Mountain Hardwear Drystein II Dry.Q® Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Intelligent design meets outstanding protection on Mountain Hardwear's Drystein II Dry.Q® Elite jacket. The premier Mountain Hardwear climbing jacket, this fully waterproof shell has a sleek silhouette and strategically positioned stretch panels to aid movement.

Average Rating based on 24 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 24 reviews
  • Reviewed by Sweaty from New York on Thursday, January 29, 2015
    First of all this is purpose built for "climbing", ok I get that. The quality of the materials and finish seem great. Material is pretty stiff but this usually softens over a bit of time. Main zipper is a bit tough to move up and down but is waterproof, and is a two way which is a great option. Stretch panels on the side that connect with the "harder" non stretch part of the front of the shell cause a bit of boxiness in the shape. Drawcords in the hem mitigate this somewhat but then leave you a bit balloon shaped, even a big guy like me felt like there was a bit too much room in the mid section vs. the shoulders. This is helpful for layering as you will need to do as this is uninsulated, but it just seems like the ratio is a bit off.

    Shoulder/armpit are while not exactly tight, are not exactly as roomy as you might want given the size of the jacket around the mid-section (I bought and tried on a 2xl which is the size I usually where in MH, I am 6'3" 275.) It is a good jacket, but I think the way they have programmed it, it is a bit too niche (strictly climbing) functional.

    How could they improve it? 1. Recco reflector, 2. Removable powder skirt with elastic (this coat has none) 3. Neoprene (or similar) thumbhole cuffs (thumbhole cuff use is typically user optional so climbers could opt out if it interferes, but skiers/backcountry folks would love them. Water resistant/proof Interior pocket for electronics (read iPhone - and make it big enough for the 6+) with an audio cable port. If they added those features this jacket would be head and shoulders above a crowded field (and I wouldn't have returned it.)

    Are you hearing me Mountain Hardwear?

    Good quality jacket, just missing some much needed features.

    STP service and shipping was fine.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jonny_temperance from Austin, TX on Friday, December 12, 2014
    Have had this for only a few weeks. so far, so good. Its a nice product. Agree that the Zipper is stiff hoping that doesn't become an issue as the years pile on. Great price as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by radiance in rain from oregon,washington,idaho,montana on Saturday, November 8, 2014
    this jacket is the bomb, roomy enough for layers, has ample stretch, breaths out the air making it almost chilly, zippers waterproof but easy to zip - as with most waterproof zippers u cross pull them...right arm left zipper ... duh. day after i got it took to the mtns for 6 hours in constant oregon rain it beaded like i just rain x ed my windshield, worked up a good sweat on the climb but the jacket really did breath, i might have to move to a med weight wool and adjust my layers as i use it because it offers very little warmth - because it's a dry shell that really works. colours are bright but visibility is a good thing. I thought the mtn hardwear stretch down jacket was killer, now i can wear it under this shell and not worry about it getting wet. down in idaho sure, but down in oregon luv it!
    even with the extra discount the coat was [...] expensive, I'm out daily so my day will never be ruined by rain - i got that going for me
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cosmo from Mass on Sunday, August 31, 2014
    I have looked at ten different shells before deciding to keep this jacket. It is the lightest and most comfortable shell I have found that has a high breathability rating and is comfortable. It doesn't have that hard shell feel although it is totally waterproof. Also, the inner surface is softer than other shells I have tried so it doesn't feel hard or clammy on my skin. The fit is relaxed although trim enough not be boxy-- a nice compromise. I love the design and the easy to use pockets on the outside as well as within to hold an iphone. Great jacket with all the discounts, great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AshevilleHippie from North Carolina on Monday, July 14, 2014
    Well, the jacket isn't cheap, and that's even after Sierra's exceptional discount. The fit is good, about par with other Mountain Hardwear jackets. I ordered a large and I'm 6ft to 6'1, weighing around 185-190 if that helps anyone. I could put a light sweater on under it, but haven't needed to yet. Seems to be a great jacket so far!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ramzi from oregon on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    while it is a great value, I'd look at this review that i could not agree more with:

    http://www.outdoorgearlab.com/Hardshell-Jacket-Reviews/Mountain-Hardwear-Drystein-II
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bud from New Jersey on Saturday, May 3, 2014
    The product is great! The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is that the zipper is difficult to engage and I'm afraid this may lead to early failure.
  • Reviewed by Lake boy from Western Washington on Saturday, March 8, 2014
    This is my first Dry Q Elite product and I find it to be far better than Gore Tex in the breathable department.
    Construction of the jacket is on par with a top of the line shell and looks like it will stand the test of time. The DWR finish sheds water very well .
    The fit is good for me as the large of other brands are too baggy this jacket has an athletic fit with enough room for a layer. The stretch zones make for a
    Good fit without binding. I've used this shell for a uphill scramble in NW downpour and alpine skiing and couldn't be happier.
    The zippers are very stiff as some reviews have stated.
  • Reviewed by HoyaTerp from Washington, DC on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    If you can get it for under $300.00, I would consider it. The shell performs well. It is light, very water proof and breathable. Although not insulated, it's water proofing and breathability helped keep me warm. It could have used a pocket along the sleeve and one more inside the shell. I like the fit (i.e., not too baggy). I am overall pleased with it.
  • Reviewed by theFIXXer from Atlanta on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    I'm 5'10, 170 lbs. I like to layer up. Even with layers, the L was huge and have to return. Zippers aren't as smooth as I expected. Quality of the jacket seems to be legit. Sharp looking in the black. Was buying it for hiking in wet, cold weather - jacket just oozes "ski only."
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 24 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.