Mountain Hardwear Archer 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Boasting vertical sidewalls and a unique shape, Mountain Hardwear's Archer 2 tent combines lightweight, durable construction, a spacious interior and easy access with two side doors.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Reel Ventures On the Fly from California on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    This tent sets up nicely and has plenty of room for two people. You do need to buy or make a footprint, the tub looks a little weak.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LeaFaith from Virginia on Sunday, August 17, 2014
    We used this tent 3 nights so far in Virginia summer, 50 F at night. This 2 person tent does fit my 6'6" husband and myself with room for a packs and boots in the vestibule. We would be dry in the blowing rain. I made a Tyvec ground cloth to just fit under the tent and 2 triangles for under the vestibules. We had some condensation on the inside of the fly and where our feet touched at the end our sleeping bags got a little damp. We should have scooted up, because we had ample room above our heads. The fly fits close to the ground so it can be stuffy if you don't have the flap open a little on a cool summer night. It packs small and is nice and light, which we like. First time assembly is tricky, but after that it went up in less than 5 minutes. I don't know if I could put it up quickly in the dark. Overall we like it.
  • Reviewed by Will from Colorado on Saturday, August 2, 2014
    Just bought this tent and used it for the first time last weekend. It is a great buy! Very sturdy and easy to set up. There is plenty of room inside and a good amount of storage space. I am looking forward to taking it backpacking up here in Colorado next week!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mothy from Some mountain on Thursday, June 5, 2014
    I'm 6'4 and I fit just right length wise. It's me and 2 dogs, definitely could fit 2 people with ease. A NE storm tested the water resistance, all went well. Very easy to set up, took me 5 minutes the first time, look forward to many years in this tent, hope it holds up!
  • Reviewed by Kelvin from Indiana on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    Tent worked great. Held up perfectly when the 330 am rain came, and was able to put the fly on in no time. Great product!
  • Reviewed by Todd from Missouri on Saturday, May 4, 2013
    2nd mtn hardwear tent. I went on a 1 night backpacking trip and this tent fulfilled all requirements. Easy set up. Love to the 2 doors. Highly recommend this product for backpacking. Car camping I use my 3 man mtn hardwear tent.
  • Reviewed by hugethorn from California on Friday, March 8, 2013
    I am an experienced backpacker and I try to buy high quality gear that lasts a long time. (i got 15 years out of my last backpacking tent!)
    So when it was time to pick up a new one, i was concerned about quality, especially the areas of wear like corners and guides.
    Out of the box, this thing was a little baffling. The instructions are like pictographs from an ancient culture, but my wife and i muddled through pitching it for the first time in about 25 minutes. A clever, modern pole and connection system. Seems very rigid for the few poles. Interior height is nice, as are the vertical walls and 2 opposing doors.
    Deconstructed it and pitched it again. 2nd time took under 3 minutes, solo, and I could probably even speed that up....awesome!
    The floor seems very thin but it's all about trimming weight. There are gussets and extra stitching anywhere it matters. I strongly recommend picking up the "footprint' ground cloth to protect the bottom and make better use of the rain fly vestibules (2 - one at each door!)
  • Reviewed by The Backpack Maniac from New Hampshire on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    When I opened up the tent, the quality was obvious. No cheap, skinny tent stakes, the guy lines were pre-tied with tensioners, zippers glided easily, without snags and the pole anchors were the right combination of durability and size (for light weight). The tent fabric, especially in the fly, was all seam sealed. The bathtub floor was nice too as it kept the floor seams off the ground. "Guaranteed waterproof" is MH's claim, and I can see why.
    Set up was quick (less than 8 mins without directions, fly and stakes included)due to the hubbed poles and "Jakes foot" attachment system. There's plenty of room inside with a narrowing at the foot end for weight savings. Inside height was excellent and I could comfortably sit up anywhere within the first 2/3 of the length of the tent without touching the walls or ceiling. I could easily see 3 people sitting in this tent playing cards on a rainy day very comfortably. The full width pocket at the head end was a nice touch too.
    I only have 2 gripes. One, when breaking down the poles you have to play around with the hubs, bent sections and short sections to make them all the same relative length for packing. If you're not paying attention, you'll end up with 2 poles that are a foot longer than the rest and won't fit in the pole sack. Two, the description states that the tent comes with a footprint for a quick pitch option, and mine didn't. A quick call to STP customer service fixed that, though. This company's service is truly first class, just like the Archer 2.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kyriverman from ky on Thursday, January 3, 2013
    This is a great tent for backpacking,Its one of my top five!!!!!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.