Mountain Hardwear Canyon Shorts - UPF 50 (For Men)

Closeouts. Fully featured for backpacking, Mountain Hardwear's Canyon shorts let you explore every nook and cranny of the canyon in lightweight, quick-drying nylon with ultimate UV protection and river-friendly mesh drainage panels in the pockets.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Reviewed by Terry from Colorado on Wednesday, July 17, 2013
    These are excellent, lightweight shorts. I've used this shorts for hiking 14ers, kayaking, climbing, and general use. They dry fast and are comfortable. I like the built-in belt so I don't have to worry about the fit in the waist. These are my favorite summer shorts.
  • Reviewed by Gen from Eagle, ID on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
    Stylish, comfortable
  • Reviewed by Johny Downs from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, July 02, 2013
    The canyon shorts are good for hiking because of the lightweight material and built in belt. It is an easy short to move around in with ample room. They also have plenty of leg room. They do have some downfalls for an all around short. The pockets are big in size but are hard to enter because they are made straight across at top. So if you are walking they fall right in the crease of your leg making it very hard to access. The zipperred pocket is great but a little small. I almost feel they could have made it bigger and made two of them and scrapped the hand pockets. Tge hand pockets are even bad for phones and items. I also thought they werr sized a little small. All my pants are 38 so i ordered large and had to reorder the xl.

    For hiking though they are great. Put your keys and phone in your pack and hike on.

    Overall great shorts. Just hope they change pockets a bit. Material and comfort are great.
  • Reviewed by Coda the Dog runner from Brandon, Florida on Friday, March 01, 2013
    I have worn the various versions of this short for over 20 years. Whether I'm living in Arizona or Florida they always keep me dry. My only complaint with this version is the belt. When you wash this model, the belt tends to pull out of it's sheath. Rerouting the belt into the short takes some time and skill, but it's not that much of a problem as I own 5 pair of these shorts.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DW from Raleigh, NC on Monday, February 25, 2013
    Overall good shorts. The sizing is a little strange (I guess I am somewhere between a L and XL) since they don't make them by waist size, just overall size. But the built-in belt helps alleviate this problem. Super lightweight shorts, dry very quick. Perfect for casual wear, fishing, water sports, anything in the sun and/or heat.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DiverJim from Koror, Palau on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    Not happy with the fit. I normally take this size, but these shorts were much too tight, and my wife said they looked like a skirt.
    • Cons: Front Pockets Very Tight, Looked Like A Skirt, Poor Fit
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outdoor guy from tallahassee florida on Monday, September 24, 2012
    These are my new favorite outdoor shorts.
    • Cons: Front Pocket A Bit Awkwar
    • Pros: Accurate fit, Good Quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bananaslipper from Seattle, WA on Thursday, September 13, 2012
    My two issues:
    The front pockets and almost worthless for putting your hands into, unless you buy a size larger than you need. Not impressed.
    Also, these do not stretch, so doing a high step up a rock will cause some restriction. Again, maybe if you buy a size larger than your normal this isn't an issue.
    They do look nice and I will probably keep them, but not my favorite pair of MH shorts (the Talus shorts were the best, too bad they were discontinued.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Siu the NYer from NYC on Wednesday, September 12, 2012
    These are the best shorts ever. Five pockets, roomy, dries fast, belt, and packs well. Only drawback if there was one is they look like outdoor shorts and are not very formal ( if shorts can actually be formal)
    • Best Uses: Every day
    • Cons: Not As Dressy
    • Pros: Comfortable, Light Weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by beluga from USA on Monday, September 10, 2012
    I like the pants but they are too tight around the waist (and I am not exactly overweight). Have to return...
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.