Mountain Hardwear Downtown Dry.Q® Core Down Coat - Waterproof, 650 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. You'll want to venture beyond the city sidewalks in Mountain Hardwear's Downtown down coat, which features a Dry.Q® Core waterproof breathable membrane and 650 fill power down insulation to keep you dry and warm in the worst weather.

Average Rating based on 85 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 9 »
  • 1-10 of 85 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The wife from Maryland on Monday, December 15, 2014
    Its not cheap but it looks like my husband will wear it will last for many years. Really like the conservative style and color which makes it wearable into the office.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by esvargot from Philadelphia Pa on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    Very lightweight, but very warm. Other reviews have said it's too boxy. I would describe it as roomy enough to wear something bulky under it - which I tend to do during the winter. But not so roomy that wind is blowing up inside. I am happy with the purchase.
    Two things: it could use more pockets. There are two waist pockets and one small chest pocket on the outside. I'm just used to more - if I have my hands in my pockets, I don't want anything else in there. Lastly, there are inner knit cuffs at the wrist. These are good at keeping cold/wind out, but if you have longer winter gloves, you have to do a bit of maneuvering. Not that big a deal, but I think outside velcro cinches are easier and allow more flexibility. Minor points, though - I'd still buy this coat, knowing what I know.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by biken guy from Michigan on Friday, December 12, 2014
    Have not had it in the rain or much below 32 degrees. To me, it does not feel like a 650 fill power, but I'm not a goose so probably not qualified on that. I did get it at a great price. It is a no frills parka with minimal pockets. But for the price I am good with that. So long as it keeps me warm at 0 degrees I will be happy. Won't know that until Jan probably. Fit is true to size, which means lots of layering (if needed) will make you feel bulky and stiff.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Christopher Feider from Muskego, Wisconsin on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    I did my online reviews and heard this coat is very warm, looks goods and most people are happy. So I bought one.

    I received the coat and wore it about 5 times in 0-20F temperatures. The first thing I noticed was cold spots on my shoulders and arms. I had no cold spots on the front or back sides of the coat. It appears by feeling the arm sections starting at the shoulder going down, that the amount of down is very slim in the baffles under the main shell. So I returned the coat thinking maybe this one coat had a defect. I went thru the online exchange process, received a credit and purchased the same coat. I received the second coat quickly, but to my disappointment, the second coat has the same problem!

    The coat retails for $265, I got a good discount from STP, but for a coat of this cost, I expected a better value.

    Otherwise, I like the coat very much. It has a very good hood, fleece lined pockets, zippers are good, draw string at waist, fits goods.

    Sierra Trading Post customer service worked with me just fine on the first return. The second one is going back tomorrow. I am looking for another good down winter coat.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fondue Mom from Stowe, Vermont on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    My husband loves this jacket. Perfect for our Vermont weather. We had to return to the first one we ordered—Mountain Hardwear tends to run large, and we had to order a size down from what he usually wears.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A from Chicago on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    Bought this coat for my husband and so far he really likes it. He has commented that it has kept him warm. The real warmth test will come in January and February.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BD from NE on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    for the price I paid, I am really pleased. I would give it 4.5 stars instead of 5 if I could, because the collar is a bit odd and not entirely to my liking. It's a combination of nylon and rib knit, meaning a couple of rib knit sections in between the nylon sections. I would prefer all nylon, like the outer shell, and then a fleece collar lining -- just like in the pockets. Still, a minor point...

    I'm 6'4" and slim; 36" sleeve, 42" chest, and 32" waist, and although the sleeves could stand to be even longer, they still fit well enough, and the waist drawstring snugs up the already fitted body.

    I had previously tried various coats, and most of them are just huge in the body and/or have sleeves big enough to serve as pant legs. This one is a keeper!
  • Reviewed by AlRap from Florida on Friday, November 28, 2014
    I haven't had a chance to wear this in real cold weather yet, but here's my observations on the fit, etc. I'm 6'3" and about 225 - the XL fit like a glove. HOWEVER, if you don't have long arms I don't recommend this coat, as the arms are quite long and there is no velcro adjustment on the sleeve as many parkas have. Just rib knit. Again, for me it fits perfectly, but you'd be rolling up the sleeves if you weren't tall. Honestly, this should be listed as an xl tall, which is the size I normally wear anyway. The waist drawstring is great - keeps it snug but not too tight - no drawstring on the bottom, which I'd have incorporated. This is the most comfortable parka I've tried that doesn't make you look like a giant marshmallow - movement is great in it. One other issue is that the throat is a bit tight when totally zipped up. Again, I don't mind, but some might.

    So, I'm giving it a strong 4 star - I'd do 4.5 if I could. Taking a star away for no drawstring on the bottom and the arm length not being mentioned in the description.


    As they advertise, this is more a city parka, not a serious hiking/outdoor one. If that's what you're looking for you can't go wrong with the STP prices.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PG from SE Michigan on Monday, November 24, 2014
    Have not had a down coat in many years but after last winter decided it was time. Have already had some chances to use it this fall with the big freeze. I wear XXL and the fit is excellent throughout unlike many others. The zippers work great and the coat has many nice features including the insulated hood. Very pleased with this purchase and I think you will be too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Philly commuter from Philly on Monday, November 24, 2014
    This is a great jacket by MH. It's pockets are fantastically warm and encompasses your fingers in soft fleece surrounded by clouds of downy clusters. The hood is insulated, which is great for when the windchill is in the single digits. I use this jacket on my bike commute in Philadelphia, and it works well.
    The fit is fluffy, but not overly so. The neck does zip up tight, so it is difficult to get a full zip with a hoody. Most of the time though you won't need a midlayer. The outside does collect lint easily and I'm skeptical of it's waterproofing in full rain or sleet. But then again, if it's over 38*, you probably don't want this jacket on anyway.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 9 »
  • 1-10 of 85 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.