Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Carillion Dry.Q® Elite Jacket - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Carillion jacket is made for chilly summit bids and backcountry adventures. The Dry.Q® Elite waterproof breathable membrane keeps you dry and prevents overheating, and 80g of lightweight, packable Thermic Micro insulation provides a touch of extra warmth.

Average Rating based on 24 reviews 4.583333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alan from New England on Monday, February 16, 2015
    I am 6 ft. 225 lbs. XL fit great with room to layer underneath. Great looking, warm, water resistant (not sure how waterproof yet). Great price. Great looking.
  • Reviewed by Z from montana on Monday, January 19, 2015
    I've had three of these jackets and all have had the same problem. The zipper wears quickly after minimal wear. Also the pocket zippers snap from the inside of the pocket. Loved the jacket as it is unbelievably warm and breathes better than anything I've owned. Fix the zipper issues and I'll be back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wetfoot from Washington on Monday, December 29, 2014
    OK, the snow and cold weather is finally here, so I can rate this jacket properly. I really like this jacket. It is warm, waterproof and it breaths. There are a few things potential buyers should know. First, the size runs large in my opinion. I am 6'1" 185 lbs shirt size 16 34-35 and I returned the large for a medium which fits me perfectly. Second, yet the jacket is crinkly sounding, but it is not that bad and it definitely is fading with time. Third, the zipper can be hard to start, but it has always worked, sometimes it just takes some doing. Those are the only complaints or issues that I have had, and they are not enough to make me regret my purchase or to give it less than a 5. This jacket is very versatile for living in the NW.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lucas from Minnesota on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    The jacket is warm, comfortable, stylish, and exactly what I was looking for. It is very lightweight, but still reasonably warm especially for a shell. It runs on the large side, which is great because I can fit a fleece comfortably under it when it gets really cold (I live in Minnesota). While I have not had the jacket for long, it appears to be very well made. The jacket is crinkly, especially when new. It really doesn't bother me at all though. It was exactly what it appears to be in the product description.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain McD from Tulsa on Friday, September 26, 2014
    This was actually the third Ski Jacket I ordered from Sierra Trading Post. I had to return the other two because they were not true to size. This Jacket looks and feels great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ATLHiker from Georgia on Monday, April 21, 2014
    I had no experience with Mountain Hardwear products before buying this coat (in black, which no longer seems to be available), but I'm now a BIG Mountain Hardwear fan.

    The Carillion has enough room in the body to wear it with a fleece layer, but remains well-fitting enough that it's not hugely baggy over just a shirt.

    I have worn this jacket in temps from the teens on up. DEFINITELY feels insulated when you're active. Nicely waterproof in light precip. (Haven't tested it in heavy precip.)

    As some say, this jacket does have a "crinkly" sound when new. That's either abated over time or I've stopped noticing it. In either case, it's been a non-issue.

    I ordered another insulated MH parka at the same time, and returned it when I concluded that the jacket's shorter length and lower bulk would work better for me in most applications. YMMV.

    I liked this jacket so much that I've bought an uninsulated MH Ampato jacket for warmer temps, as well as a bunch of MH hats, shirts, and gloves for myself and other family members.

  • Reviewed by Karen from Chicago on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    The coat was a gift. My friend said it is really comfy and good to wear in early spring.
  • Reviewed by John@Duluth from Duluth, MN on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    Full Disclosure: I am a Big Fan of Mountain Hardwear products. I bought this jacket as my Go-To outerwear for the wet/cold days that precede and follow winter in northern Minnesota...that's like Oct, Nov, Apr, May. Something for hiking, camping, watching track, soccer and cross-country events. Also as a jacket to keep in my kayak kit, in case I need to get warm. I'm 6'3, 205#, and have a 36' sleeve. When you take it out of the packaging, you will notice that the fabric has a crinklin/crunchy sort of sound. I guess that's the "Dry Q". It's not so noticable once you wear the jacket, and seems to be getting quieter with each use. I ordered the XL and it fits just fine, with room for a sweater/midweight fleece if necessary. The sleeves are just long enough (1st knuckle of my thumb): If I could change anything I would make them an inch longer. Drawcord at the hem is nice for keeping the warm air inside. Well-designed hood, adjusts to suit you and lies flat. I was amazed at how warm the jacket is, considering the lack of bulk; I have worn it over a long-sleeve capilene shirt in 20 degree wx, and been comfortable. Zipper looks under-powered, but it seals the jacket and keeps the rain out; I'm told that the little extra effort required to Zip-Up is what makes the seal, which seems like a fair-trade to me. I bought the Cherry Bomb/ Red because I want to be visible if needed. It's a good color and I've had folks compliment me on it. Other than adding an inch to the sleeve, the only other improvement I would ask is to get rid of the blue trim on the zippers and make it red. Then I could give it 5 Stars! But that's just my taste, and has nothing to do with the flawless function of this jacket.
  • Reviewed by Nicoleta from New York on Monday, March 10, 2014
    This jacket is a real gift for my brother- in- law and I have another one for me. First off all is waterproof-breathable for 100% weather protection without a sweaty, clammy interior and I am saying for those who are hiking without fear more than 5 hours on vertical limits ... .
    It has 80 grams of warm, lightweight and compressible thermic insulation.Revolutionary jacket and a a plus very good customer service skills from Sierra Trading Post Team. After I bought this jacket online I received a message from them that it was an error of inventory and practically this jacket it was no more available on size M and red color...disappoint moment !!! Finally after 1 week of waiting they send me this jacket for same price,shipping -$0.99, size and color . I was so happy !!Thank you Sierra!
    Nicoleta, New York
  • Reviewed by Cara the biker from Virginia on Monday, March 3, 2014
    I purchased two jackets for my son and husband to wear on an upcoming backpacking trip in Patagonia. Recently, they have worn them skiing in the 30Fs and commuting in cold rain. The jackets worked well for both conditions. They are both 6 feet tall. One is 185lb and one is 170 lbs. The large works well for both of them with plenty of room for layering. As the specs suggest, this jacket is light with just the right amount of fill to keep you warm in cold conditions. It might even be too warm to exert yourself above 25F. I bought the teal and the red, both colors are nice. I wish this jacket was at ST in a Woman's for me!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3