Mountain Hardwear Drystein II Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Intelligent design meets outstanding protection on Mountain Hardwear's Drystein II Dry.Q Elite jacket. The premier Mountain Hardwear climbing jacket, this fully waterproof shell has a sleek silhouette and strategically positioned stretch panels to aid movement.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AshevilleHippie from North Carolina on Monday, July 14, 2014
    Well, the jacket isn't cheap, and that's even after Sierra's exceptional discount. The fit is good, about par with other Mountain Hardwear jackets. I ordered a large and I'm 6ft to 6'1, weighing around 185-190 if that helps anyone. I could put a light sweater on under it, but haven't needed to yet. Seems to be a great jacket so far!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ramzi from oregon on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    while it is a great value, I'd look at this review that i could not agree more with:

    http://www.outdoorgearlab.com/Hardshell-Jacket-Reviews/Mountain-Hardwear-Drystein-II
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bud from New Jersey on Saturday, May 03, 2014
    The product is great! The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is that the zipper is difficult to engage and I'm afraid this may lead to early failure.
  • Reviewed by Lake boy from Western Washington on Saturday, March 08, 2014
    This is my first Dry Q Elite product and I find it to be far better than Gore Tex in the breathable department.
    Construction of the jacket is on par with a top of the line shell and looks like it will stand the test of time. The DWR finish sheds water very well .
    The fit is good for me as the large of other brands are too baggy this jacket has an athletic fit with enough room for a layer. The stretch zones make for a
    Good fit without binding. I've used this shell for a uphill scramble in NW downpour and alpine skiing and couldn't be happier.
    The zippers are very stiff as some reviews have stated.
  • Reviewed by HoyaTerp from Washington, DC on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    If you can get it for under $300.00, I would consider it. The shell performs well. It is light, very water proof and breathable. Although not insulated, it's water proofing and breathability helped keep me warm. It could have used a pocket along the sleeve and one more inside the shell. I like the fit (i.e., not too baggy). I am overall pleased with it.
  • Reviewed by theFIXXer from Atlanta on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    I'm 5'10, 170 lbs. I like to layer up. Even with layers, the L was huge and have to return. Zippers aren't as smooth as I expected. Quality of the jacket seems to be legit. Sharp looking in the black. Was buying it for hiking in wet, cold weather - jacket just oozes "ski only."
  • Reviewed by Rocky Mountain Native from CO on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    This jacket will keep you dry. Tested it in downpours for hours. Hard shell is thin but pretty tough. Took it through plenty of hard wood limbs without an issue. Hood is large enough for a helmet but the two side and top drawstrings allow for a comfortable fit with just a hat. Hand pockets are deep and chest pockets allow for items the size of a wallet. Black jacket is decently stylish enough to not look out of place for day-to-day wear. Be aware this jacket is tighter through the chest and shoulders than other MH coats. If you are often between sizes and you plan on wearing more than a single mid weight base layer, go with the larger size. Pit zips are also hard to get to and are difficult to unzip. All the zippers have a smaller tooth than some other waterproof brands. If you will be going through sticker bushes or greenbriers I'd suggest a tougher hard shell. The retail of approx. $600 is not worth it. Other brands like Arcterx and Patagonia offer better products at the cost and have better warranties. Despite this, getting it over 50% off retail at STP makes it a good value. If you are looking for warmer weather light jacket that is water tight the Dry.Q Elite is tough to beat for the STP price.
  • Reviewed by Ephblum from Amherst, NY on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    As a top-of-the-product-line item, you expect this jacket to have most of the goodies of other brands' top line waterproof alpine shell-lightweight minimalist design, functional hood, deep pockets well-positioned to access with backpack or harness on, waterproof construction throughout with tiny seam tape, waterproof zippers with garages, etc. , etc. This jacket has all that so it fits the bill. I haven't really tested it out in an environment where I could compare breathability vs my Arc'teryx Beta LT (Gore Pro Shell-most recent shell purchase prior to this one) but it does seem noticeably lighter weight than the Beta LT-which is a big plus for this jacket as that one is already pretty lightweight. For me the jacket length is perfect, more around waist length (which is why I also have the Beta LT) vs parka length (mid-thigh) of other shells. Sleeve length is also good for me at 6'2" 180 lbs, 36" shirt sleeve, 46US suit jacket. The jacket is a bit roomier than I would have preferred (as a cyclist I have come to like a more fitted look), but not too much so, and it allows layering (which is to be expected I suppose in a jacket like this). Stretch panels in the right places and an overall soft feel are additional marks in this jacket's favor. One thing I do like about MHW is that they seem to do a good job making their jackets look good as well as function well, and I was happy to be able to get the black color with bright zipper trim in L. STP sale prices can't be beat for items like this jacket-in nice colors no less!
  • Reviewed by Dean in Tahoe from South Lake Tahoe on Sunday, November 17, 2013
    I Ordered this after reading all the reviews but when I received it found that it wasn't built for Tahoe. This is an excellent waterproof wind breaker and could be a great shell for the mountain snow if you never plan on falling, leaning on a tree, rubbing on a rock and heaven forbid you get tangled in some manzanita, all of which I plan on doing.
  • Reviewed by Dairy Vet from NY on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    The construction and features looked outstanding, however, as is often the case with MH the sizing is a bit contrived.

    I am 5' 11" and 175 lbs, and sometimes medium fits right, and sometimes the large size is necessary. The large I order was too roomy in the waist, and sleeve length, but fit well across the shoulders.

    Medium size is pending. The large was sent back.

    More to follow.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.