Mountain Hardwear Effusion Power Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Effusion Power jacket uses MicroClimate Zoning construction for runners seeking streamlined performance, wind protection and breathability.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Ephblum from Amherst, NY on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    Great fit for me in L at 6'2" 180 lbs normally 36W, 46 suit jacket. Is compressed a bit-which I like coming from wearing a lot of compressing cycling gear-so not a loose fitting jacket. Sleeves a plenty long enough with the stretch for me (normally 36 sleeve length shirt) and the thumbhole/hobo glove type cuff is a nice feature (cuff has thumbholes and fabric that you can flip over to make a full mitten if you forget gloves/get cold). There is one chest pocket that fits ID+cell phone well (fits mine and it's a Note 3). Very warm for the lightweight of the jacket, and it is stretchy enough to wear a vest or other layers underneath for me and still be comfortable. MHW has something on their hands with this material as the combo of the tights and jacket are working out great.
  • Reviewed by Bike Commuter from Boston on Monday, December 16, 2013
    I use this jacket to bike in cold weather, over a merino wool base layer when it is really cold. As it was when the left crankarm on my bike snapped and I went careening into a traffic lane, thankfully sans the traffic at the time. Skidding on my knee and elbow on the pavement a good ways, my elbow lost some skin, probably just from the burn. But looking at this jacket, you wouldn't know it. Nary a scuff. Must have saved me from a much nastier scrape. I loved this jacket before the incident. Now it's legendary in my book.
  • Reviewed by Slow but steady from Kansas on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    First time out in this, I was surprised at its warmth, considering how lightweight this jacket is. Second time out (about 15 degrees cooler, around upper 30s), I was quite pleased at how comfortable it was during my nighttime run. And I feel like I'm easily visible.

    The jacket is designed for someone who is athletic. I am not (5 11 with a 46inch chest), so I went with an XL. I'm glad I did because the arms are very tight, but the body is comfortable and long enough. I love how the sleeves have a "sleeve" that you can flip over and cover your hands. The neck has a tab that works perfect with my Curvyman headphone clip.
  • Reviewed by Hardman from Salt Lake City, Utah on Tuesday, July 30, 2013
    I bought this jacket for winter trail running and cross country skiing. It is well-built, and the fabric configuration (wind-resistance vis-a-vis heat release) perfectly accommodates high-intensity wintertime aerobic activities. Some of the features are, in my opinion, a bit strange. I think Mountain Hardwear was trial-ballooning some features on this jacket/model. The roll over gloves and protected front zipper would likely work for a lot of people, but are just overkill in my experience. But, if you are looking for a one-stop cold weather running jacket, this is unlikely to disappoint. I am 6'0 and 155 lbs. I wear a medium and this jacket fits TIGHT.
  • Reviewed by exartist from Massachusetts on Tuesday, June 04, 2013
    Very light weight jacket, but insulates well and provides great wind protection. With just a shirt under it, it's great for temperatures in the low 40's to mid 50's. Add a light wool sweater (e.g., a Smartwool) between this and the shirt and I'm fine down to the mid 20's.

    I purchased two but my size (in orange) is now sold out. I should have ordered more!
  • Reviewed by CBJ from TN on Monday, March 25, 2013
    Nice for running in the cold esp. when there is wind or a little rain. Jacket won't be completely waterproof in a downpour, but should be good enough in a drizzle. Very form fitting. Made just for aerobic activities in the cold, with the breathability in the back if you stop you will cool down fast.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rudy from Raleigh NC on Saturday, February 02, 2013
    Very light and surprisingly warm. Nice reflective accents. Snug fit which was okay for my biking and hiking. Very well made. I like Mt Hardware generally as a brand. I nice light high tech shell. Okay for light rain. It has nice built in hand warmers in the sleeves that tuck in :)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mrc45 from Scottsdale, AZ on Friday, January 25, 2013
    H: 6'0 tall, W: 166lbs (On the slim side). This jacket fits OK but is slightly tight in the shoulder / back area. Generally I feel I should be able to cross my arms in front of me w/out any restriction. There is some tightness w/this jacket but I still like it and use it regularly. The built in hand warmer/covers are a great addition. It does great when hiking on cooler days if layered w/a t-shirt. I just wish it had a hood maybe...
  • Reviewed by Will from Out for a run on Sunday, January 20, 2013
    This jacket is not meant for casual wear, or anything other than vigorous exercise outdoors in the cold. It is extremely breathable on the back and backs of the arms, and has wind-resistant panels on the chest, shoulders, and fronts of the arms. The sleeves are extremely long, and that's because they're designed to go down over your hands with the thumb loop and act like mittens.

    I am 5'10" 155lb and the medium fits me great. My arms are thin and the sleeves are not tight for me.

    This jacket is my go-to piece for running anywhere from high 40's with a tech T underneath down to the teens with a tech T and long sleeve top layered. You don't want to wear cotton underneath, and you really don't want to layer too much with this jacket... that's not what it's intended for. It really wouldn't be great for low intensity exercise such as hiking in the cold as it's too breathable on the back.

    This truly is one of my favorite and most useful pieces of running gear. Someone put a lot of thought into designing a jacket targeted very specifically towards runners, and did a great job.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sun lover from Lynchburg, VA on Friday, July 06, 2012
    Great product but definitely need to order this big.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Dries Quickly, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.