Mountain Hardwear Desna Hooded Jacket - Polartec® Power Stretch® (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Desna hooded jacket combines the warmth of a fleece with the protection of a soft shell. Polartec® Power Stretch® HardFace fabric is wind- and abrasion resistant, and enhanced for performance with breathable stretch side panels and a low-profile, balaclava-style hood.

Average Rating based on 26 reviews 4.307692 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 26 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick from Oregon on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
    I like this dress. It suits me very well. A bit of regret is that the sleeve of this dress is a little bit longer. But for me, this dress is very nice and warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirt Merchant from East TN on Wednesday, January 13, 2016
    I had never seen this jacket in the real world, and was expecting the fit to be more like shown in the picture, more of a trim athletic fit, elastic at the waist and "power stretchy" on the top as the name and photos suggest. Conceptually, this thing is brilliant, looks killer and the materials are nice with quality features like warm zip pockets and thumb holes. Instead it wears as a rather sloppy full-zip hoodie. The sleeves much too long and the forearms too tight with the elastic at the wrist not tight enough, so you get tightly bunched up sleeves and the need to continually pull them up with the other hand. The waist hem elastic isn't tight either and there isn't a drawcord, so it hangs way down on your hips. A few little improvements by MHW R&D and this thing will be ready for prime time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Copper from Atlanta on Monday, December 7, 2015
    This hoodie looks a lot like a old school, traditional hoodie. So the fit is a little on the loose side. Comfortable but I wouldnt say technical fit. It is thinner, hard fleece. Warm and wind resistant. Great tall pockets. Great fall, everyday layer. Worth it for the good price at stc.
  • Reviewed by Seattleclick from PNW on Wednesday, August 5, 2015
    This is a very nice quality jacket but it runs a full size too large in my opinion. I am 5'11", 16" x 33-34" shirt size, 42R, 34" waist, and approximately 175-180 lbs. A medium fits me very nicely and the sleeves are tapered enough to where it doesn't look out of place not using the thumb holes. Since I purchased this during summer, I cannot comment regarding its warmth. Due to the outer hard-faced fleece, it will slide easily into a hard shell outer layer. However, I do not know if the jacket may be more susceptible to piling. Time will tell and I probably won't risk wearing a backpack with this as an outer layer. Anyway, the inner fleece is soft and if you find an acceptable color and size combination, I'd recommend it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John High Sierra Hiker from Northern Californiai on Tuesday, April 14, 2015
    The Desna is my new favorite hoody. It is warm and comfortable. Wind blows through the fabric, so you need a wind proof shell while wearing in cold windy weather. I am 6ft3in and weigh 230 lbs. I ordered the XXL Desna and it is not too large on me at all. Oh yeah, my favorite feature about this jacket is that it stretches when you are moving, so the range of motion permitted by this jacket is outstanding. For the $80.00 I paid at STP this is a good value.
  • Reviewed by jadesrochers from NY on Monday, March 23, 2015
    I wanted a jacket as a mountaineering over your base layer piece, which it seems to be designed for. This looked great, and as far as the body fit goes it is great. I am 5' 11.5" and 160-165 and this fit me extremely well in a medium. I like a tight fit for this sort of jacket and this was snug all around. The hood however was loose on me, and by that I mean was a better fit over my helmet than under it. That's a lots of play for such an otherwise tight jacket.

    I think it is a very good jacket overall; it has big pockets and nice material as well as good arm and thumb loops for someone with 35" arms. The hood was puzzling to me though; the rest of the jacket is so well fitted and but the hood was legitimately loose. If that's not a big deal to you, you will probably like it a lot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kevin the skier from Oregon on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    This was a beautiful midlayer that I was planning on using as a light jacket during cool days at home. Great feel and quality of material. However, the large (my usual size) was way too big for a midlayer, especially the hood and the medium was too tight across the chest, although it fit well everywhere else. Sadly, I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by Tim from Massachusetts on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    The jacket is very nice and for the discount price you really can't beat it. It's warm and makes a great mid layer or outer layer on a warmer day. I only gave it 3 stars because the jacket definitely runs big compared to other MH products that I own. I normally wear an XL in MH products. ( 5'11 215lb). I like the more fitted athletic look that my MH tech fleece jacket has on me. I got this one in an XL but probably should have returned it for a Large because the length and arms are quite long. The hood is also a little large if you planned on wearing it under a helmet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frederick outdoor man from New England on Saturday, February 21, 2015
    This is a great product to wear under winter coat in very cold condition. It fits nice to body and moves with body. The hood fits very nice around head to keep wind out. My bigger winter coat lets wind in around hood on sides but this jacket fits nice around head to keep wind out. Now I do not have to put on a lot of layers with this product. The jacket is light and not bulky but has fleece inside for warmth and a stretch fabric moves with you and holds closure to body. I have a lot of base layer stuff and I like this the most because light, not bulky and very good added warmth. I like the zip up front makes easy to take on and off plus can zip down if get to hot. I use the little top zip pocket to put Kleenex in for easy to reach when nose is running when temps below zero. When zip up the top of zip comes just below my lower lip and covers chin to keep wind off. This also is a great wind blocker for being thin. It has not been above 32 degrees since I have been wearing this jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ski Jim from Utah on Friday, February 13, 2015
    This is the second one I have owned. The first lasted for 4 years of daily wear, mountain climbing trips and ski tours. It is a great mid-layer in winter and top layer in the summer. It also doesn't seem to stink like many of these fabrics tend to do.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 26 reviews