Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Conduit® SL Bivy

Closeouts. Slip into Mountain Hardwear's Conduit® SL bivy when wet weather interrupts your outdoor sleep. The waterproof breathable fabric has fully taped seams and a drawcord hood that seals in warmth.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.111111 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by Montana from Michigan on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    I wanted to like this, but it was too small for me. I'm 5 foot 10 inches, 170 pounds. When I got in the bivy with my Neoair xtherm sleeping pad and my Kelty Cosmic 0 degree sleeping bag, the sleeping bag was too compressed. That's not the most high end sleeping bag, since it uses 550 fill down. If you had a high end 850 fill bag that took up less space, maybe you'd be fine. But it was too tight for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snowbridge from Bozeman, MT on Monday, January 7, 2013
    Tried this bivy out on a winter camping/mountaineering trip. First night was -10F in a tent. Bivy performed well adding warmth and saving my sleeping bag from a water bottle leak on the tent floor. Second night in a newly built quincy with fine layers of snow causing wet conditions in sleeping area, bivy performed well again. I remained dry from the inside and out=breathable+waterproof. Zippers are slightly sticky, but well-made. Packs well, less than a pound, a great asset for the price.
  • Reviewed by Andrea from AL on Sunday, October 21, 2012
    I picked this bivy up from STP in July for a multi-day trip in the Smokies. It's my first bivy so don't have much to compare it too but it kept me dry through a torrential downpour the first night. I went light and just had the bivy and an old rainfly, which sadly proved to have seen better days and was more of a showerhead than a rainfly. Water just beaded up on the bivy and rolled off. Nice!

    It's lightweight and seems rugged enough. I put my sleeping bag and matress inside and put it right on the ground. Have used it in the Smokies and on the Pinhoti trail now with no problem.

    It is a bit snug for me. It's a tight fit to get it over my women's size 14 butt but it's so light compared to a tent that I'm not complaining. And as another reviewer said, don't cover your face and breath in to it. It can't vent out that much moisture and you'll end up with a lot of condinsation on the inside of the bag.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Cons: Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Packs Small, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DrKeith from California on Monday, August 27, 2012
    I've been wanting a bivy for years now. Mountain Hardware has been a reputable and reliable manufacturer, and the price was excellent.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Packs Small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ???? from Juneau, AK on Sunday, August 5, 2012
    Reminds me of the original proto-type gore-tex bivy that was given to me by a Camp 7 rep in 1979. Simple and light and waterproof. All you need and nothing more.

    When that original finally fell apart, I started looking for a new bivy. Almost everything on the market is over designed and over engineered to the point of absurdity. This results in high prices and too much weight.

    Since I'm a cheapskate, and I'm lazy as well, this one sucked me in for a look.

    They over engineered this one too, but you can fix that with sharp scissors and seam glue, and a little time.

    This thing is three and a half ounces lighter if you cut out the ridiculous extra zipper on the inside, and is nicely waterproof if you then use Aqua-Seal to permanently seal the bottom 2/3 of the "waterproof" zipper.

    This bivy now lives in my pack as emercency gear, and will be (already has been) used as a minimal high camp for summer and fall trips with no sleeping bag.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking, Mountaineering
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by just me from Sandpoint Idaho on Thursday, May 10, 2012
    I like to feel a little more 'tucked in' - and not worry about being dew-damp in the am!!
    • Best Uses: A bit chilly, Damp conditions, Outdoors no tent, Rough terrain
    • Cons: A little extra noise
    • Pros: Add a little warmth, Keep the dew out, Protect your bag
  • Reviewed by buddhakan from Bridgeton, NJ on Monday, April 30, 2012
    The Mountain Hardwear Conduit SL Bivy is a well designed, breathable, waterproof, all weather shell for your sleeping bag (NOTE: The bag is breathable to an extent. It is designed to transfer the moisture given off by your BODY, not your mouth. You can typically exhale over a liter of water each night, therefore, resist the urge to burrow your face in the bag/bivy, otherwise you can wake up wet, not from the rain, but from the moisture of your own breathing.) The bivy is also designed to compliment most high end bags on the market. (It zips perfectly into both my North Face Cat's Meow Long as well as my Marmot Trestles Long.) The bivy's lightweight (14 oz) and packs down into about the size of a Nalgene Bottle (although I keep mine attached and just roll it up with my bag). All in all, a great 4 season bivy. Highly recommended.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Mountaineering
    • Pros: breathable, Lightweight 14 oz, Packs compactly, Waterproof, Zips into existing bag
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snow Walker from Australia (yes it does snow here) on Monday, March 26, 2012
    Having used these types of products regularly, I can see that there will be some moisture forming on the inside of the non-breathable sections of the bag (base), especially if you're like me and don't sleep on your back all night. My favourite Bivvy bag was a 100% breathable single membrane bag that didn't allow any moisture formation but alas, it's not made any more - manufacturers take note!
    • Best Uses: Igloo and snow cave, Protection for Down Bags, Wet weather sleeping out
    • Pros: A great price, Easy access, Light weight and compact
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ringo from San Jose, CA on Sunday, March 4, 2012
    Use bivy camping in dessert in winter... keeps frost off sleeping bag thus keeping it dry. Zipper hard to zip up all the way when inside sleeping bag but can be done. Small lightweight and well made.
    • Best Uses: Adds warmth, Camping in wet or cold
    • Cons: Some difficultly zipping
    • Pros: Drawstring closure face, Folds up small, Keeps rain out
  • Sort by: