Mountain Hardwear B’Layman AirShield Elite Jacket - Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Designed for handling cold temperatures in the high alpine, Mountain Hardwear's B'Layman jacket has AirShield Elite fabric in the hood and shoulders to shed moisture, 200g Thermic Micro synthetic insulation and a generous cut for wearing over climbing gear.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Reviewed by John from Snoqualmie from Western Washington on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    I bought this jacket because it has the most insulation of any synthetic filled jacket of its kind. I wore it outside on a cold winter night (below 30 F) and I was not warm even though I was completely dry. I switched to a down jacket that weighs half as much and I was instantly much more comfortable. If I had been wet (which is why I was in the market for synthetic fill) I would have been freezing and miserable. I just bought a $600 Arcteryx Dually Belay Parka and it isn't particularly warm by itself. Did I mention that I get cold easily? This is my solution: I bought the next model down in the Arcteryx line called the "Solo" and I use that as an inner jacket and the dually as an outer jacket (both size large). They fit together very well, they keep me more than twice as warm as either jacket alone (they are, in fact, as warm as my heavy down parka). I have not tried this combo out with them saturated with water yet but that test is coming this week or next.
  • Reviewed by Nordie in CO from Colorado on Monday, March 10, 2014
    Well made! Synthetic is more practical for our teenaged son than down. Very warm and pockets help him keep track of hats, gloves, etc.
  • Reviewed by Eric from Northern MN on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    I am a 6'2" 200lbs guy with a 32" waist and 45" Chest. The XL is way too loose and roomy around the waist, and the shoulders are too tight. Jacket felt really warm and looked better than the pics. Absolutly loved the jacket just not the fit had same problem with the Columbia's. Marmot's XL Jackets fit great (waist) along with the Marker L Jackets Too (Shoulders)
  • Reviewed by Crowrunner from West Texas on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    I bought this to round out my warm weather closet... I did not have a good microfiber insulated coat. Like the description states, it is designed to be worn over climbing gear. I am about a size 40 chest and athletic... I bought the Medium and the coat has just enough room but not too much. I have worn this on two trips with temperatures around 20F and only had a wool base layer underneath... I stayed very toasty.
  • Reviewed by Tola from Vermont on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    This jacket is very warm for winter use and fits for its intended purpose. People, it is a "belay" jacket made to fit over the clothing you already have on. Lots of negative reviews on the fit being too big but unfortunately this is what happens when a technical piece of clothing with a semi-specific purpose is offered for sale to a predominantly non-technical clientele. It's not made to be a college/wear everyday casual jacket!
  • Reviewed by Melissa from Michigan on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    This is a light-weight, great winter coat that offers a lot of warmth. Fits true to size.
  • Reviewed by Banshee from juneau,ak on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    I purchased this jacket because I need something warmer than my patagonia nano puff. It also need to be synthetic because I live in a very humid, wet area that also happens to be a rain forest(juneau,ak) so it need to be able to hold warmth even when wet. This jacket fills the bill and then some. Coldest I have seen in it thus far is -10(0 with out wind chill) F. I remained toasty warm throught the day. It comes with a stuff sack to store it in which is a nice touch. It does run big but is not swimmingly huge, i got a large( 5'4" 200lbs), which makes it nice to fit over anything.
  • Reviewed by jimbo28 from ohio on Tuesday, April 2, 2013
    Even at STP great pricing of $185 this jacket is not worth it. It is normally $300. Save your money it is extremely light weight. There are much more substantial jackets out there for a way better price. Not sure how they justify the price of this one. YEs it is for climbers to wear over packs and helmets so if you are not in this category you will be very disappopinted by how it fits. If you are in this category you will be very disappointed with how cold this jacket is (very very little insulation)
  • Reviewed by Aaron B from New Hampshire on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    As it says in the description, this jacket is generously cut to fit over climbing equipment. As such, if you typically are a size, and you're not actually planning on wearing climbing gear under this jacket, you will want to order a size down. The end result of this is that you havea a jacket with a torso that fits well, but the arms may end up a little shorter than you might like. For me, I am typically an XL, but the XL's chest is cut like an XXL, with 4" or so of space. So I traded in for a L, and ended up with arms which are a little short (I'm 6'3"), not a deal breaker, as I have plenty of gloves which can seal over the cuffs on is jacket.

    The inside of the jacket feels similar to the exterior, so it's more comfortable when worn with a long sleeve shirt or some sort. It is, however, super warm, and ideal for protecting you from wind and cold, especially during periods of inactivity. I haven't had the chance to try it out doing anything active outside yet, but its supposed to be breathable.

    Overall, I like this jacket a lot, I just wish the arms were an inch longer or so in the L size, and like I said, unless you plan on actually using this for hiking (or just prefer a generous cut) you may want to consider ordering a size down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by courvegas from nashville,tn on Friday, January 4, 2013
    the material felt like I was wearing a big trash bag around my body. I wear a L in everything else MH, but this was just way too large for me. It did seem warm though, and I am exchanging this for another MH product.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.