Mountain Hardwear Chillwave Down Jacket - AirShield Core, 650 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. One reviewer wearing just a short sleeve T-shirt and Mountain Hardwear's Chillwave down jacket was toasty warm in blustery 20-degree weather. Just imagine what it could do for you on a serious backcountry expedition with proper base layers!

Average Rating based on 30 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 30 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BLCornelison from North Idaho on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    I have worn mine a few times now and it is definitely very warm. I can only use it when it is below freezing for sure. I like the hood and face shield on the hood. The wrist could be a little softer. They are a little irritating on bare skin. This is a serious back country cold weather jacket! Seems to be pretty water resistant and you cannot feel the wind through it at all.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Love the Outdoors from Maryland on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    Awesome MH product as usual. This is the warmest coat I own. I'm 6'-0" and 215lbs and the XL was very roomy, plenty of space for layers underneath (borderline too big).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 2hot from NYC on Thursday, January 22, 2015
    This is the WARMEST jacket I have owned and it is light. The fit is not very fashionable but all I care about is feeling TOASTY WARM wearing this jacket. The fit could be better though...(I am 205 lbs, 6ft fall and have an XL), the sleeves are good or even shorter but the fit is quite roomy. The hood has down too and very warm. Love this jacket when it gets cold and windy in NYC.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Backpacker from PA on Monday, January 19, 2015
    I was initially hesitant about buying the bright red color, but upon receipt, it was much less "obnoxious" than pictured, and I quite like it. Performance -wise, the Jacket is FANTASTIC! was 15 to 20 below, and it kept me warm and comfortable, with very little layering underneath, while still being comfortable riding in a vehicle. The outer material is obviously abrasive resistant, and all stress and zipper points are reinforced with heavy material. The construction is technically well thought out, and the assembly is top notch. I can't see ever having to buy another down jacket. Very pleased, and highly recommended.
    In reference to other reviews, I found it to be true to size to other Mountain Hardware items I've purchased in the past, it fit as expected.
  • Reviewed by Ray from Columbus, Ohio on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
    Thank you Sierra Trading!!! I am 6 ft / 280 pounds and the xxl fits great! This coat is very well made. super warm .light, and the price is terrific!!! I was so pleased that I bought 2 coats. This is one of the best deals/purchases that I have made in my life.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike the Teacher from North Carolina on Friday, August 29, 2014
    I ordered this jacket because of the reviews that were posted, everyone really was pleased with the Chillwave from Mountain Hardwear. This is probably my favorite Mountain Hardwear purchase ever and I have owned a lot of there gear over the last twenty years. The jacket does run a little larger than most of other clothing I have purchased from them. I ordered my usual and sent it back for a size smaller ( 6.0 ft -200lbs). I usually order an extra large and it swallowed me, with large I still had plenty of room. Customer service was great at Sierra, they had me fixed up in a couple days with the return.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pete from Tennessee on Monday, July 14, 2014
    This garment is well made, without any noticeable design weaknesses. Yes, 800 fill down is great, but the cost for that 'extra' loft over this coat is not reasonable, unless you are too wealthy to be out climbing or working in the outdoors in winter. I already had one of these for myself; this one is for my son, who is off to college in the North this year. This will be over-kill some of the time, but never lacking for warmth, no matter what the conditions.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jack from South Carolina on Monday, April 07, 2014
    I'm now a Senior Citizen, or that's what they tell me I am. However, I've had lots of experience with clothing for outdoor activities from hiking/backpacking the entire 2,168-mile Appalachian Trail to owning a part interest in a outdoor activities store. When I was the most active in my like, it was all about The North Face and in those days it was good equipment, but now the name is more of a fashion statement than quality outdoor gear. Number One, at least in my book, is Mountain Hardwear, and when I wear this jacket next winter, I can promise you that I will not be cold. It just reeks of quality. I'm also pleased to know that Mountain Hardwear gear is available at Sierra Trading Post. All this past winter, when walking my dog (a female Norwegian Buhund), I was only marginally warm. But that's now history...
  • Reviewed by Jack from Texas on Monday, February 24, 2014
    Great jacket, very warm. 5'8'', 130lb. Got M and fit well
  • Reviewed by Neighborly Neighbor from Chicago on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    This jacket arrived just in time for our below zero temperatures. It's great!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 30 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.