Mountain Hardwear Beacon Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Rain and wind don't stand a chance against Mountain Hardwear's Beacon Dry.Q Elite jacket. The rugged 70 denier shell resists abrasion and blowing wind, and a Dry.Q Elite waterproofing system with water-tight zippers makes sure water never sees your inner layers.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by George from NY on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    This jacket is kind of a hybrid in the sense that it has the specs of a high end hard shell but the cut of an everyday multi-use rain shell. It doesn't have a helmet compatible hood with a large brim or pack compatible pockets or two way front zips and pit zips. but those aren't necessarily essential for everyday use. It's made of nice heavy duty fabric that seems pretty tough while still being very lightweight and not overly restrictive or noisy. With the right mid layer I'm expecting this will easily be a 3 season jacket that's superior to a thinner rain shell. It's looks and feels like a quality, high priced item. At the right STP discount, it's a steal especially compared to other hard/rain shells with similar or even lesser specs.

    There are a couple of things to note though: the cut doesn't seem to work for everybody - you should probably stay away from this item if you have longer arms or if you have fairly broad shoulders and a narrower waist. Sizing up or down on this particular item to adjust the fit probably won't work the way you expect. Also note that the pit zips are NOT welded like all the other external zips, however they do have outside storm flaps and they work very smoothly.
  • Reviewed by Brian in the wind and cold from Fargo, ND on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    I have had the jacket for about 2 week and have experienced -25f temps with -40f wind chill. Jacket has kept me warm and dry with lofty down underneath. The shoulder and sleeves are not quite big enough for a lofty down layer. The sleeves constrict the down. Also the shoulders and sleeves restrict your movement when you raise your arms.
  • Reviewed by John from ADK mountains. on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    Dry-Q Elite is very breathable and waterproof but this jacket has issues.

    1) The hood is too small. When I cinched it down too much of my face was exposed. The rain literally dripped into my ear at times!

    2) Because the outer fabric is made to be more porous it does not keep the DWR well so the jacket wets out quickly. Once the cuffs wet out the water wicks up the arms all the way to my elbow, due to the inner fabric, . Same thing happens with the hood. I even applied seem tape around the inside of the cuffs like the Gore-Tex jackets the Armed Forces use, but the water wicked right underneath the tape and up the arm.

    3) Breaking Point....................Inner fabric started peeling away from the membrane in numerous places.

    I had to return it.
  • Reviewed by Smokies by Storm from TN / NC on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    I got this jacket in the hopes of finding a jacket to really enjoy a good hike in the rain. I live in the Appalachians, so most often when you do this, you're either going to be soaked or you're going to get steamy and a jacket full of sweat with Goretex. This jacket has allowed me to really get out and enjoy a good hike without getting wet from the driving rain or my own sweat. I'm pretty impressed with the DryQ Elite; it's definitely a step above Goretex. Don't get me wrong; when it's 80 degrees with a high dew point and humidity level, nothing is going to save you from sweat and heat, but this jacket has been fantastic. I took it out for a 3-hour hike in a pretty solid, southern rain and came out dry and comfortable.

    It's not going to be perfect for wind, as the fabric breathes. You can't have it all. This will also be really nice for layering. But a fleece on underneath, and you've waterproof and warm.

    I'm 6-feet tall, 175 pounds, with a 32 inch waist, and a large fit me well. There's enough room for layering. I didn't have a problem with short sleaves that others mentioned. The hood will not fit over a helmet, I'm comfortable in saying, which means it's perfect for hiking or wearing without a helmet. I can't stand huge hoods, so I'm happy to report this to be the case.
  • Reviewed by BBirkeland from Salt Lake City on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    Love the fabric but was very disappointed in the fit. Snug in the shoulders and a very boxy mid section.
  • Reviewed by Kendall the Skier from Ashburn, VA on Sunday, March 31, 2013
    This jacket was excactly what I was looking for in a shell, thick 3 layer hardshell that was waterproof and totally windproof, well I didn't get to check the waterproofness, but the day it arrived in the mail we were having gusting cold winds and I tried it on and went outside and it was unbelievable, perfect, I thought this was the one, but it was two major problems; the sleeves are extremely short and it's very tight in the shoulder area, almost to the point of where it hurts, I ordered the large, I went to a local retailer and tried on the xl and it swallowed me. Mountain Hardwear needs to go back to the drawing board with this one, keep the quality and the style, but just extend the arms and shoulders just a hair. I'm 5'11" 200lbs average build, this jacket is designed for someone with a very small frame, if this is you buy it, the quality is excellent and this is true windproof, 25 degrees and 30mph winds and didn't feel a thing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wildman from NW Indiana on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    Took out last night in driving rain. Late January temps were in 60s in Chicago area. Nylon pants were wet through,as were my shoes and socks. My core was absolutely dry! My Northface jacket is always wet from sweat when taking a vigorous hike at 60 degrees. This jacket had no moisture inside and I had it sealed up w/pit zips closed. Great product. Ypu get what you pay for. Glad I put up the money for this!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim from Northeast Ohio on Saturday, January 26, 2013
    I'm 6' tall and 150 pounds and purchased the large. The fit was very good but not quite long enough. I have a mountain hardware compressor that I wear underneath and it is a bit longer (sticks out on the back slightly). Also has no inner cuffs at the sleeve. Seemed like a super well made and durable jacket though. I was going to use as waterproof layer for cold weather backpacking.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.