Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Chillwave Down Parka - AirShield Core, 650 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. Zip up the YKK® Vislon® zippers of Mountain Hardwear's Chillwave down parka, and you'll find yourself sporting your own heatwave in the middle of winter. 650 fill power goose down in a baffle construction with AirShield windproofing easily puts a stop to blustery backcountry cold weather.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews 4.363636 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Reviewed by CT Customer from connecticut on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    Great design and fits true to size. Wore them out in 15 degree weather and kept me incredibly warm.
  • Reviewed by mtoto1202 from Michigan on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    This jacket is warm, but for a 6'3''/175lb guy, the sleeves are 1-2'' short. Disappointing, but some long over-mittens should cover the gap.
  • Reviewed by Steve Feuerstein from Bronx, NY on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    Simple analysis: It's warm (with an elementary base layer it's more than comfortable in the 0-20 range - don't forget this model was previously called the Sub-Zero Jacket), it's well-constructed and durable, and an excellent go-to jacket when trekking or summiting and reliability and instant performance is required. I am 5"10, 165, with an athletic frame. Returned the medium for a large as the armpits were tight and was unable to layer. Highly satisfied.
  • Reviewed by birdman from Massachusetts on Monday, February 10, 2014
    bring on the cold!! it's been 15 deg in the northeast and I'm plenty warm without a sweater under this coat. I'm hoping for some sub-zero temps to put it to the "test". From past experience with down coats this one is a winner. I especially like the high, insulated collar and hood; don't really need a hat with the hood up.
    Buying this coat was a smart move.
  • Reviewed by Mark from Memphis from Memphis, TN on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    This parka is sized one size to small. The XXL size fits a person who normally wears an XL coat or jacket. The sleeves are a little short. I wear a 37 inch sleeve lenth. Overall the parka is well made and a great buy.
  • Reviewed by Polina from Oregon on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    I immediately fell in love with this jacket. Very warm. Weighs nothing, wear it with pleasure! To all I recommend!
  • Reviewed by rb from Chicago on Wednesday, February 5, 2014
    I was so happy to find this parka at Sierra Trading Post in the middle of this bitter cold winter! The price was great and shipping was fast. The jacket fits me very well as a larger person, although the collar is a little snug as others have commented, and the sleeves a little short -- but neither is a problem. It's nice that Mountain Hardwear doesn't skimp on the XXL sizing like many manufacturers do today. A great purchase!
  • Reviewed by Answergrape from Ohio on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    Lucky me, I needed a new parka and chose this one, my first down-lined parka. Good choice for the winter of 2013/14! Great lightweight insulated parka keeps you toasty warm, not too bulky, well designed. I found that the front hood flaps -- even with layers of neckwear -- will close at the bottom velcro grip and that is enough to provide a great neck protection while leaving enough room to breath through your neck gaiter at minus 20 degrees F with a stiff wind. I chose the parka, which is a few inches longer than the Chillwave down jacket. Only criticism -- could use an interior waist cinch to keep the drafty wind from getting up into the body. The bottom edge cinches don't really do it. But it's a small hindrance.
  • Reviewed by Big Al from COS, CO on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    Yeah. Great piece. Reinforced at the high wear areas ... shoulders, forearms, waist; add in a heavier duty zipper, seemingly overstuffed level of down, great location of pockets and lots of them... this thing is like a wearable and fitted sleeping bag; and at 650 fill it almost qualifies as such!

    Used to be the "Sub-zero" but a copyright issue made Mtn. Hardwear change the name to the Chillwave.

    New ones are 700fill down; I am not too certain I would want this to be warmer than it already is; and I am fond of the way the down in it does settle a little bit; that makes for a better fit, as in it makes the jacket move with the wearer as compared to fighting a giant poly-stuffed monster coat. Ewww! Poly! Yeah, Down.

    Finest kind, thanks again Mtn. Hardwear and STP.

  • Reviewed by Froggy from Northeast US on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    I am an all around outdoors person. I had several coats, jackets, fleece's and misc. layers for temperatures ranging from -20 to high 40's. All of these set-ups required multi layers. I wanted a parka that was for extreme cold without restricted movement. I've always been pleased with Mountain Hardwear's sizing, and at 6' 5" and 250 lbs, I needed a true 2XL Long. After comparing dozens of sizing charts, Mountain Hardwear was the only company that offered a large parka that didn't fit like an oversized bag. The fit is right through the chest, the length is well past my waist, the bottom of the parka sinched in to prevent snow and up draft, the sleeves are long, and past my wrist to prevent exposure to the wrist when gloved up for ascents, and high reaches, and the hood moves with your head, not like some that stay stiff causing you to be blinded by the hood when looking left or right. The neck has a full zip, padded collar, the hood zips on and off, and the zipper is well placed preventing rubbing on your neck, or damaging the parka, and the chin guard is large (3" - 4"), which adds additional warmth and wind blockage when velcro'd shut. It also stores into the hood in a small pocket on either side of the hood when not in use. The parka comes with a stow bag which compresses to about 5" x 5" x 10" when cinched shut. I'm guessing the parka weighs about 2 lbs contrary to the 4 lb shipping weight. I wear the coat comfortably up to the mid 30's. Above that, I start unzipping to allow air in. I also have a extremely high tolerance for cold and am generally in a t-shirt once the temperature is in the mid 40's. My one and only gripe, is that the main zipper is difficult to get initially started with gloves on. I haven't had one successful zip without taking my gloves off. Once hooked, 90% up or down is a piece of cake. All pocket zippers are easy to zip with gloves on.
    Worth the money. Mountain Hardwear's reputation is there for a reason. You get what you pay for.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3