Mountain Hardwear Archer 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Boasting vertical sidewalls and a unique shape, Mountain Hardwear's Archer 2 tent combines lightweight, durable construction, a spacious interior and easy access with two side doors.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Reviewed by hayrikki from NorCal on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    This tent was impossible for me to set up. The instructions were pictures of poor quality. I tried to figure it out but with no success. It has several poles, not the 3 I thought it had.I wanted to keep this but had to return. The poles were good quality as well as the tent fabric and fly. I did not call the manufacture so no knowledge of their customer service. STP was great with the return though!!
  • Reviewed by Just a beginner from Minnesota on Tuesday, January 06, 2015
    Tent was delivered quickly even though there was no real rush for me to get it. I live in Minnesota and won't be doing any backpacking anytime real soon. I put the tent up in my living room to make sure everything was there and nothing was broken. Was not disappointed everything arrived in great condition and it took me about 10 minutes to put the tent up. I am not great at putting tents up so the setup up is really easy and will probably take about 5 minutes the next time I set it up. It is also nice because it has reflective markers to guide you through a night setup which will come in handy on a kayak trip I plan to take this summer and arriving at camp after dark on occasion. Does not come with a footprint but I just purchased a tarp that is much cheaper (about $5) probably more durable than most footprints. Will have to do some modifications to have it fit the tent properly but that should not be too difficult. Can't wait to use it this summer! Get this tent, it is a great price with the extra % off Sierra offers on a regular basis.
  • Reviewed by Terry from Virginia on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    I shopped REALLY hard for a backpacking tent that would suit my needs, and am so happy to have found this. My research included extensive reading of gear guides, product reviews and hiker trail journals as well as multiple trips to REI and Dick's. My requirements: Lightweight, freestanding, sturdy, the roomier end of 2 person sizing, easy to pitch, well ventilated, plenty of options for hanging gear inside, making room for gear via the fly, and having a 'quick pitch' option.
    This has it all. It took me around 20 min to figure out how to get it up the first time, but after that it's a job that doesn't even take 5 min. The design is really clever- no threading poles or fighting with it to get it up. All the zippers and stitching look good, as do the stakes, which come with pre tied line. I love that it has 2 doors, loops inside for a little light or bag, and a huge mesh pocket. It took me some effort to track down a footprint, but I found a Tyvek one specifically made for this tent.
    I have not had any terrible weather yet, but feel confident this would hold up- it's designed so that there's a lot of points to securely stake/guy it. I would even go so far as saying that this is a three and a half season, mainly because the fly is pretty substantial. I am surprised this tent is not better known, I feel like I stumbled onto one of the best kept secrets out there. For the price I got I almost wish I had bought two.
    I will say this: my partner and I are not large people, and we travel with one big pack each- we are not ultralight, but we are getting close, as far as most of what we carry. With the two of us and our gear, we will be fairly tight in here. Comfy, but tight- so what I am saying is do not be a 6'+ guy with your wife or friend and a ton of stuff and expect to fit it all in here easily. You won't.
    That said- the price vs quality vs weight vs space balance that we all try to achieve is pretty darned good with this tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Reel Ventures On the Fly from California on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    This tent sets up nicely and has plenty of room for two people. You do need to buy or make a footprint, the tub looks a little weak.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LeaFaith from Virginia on Sunday, August 17, 2014
    We used this tent 3 nights so far in Virginia summer, 50 F at night. This 2 person tent does fit my 6'6" husband and myself with room for a packs and boots in the vestibule. We would be dry in the blowing rain. I made a Tyvec ground cloth to just fit under the tent and 2 triangles for under the vestibules. We had some condensation on the inside of the fly and where our feet touched at the end our sleeping bags got a little damp. We should have scooted up, because we had ample room above our heads. The fly fits close to the ground so it can be stuffy if you don't have the flap open a little on a cool summer night. It packs small and is nice and light, which we like. First time assembly is tricky, but after that it went up in less than 5 minutes. I don't know if I could put it up quickly in the dark. Overall we like it.
  • Reviewed by Will from Colorado on Saturday, August 02, 2014
    Just bought this tent and used it for the first time last weekend. It is a great buy! Very sturdy and easy to set up. There is plenty of room inside and a good amount of storage space. I am looking forward to taking it backpacking up here in Colorado next week!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Xexela from Some mountain on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    I'm 6'4 and I fit just right length wise. It's me and 2 dogs, definitely could fit 2 people with ease. A NE storm tested the water resistance, all went well. Very easy to set up, took me 5 minutes the first time, look forward to many years in this tent, hope it holds up!
  • Reviewed by Kelvin from Indiana on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    Tent worked great. Held up perfectly when the 330 am rain came, and was able to put the fly on in no time. Great product!
  • Reviewed by Todd from Missouri on Saturday, May 04, 2013
    2nd mtn hardwear tent. I went on a 1 night backpacking trip and this tent fulfilled all requirements. Easy set up. Love to the 2 doors. Highly recommend this product for backpacking. Car camping I use my 3 man mtn hardwear tent.
  • Reviewed by hugethorn from California on Friday, March 08, 2013
    I am an experienced backpacker and I try to buy high quality gear that lasts a long time. (i got 15 years out of my last backpacking tent!)
    So when it was time to pick up a new one, i was concerned about quality, especially the areas of wear like corners and guides.
    Out of the box, this thing was a little baffling. The instructions are like pictographs from an ancient culture, but my wife and i muddled through pitching it for the first time in about 25 minutes. A clever, modern pole and connection system. Seems very rigid for the few poles. Interior height is nice, as are the vertical walls and 2 opposing doors.
    Deconstructed it and pitched it again. 2nd time took under 3 minutes, solo, and I could probably even speed that up....awesome!
    The floor seems very thin but it's all about trimming weight. There are gussets and extra stitching anywhere it matters. I strongly recommend picking up the "footprint' ground cloth to protect the bottom and make better use of the rain fly vestibules (2 - one at each door!)
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.