Mountain Hardwear Desna Hooded Jacket - Polartec® Power Stretch® (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Desna hooded jacket combines the warmth of a fleece with the protection of a soft shell. Polartec® Power Stretch® HardFace fabric is wind- and abrasion resistant, and enhanced for performance with breathable stretch side panels and a low-profile, balaclava-style hood.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by Basjan from New York on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    I like MH ... a lot. But the products that seem to address the mass/popular market just doesn't sit well with me. This jacket is great in terms of fabric, but the fit is just too loose. More for a snowboarder?
  • Reviewed by Tim from Seattle on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Very warm and comfortable. The fit is athletic but the stretch panels allow it to be form fitting. I look forward to pairing with my shells for a great layering option. I am 5'9" and 150lbs, wearing small
  • Reviewed by James from New Hampshire on Friday, January 17, 2014
    This Desna fleece is exactly what I expected ( I tried a newer release at a local store).. It's super warm and comfortable. Perfect for mid 30's-40's temps.
    Got this version cuz it has the chest pocket (where I keep my phone), and it's very well made..
    Got it in XL, ( 6'2 1/2", 215 lbs., 34-35" sleeve), and it fits great...
    Again, a smokin deal from Sierra! Thank you!
  • Reviewed by PNW Climber from Washington State on Monday, December 09, 2013
    Note: this review is for the older, 2010 model jacket which has a slimmer fit and a balaclava style hood. I love this jacket! Slim fit, two way front zipper, thumb holes., nice pockets. I bought the orange/red color which I was concerned might be too bright but I really like it. Good for visibility in the mountains. Thumb holes are nice in that they lie flat and don't open up much when not in use. The main zipper goes all the way up to under your nose so in bad weather this will be awesome. This jacket repels water very well. The insulation value is a bit lower than I expected it to be. Not as warm as my Marmot Vars, but a much better fit. The Vars has a very baggy fit in the chest and belly, but tight on the arms and at the hem. The Vars also seems to soak up water on the outer surface rather than shed. I have not tried on the newer version of the Desna, but based on pictures I have seen, it looks more baggy and the zipper stops under the chin.
  • Reviewed by Patrick from Kentucky on Monday, November 25, 2013
    The Polartec stretch material works well. I like the long sleeves with thumb-slits. I have long arms and it still fits. The material does not seem anywhere near 99% windproof as I read somewhere. It seems perfect for some wind protection for cool-weather cycling, where perspiration needs to be balanced with ventilation. If you exercise and perspire while wearing this in cold, windy conditions, you would be advised to have a wind shell if you forsee periods of rest. I use it for running and biking from home, so don't worry about getting caught damp and unprotected from the wind. The hood and chin-guard seem to keep out 100% of drafts. No interior pockets. The front zipper is one-way, where a two-way would be appreciated, but is not a big deal. I have not used this in drizzle or rain yet and water seems to soak into the material rather than bead on the surface.
  • Reviewed by Rocky from Colorado on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    Though it wasn't intended to be, this has become my go to jacket for any aerobic activity I do (e.g. cycling, running, hiking). It certainly is not wind proof, however this is one of the reasons I use it so often. So much of my windproof/waterproof gear just doesn't cut it on wicking moisture away. This jacket does provide wind resistance but allows some wind to pass through to cool me down and help keep me dry.
  • Reviewed by Esprits4 from Glendale, CA on Monday, September 30, 2013
    The color bled excessively even on third handwash in cold water.
  • Reviewed by justanaveragejoe from northern minnesota on Monday, April 15, 2013
    First off - it's MOUNTAIN HARDWEAR! Fits well, comfortable non-binding fit, not bulky and I dig the thumb holes. I am using it as a mid-layer and it's working perfect. Our winter is going s little long here in Minnesnowta this year and this jacket has been perfect under my Mountain Hardwear Tech jacket. Wind-proof outer layer and light non-binding mid-layer of warth. Don't forget there's a hood on this jacket too. I'd definitely reccomend this jacket to any outdoor enthusiasts.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Heinz Alpen from Denver, Co on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    It's a great layer for colder days.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rainier guy from Seattle on Monday, February 25, 2013
    Runs snug. Use as a mid layer in the alpine. Not as wind resistant as I hoped, plan on using a shell over if exposed to moderate wind conditions.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.