Mountain Hardwear Carillion Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Carillion jacket is made for chilly summit bids and backcountry adventures. The Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable membrane keeps you dry and prevents overheating, and 80g of lightweight, packable Thermic Micro insulation provides a touch of extra warmth.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JR from Georgia on Monday, April 21, 2014
    I had no experience with Mountain Hardwear products before buying this coat (in black, which no longer seems to be available), but I'm now a BIG Mountain Hardwear fan.

    The Carillion has enough room in the body to wear it with a fleece layer, but remains well-fitting enough that it's not hugely baggy over just a shirt.

    I have worn this jacket in temps from the teens on up. DEFINITELY feels insulated when you're active. Nicely waterproof in light precip. (Haven't tested it in heavy precip.)

    As some say, this jacket does have a "crinkly" sound when new. That's either abated over time or I've stopped noticing it. In either case, it's been a non-issue.

    I ordered another insulated MH parka at the same time, and returned it when I concluded that the jacket's shorter length and lower bulk would work better for me in most applications. YMMV.

    I liked this jacket so much that I've bought an uninsulated MH Ampato jacket for warmer temps, as well as a bunch of MH hats, shirts, and gloves for myself and other family members.

  • Reviewed by Karen from Chicago on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    The coat was a gift. My friend said it is really comfy and good to wear in early spring.
  • Reviewed by John@Duluth from Duluth, MN on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    Full Disclosure: I am a Big Fan of Mountain Hardwear products. I bought this jacket as my Go-To outerwear for the wet/cold days that precede and follow winter in northern Minnesota...that's like Oct, Nov, Apr, May. Something for hiking, camping, watching track, soccer and cross-country events. Also as a jacket to keep in my kayak kit, in case I need to get warm. I'm 6'3, 205#, and have a 36' sleeve. When you take it out of the packaging, you will notice that the fabric has a crinklin/crunchy sort of sound. I guess that's the "Dry Q". It's not so noticable once you wear the jacket, and seems to be getting quieter with each use. I ordered the XL and it fits just fine, with room for a sweater/midweight fleece if necessary. The sleeves are just long enough (1st knuckle of my thumb): If I could change anything I would make them an inch longer. Drawcord at the hem is nice for keeping the warm air inside. Well-designed hood, adjusts to suit you and lies flat. I was amazed at how warm the jacket is, considering the lack of bulk; I have worn it over a long-sleeve capilene shirt in 20 degree wx, and been comfortable. Zipper looks under-powered, but it seals the jacket and keeps the rain out; I'm told that the little extra effort required to Zip-Up is what makes the seal, which seems like a fair-trade to me. I bought the Cherry Bomb/ Red because I want to be visible if needed. It's a good color and I've had folks compliment me on it. Other than adding an inch to the sleeve, the only other improvement I would ask is to get rid of the blue trim on the zippers and make it red. Then I could give it 5 Stars! But that's just my taste, and has nothing to do with the flawless function of this jacket.
  • Reviewed by Nicoleta from New York on Monday, March 10, 2014
    This jacket is a real gift for my brother- in- law and I have another one for me. First off all is waterproof-breathable for 100% weather protection without a sweaty, clammy interior and I am saying for those who are hiking without fear more than 5 hours on vertical limits ... .
    It has 80 grams of warm, lightweight and compressible thermic insulation.Revolutionary jacket and a a plus very good customer service skills from Sierra Trading Post Team. After I bought this jacket online I received a message from them that it was an error of inventory and practically this jacket it was no more available on size M and red color...disappoint moment !!! Finally after 1 week of waiting they send me this jacket for same price,shipping -$0.99, size and color . I was so happy !!Thank you Sierra!
    Nicoleta, New York
  • Reviewed by globe treker from Virginia on Monday, March 03, 2014
    I purchased two jackets for my son and husband to wear on an upcoming backpacking trip in Patagonia. Recently, they have worn them skiing in the 30Fs and commuting in cold rain. The jackets worked well for both conditions. They are both 6 feet tall. One is 185lb and one is 170 lbs. The large works well for both of them with plenty of room for layering. As the specs suggest, this jacket is light with just the right amount of fill to keep you warm in cold conditions. It might even be too warm to exert yourself above 25F. I bought the teal and the red, both colors are nice. I wish this jacket was at ST in a Woman's for me!
  • Reviewed by Craig from Washington on Saturday, March 01, 2014
    I ordered a large and it fits well. I've worn it in both snow and rain and so far it has performed very well.
  • Reviewed by Outdoor gal from Ann Arbor, MI on Monday, February 24, 2014
    My husband loves this jacket. He wore it on a ski trip and it was perfect; he did not get too hot as he does with heavier jackets. For colder conditions he layers a fleece underneath it. It is lightweight and very comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Centexan from West of Austin, Texas on Monday, February 24, 2014
    I was surprised on many fronts. Its lighter, warmer and larger than expected. Looks like I got it at the end of the season but Ill still use it for the few early spring chilly (or is that chile) days in the texas hill country. Im not surprised by how much I like the jacket.
  • Reviewed by BMule from Eagle on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    This MH Jacket is extremely comfortable, and light, yet warm as heck!
    I bought an XL and it fit perfectly, and has withstood some serious snow shoveling
    and high mountain snow storms already.
  • Reviewed by E-man from Ohio on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    I really like this shell. Fits nice, a little bit of insulation is nice for winter. But the one issue I have is that the sleeves will not close tight on my wrists unless I have a lot of layers on. The hook and loop connecter is just too small. And, I have very large wrists, so I believe this is probably an issue for others. If the velcro was an inch longer, this jacket would be perfect.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.