11" and 185, got XL and had room for mid weight puffy coat under.
    Did not test outside in any way.
    Color Otter might be better called Sloth - dark moss green, not brown - returned as a result.
  • Reviewed by Greg from Maine on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    Jacket seems well made. Has full inner liner, so is a bit heavy for packing/hiking. Zippers with flap but not water resistant design.
    Size seemed ok - 5'11" and 185, got XL and had room for mid weight puffy coat under.
    Did not test outside in any way.
    Color Otter might be better called Sloth - dark moss green, not brown - returned as a result.
  • Reviewed by Tbow from Oregon on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    Great jacket that fits well--I am 6'1" --about 180 lbs--the large fits perfect with room for a fleece under it--very waterproof and breathable --excellent price.
  • Reviewed by Running Man from Alabama on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    I can only rate according to quality and fit since I have not used jacket yet hiking or outdoors. I am 5'10''. weight 150 and purchased med so as to have some room for layering. Jackets fits nicely with just tee shirt and I also tried it on with sweat shirt. Sleeves only slightly long but adjustable cuff takes care of that. Packs nearly as small as my old Red Ledge. Looking forward to trying on trail or on a canoe trip. This was a Christmas gift to myself.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 47 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.