Mountain Hardwear Asteria Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. The mountain gods will be smiling down in the most brutal of conditions when you equip Mountain Hardwear's Asteria Dry.Q Elite jacket. This alpine-ready shell features a Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable membrane that proactively regulates body temperature to prevent overheating.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by Montana Mom from Montana on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    This jacket was nothing less than what I expect from Mountain Hardwear. My husband has been wearing this brand for years and I was always more of a North Face person but when I needed a new ski jacket this year he told me to give them a try so I did. This jacket is a climbing jacket, so I returned it only because it did not have a snow skirt, something I over looked before ordering it. I bought another Mountain Hardwaear to replace it that is for skiing that I love. You will not be disappointed with this brand. I will by it many times over again...bye bye North Face for this mama.
  • Reviewed by Upstate skier from New York on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    The jacket never got soaked while I skied in the rain. All seams were dry with no leakage. I would highly recommend the jacket. I bought it a size larger than normal so I could wear several layers underneath.
  • Reviewed by Rainy RD from Oregon on Tuesday, June 11, 2013
    This jacket looks super cute, and the red color is fantastic. Unfortunately, the zipper is not functional. It's headed back to STP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tele skier and city dweller from Seattle on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    I love this jacket. I did extensive research looking for the ideal 3-layer gortex jacket that I could use on rainy days in Seattle and also for skiing. This jacket met all my technical needs and looks sharp! The fit is flattering for city use, but like all the jackets that I tried on this year, the form has gotten more fitted. I need something that I can wear over a down jacket or a soft shell. For that reason I opted for one size larger, which loses a little of the sleek profile, but will function better. I get compliments every time I wear this jacket and really love it.. The construction is durable and thoughtful. Pockets and pit-zips are well placed. The hood is large and adjustable and able to accommodate a helmet. The only feature I wish it had was a drawstring in the pockets. It can be adjusted at the neck and waist.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AA from NM on Tuesday, December 04, 2012
    Great features for a ski jacket, but fit is tight around the shoulders. i'm normally an XS and currently have an older Marmot XS jacket with the "angel wing" sleeves that are very comfortable. I returned this jacket because it wouldn't be comfortable for skiing. Zippers were a bit stiff, and never could get the zipper to unzip from the bottom.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skier from NE Tennessee on Monday, September 10, 2012
    returned the product
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Fabric A Bit Stiff, Zipper was hard to use
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lora from Washington, DC on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
    This is a great jacket and performed well mountaineering in the alps. No problem when you were working hard - world's better than any other kind of nylon waterproof jacket. The number of pockets make the jacket a versatile outer shell. I had no problems with the waist - it worked well with my climbing harness.

    However, the hood is very bulky when you don't have a helmet on and hard to stay in place. You need to sort of fold it up a bit. The sleeves were a bit but this was not a problem since the velcro straps at the wrists made it easy to fold and sleeves in place to fit. I am 5'4" and 135 lbs and I got the medium so that I could wear a down jacket underneath - with a small it would have been too tight. If I had not intended to layer for outdoor mountaineering, I would have gotten a small since I like my clothes to fit closely. However, the flattering cut makes it so that even if you have a larger size without layers, it still is not too bulky.
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sactown, Bay Area, and Back Down from CA on Friday, July 20, 2012
    I was looking for Mountain Hardware because I heard of their superior rain protection. This was the third MH rain jacket I bought. I had to return the other two for sizing issues. This one fit the best. I ordered a large so I could layer. I'm 5'7", 135 lbs, with a long torso. The jacket kept me warm and dry on my backpacking trip in Inland Alaska, in which we encountered strong winds and rain. The jacket is bulky when packed, but I guess that compensates for the fact that it is very warm. I get cold easily, but with the right layering, I think I can wear this jacket year round! The waterproof quality is the biggest positive for me in this jacket.

    The cons are that (besides being bulky in the pack) it's aesthetic wear is not too versatile. It really looks like a hiking jacket, so it would stand out in a city when traveling. But then again, would you rather look good be dry?
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Pros: Dry, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Ruby Heron from Moab, UT on Wednesday, June 20, 2012
    This jacket is fantastic. It is super, super comfortable and while no hunters will miss me, I love the "Hot Rod" color -- a clear, vivid, salmony red -- like the flower Indian Paintbrush.

    Sizing: I'm 5'4, a bit short-waisted and curvy. I'm on the higher end of small on the MH size chart. I purchased a Medium. The back of this jacket falls 1.5" below my tush and the front about 6 inches below my hip points. The sleeves hit at my middle phalanx. There is plenty of room for a base layer and a Patagucci Nano Puff underneath while still allowing completely unrestricted movement. Even though sizing up is p.j.-comfy, the fit is still sassy and feminine.

    Details: The material is soft and relatively quiet, so you can enjoy birdsong or the silence of the backcountry. Zips are smooth and easy. It has lots of great pockets that don't add a lot of bulk. Without a helmet, the hood's adjustment system pulls everything in nicely: comfortably maintaining wide peripheral vision and still boasting a brim big enough to shed rain and block a bit of sun/glare. When you look up, the hood moves with you, like a ball cap, rather than allowing the head to slide around inside the fabric, cutting off your view.

    Performance: No comment yet. I have purchased this jacket to replace a 10-year old Gore-Tex XCR jacket in which I am ALWAYS a bit damp. About to field test this in AK above the Circle. Fingers crossed. Stay tuned.
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Beautifully made, Comfortable, Good Cut, Great color, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mack from Santa Fe, NM on Thursday, February 16, 2012
    So far this has been a great jacket for snowboarding. With the right layers it is nice and toasty. I also get lot of comments on the style. I Love Mountain Hardwear!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.