Mountain Hardwear Direttissima 46 Climbing Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Direttissima 46 climbing backpack has the capacity and toughness to handle the demands of alpine climbers and backcountry skiers. A versatile design lets you remove the stays, framesheet and waistbelt to shave weight when needed.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.636363 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tony from Colorado on Monday, January 12, 2015
    I wanted to find one pack to eliminate my current multiple backpack dilemma, which was a 46L and a 33L. This pack does not disappoint!
    Mountain Hardwear has a great reputation for design and the Directtissima continues that tradition. I really like the ice axe pick attachment, very clean and takes ice tools or axes. The pack has hidden/retractable straps for exterior crampon attachment. The pack can be sinched down with attached compression straps, the top pouch can be removed and a storm flap used, and the padded waist strap can be easily removed and a thin webbing that is included can be used for lighter pursuits.

    The pack carries very well and is the most versatile pack that I have owned.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by eyebright the hiker from Colorado on Monday, January 12, 2015
    Nice pack, I am not an expert, but appears to be a great pack design.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tina from Seattle on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    Used mainly as a book bag, it holds up well to text books and anything else that can be stuffed in. Removed the waistbelt and the only wish is that there were mesh side pockets. Great overall look too!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by petersly from Oregon on Wednesday, August 27, 2014
    I have this pack in its previous incarnation in Large , medium and small. It has taken me across large parts of New Zealand and Tasmania. Its a very capable pack. I ordered the newest version {Size Large}and am even more impressed ! Many upgrades have happened that mimic Mountain Hardwear's BMG 105 pack. Namely the hip and waist belt is greatly improved and more supportive and the out side stash pocket is now truly outside the pack and accessible by zippers located outside the pack not on the inside. Thus allowing easier access to those items you choose to segregate from the main compartment. The top zippered lid and pouches remain pretty much the same, = GREAT !! The hydration sleeve works well also. This is a great all rounder of a pack whether you are peak bagging, backcountry skiing or going for a light and fast multi-day hike. This one lands at the top of my list of all the packs I have owned in 30 years of backcountry experience.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous from Virginia on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    I am not a climber, buy because of the advertisement: one bag solution from trailhead to summit.
  • Reviewed by Jon from Wyoming on Friday, June 6, 2014
    Never posted a review before but this pack deserves it. May even buy another one after I'm done posting this. As some said it could possiy use a redesign on the rear compression straps(which I think MH did on the new one and some gear loops or belt pockets) but overall one of my favorite pieces of gear. And definitely my favorite pack and I have a lot of them. This pack is way comfy, very adjustable in size, holds big loads well and the best feature is it's durability. I've only had it three months and been in canyons, down pour hikes in Hawaii and in major blizzards and actually tried to treat it poorly to see if it would hold up and it has really well. If you, like me sometimes become emotionally attached to some of your gear, this may very well become one of those items. Oh and I returned an arcteryx pack for this and am sooooo happy I did. Maybe that helps.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken the Pack Man from Montana/Utah on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    Buying a pack over the internet is risky. I recently had to return a pack as it did not hold up to the descriptions I read. So, I thought I would try once more. This time, it worked well. I read reviews of this pack on a few other sites and found that Mountain Hardware replaced this 46 L pack (just right) with a 50 L and and a 35 L pack (too big/too small). Except for size, those packs are pretty much the same as this 46 L pack. I bought it and it is as promised. Mountain Hardware is a very good company making very good products. This pack is well made with very good materials and stiching. It comes with loads of tie down straps and compression straps and places to put lots of stuff. I will use it for winter back country skiing and will have room for all my gear. What I really like about this pack is the options it comes with. The top lid can be removed and there is a flap on the body that lays over the spindrift collar and snaps down using the original lid buckle system. The internal frame can be removed but, the back padding of the pack is stiff enough to give the pack support. The highly padded hip belt can be removed and replaced with the additional 1.5-inch nylon strap hip belt. Good options, good material, well stiched and light weight but durable. What more could you want?
  • Reviewed by Dapper dresser from SF Bay on Tuesday, July 30, 2013
    I broke a compression buckle whilst playing with the brand new pack under a roof. They should have gone with something sturdier and hope it was a one-off vs a design issue. The fact that it broke while indoors with just finger compression makes me worry about the other buckles. Guess I will have to wait and see. The pack could also have used a side access zipper and gear loops on a sturdier hip belt for climbers
  • Reviewed by GoHike from Montana on Monday, March 25, 2013
    I just finished a month trip climbing in the Southwest (Red Rock Canyon, Zion, Indian Creek) and this bag was perfect to get rack/rope/camera/clothing/water/food to and from climbs. The pack is comfortable and has plenty of space. I'm 6'2" 155lbs and the large is perfect for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 1Nomadic1 from American Living on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    Absolutely ,No Question,This is the Best Rucksack I own!! I have 8 different BackPacks for various activities and this one replaces 5 of them. Super comfortable , design is well thought out and adaptable to numerous activities. I can't say enough good things about it...It is Outstanding! The designers of this one got it all perfect.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews