Mountain Hardwear Chillwave Down Jacket - AirShield Core, 650 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. One reviewer wearing just a short sleeve T-shirt and Mountain Hardwear's Chillwave down jacket was toasty warm in blustery 20-degree weather. Just imagine what it could do for you on a serious backcountry expedition with proper base layers!

Average Rating based on 23 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 23 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jack from South Carolina on Monday, April 07, 2014
    I'm now a Senior Citizen, or that's what they tell me I am. However, I've had lots of experience with clothing for outdoor activities from hiking/backpacking the entire 2,168-mile Appalachian Trail to owning a part interest in a outdoor activities store. When I was the most active in my like, it was all about The North Face and in those days it was good equipment, but now the name is more of a fashion statement than quality outdoor gear. Number One, at least in my book, is Mountain Hardwear, and when I wear this jacket next winter, I can promise you that I will not be cold. It just reeks of quality. I'm also pleased to know that Mountain Hardwear gear is available at Sierra Trading Post. All this past winter, when walking my dog (a female Norwegian Buhund), I was only marginally warm. But that's now history...
  • Reviewed by Jack from Texas on Monday, February 24, 2014
    Great jacket, very warm. 5'8'', 130lb. Got M and fit well
  • Reviewed by Neighborly Neighbor from Chicago on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    This jacket arrived just in time for our below zero temperatures. It's great!
  • Reviewed by Purdue Professor from Indiana on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    It has been a cold winter in northern Indiana. I walk to work and have been wearing wool. I finally found a really good price at Sierra Trading Post on the Mountain Hardwear Chillwave Jacket and am soooo glad I did. Light and comfortable. The length is right. I wear a suit jacket to work and it fits comfortably over it.
  • Reviewed by run7 from Newark on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    I like it very much!
  • Reviewed by James from Texas on Friday, February 14, 2014
    Wonderful product. I like to go camping in the winter and needed a good jacket to get me through 20 degree days and this was it. Warm, roomy and detachable hood a nice feature. My only complaint is the size of the zipper pulls which are hard to open with gloves on.
  • Reviewed by LO Dad from California on Monday, February 10, 2014
    Great jacket and features. I felt it was a little too generally sized though. The torso had a lot off extra room. It seemed to be made for folks with a barrel chest or bigger waist. I returned it for an Outdoor Research Virtuoso jacket that seems to be more an athletic fit. Thanks for your great exchange policy STP!
  • Reviewed by Tom the runner from New York on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    I did extensive internet search for an excellent down jacket and Mountain Hardwear Chillwave Down jacket was rated by Outdoorgearlab.com as one of the best. Thanks to STP it was affordable. I am 5' 7", ~170 pounds and the Med size fits perfectly. There is enough room for base layers or dress shirt and sweater. The construction is superb, pockets are in the right place, hood is adjustable and it feels great. I have been using this in near zero polar vortex weather and it is very warm. There is no hint of cold even when it is pretty windy. In fact, I don't use the heat in my car except for initial warm up even though the outside temperature is sub zero. This is an extremely warm jacket even in bone chilling cold weather. In summary, outstanding product from Mountain Hardwear for the avid outdoors enthusiast.
  • Reviewed by James from Malaysia on Friday, February 07, 2014
    This jacket is good enough for the coldest weather. It is slightly heavier than most down jackets but only just so. It is not as bulging as it looks; and the sleeves are (contrary to the opinions of some reviewers here) of normal length. I am 5'9" and the medium size fits me perfectly, sleeves and all. The fleece-lined, tall and upright collar is an added boon.
  • Reviewed by awen from china on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
    He was very warm, I very like to wear it to go skiing.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 23 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.