Mountain Hardwear Effusion Power Pullover - Soft Shell, Zip Neck (For Men)

Closeouts. The days of letting your long-distance runs be rained out are over. Mountain Hardwear's Effusion Power pullover protects you through less-than-perfect conditions with windproof fabric, body-mapped stretch panels and a water-shedding DWR finish.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by RockChalkJeff from Colorado on Monday, February 24, 2014
    Nice lightweight layer that cuts the wind chill noticeably. Love the freedom of movement in the shoulders and the fit (Large) is great for my 6 ft, 180 pound frame. I wish I would have gotten full zip as the body form fabric is not as simple to put on and take off effortlessly.
  • Reviewed by Allen from Okinawa on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    Lighter in weight than I expected but very soft and flexible. Good windbreaker with a number of uses (running, golf) but not long enough in the back for biking. One minor drawback is no pockets at all. The russet orange is a really good color. Will fold nice and small so good for traveling or day trips. Definitely recommended.
  • Reviewed by Doc the Traveler from Kansas on Wednesday, January 01, 2014
    Great find... I wish this wasn't a closeout!

    I bought this pullover on a whim after some pretty heavy discounting in the post-Thanksgiving/pre-Christmas sale season. After actually wearing it off and on over the last two weeks or so, it is now a favorite in my wardrobe.

    Performance:
    - I wore this while traveling to the in-laws for Christmas and experienced varied weather conditions both to and from. For the outbound journey we drove through freezing rain conditions for over 2 hours (of an 8 hour trip). The mixture of cold and rain necessitated multiple stops to scrap ice off of various windows and knock it off the headlights. The Effusion Pullover provided just enough water resistance to make this experience tolerable (nothing pleasurable about being in freezing rain). For the return trip we drove through a fairly frigid snowstorm for about 3 hours in Iowa that extended our trip out from 8 hours to 11 due to the ridiculous driving conditions. When jumping out to gas up or knock snow off the truck the Effusion provided enough warmth, when partnered with a wool scully and some waterproof gloves, to make the tasks doable. Overall, this jumper provided plenty of movement for various activities. I can't wait to actually run in it!

    Sizing:
    - I'm a Mountain Hardwear fan and already own one of their soft-shells so I knew what their sizing is like (generally equivalent to Columbia sizing). At 5'9" and 220 pounds with a 38" waist and 46-48" chest my go-to size is an XL. This fits just right. Not too tight, not too loose and layers well under a down jacket when it gets colder.

    Bottom-line: I highly recommend this jacket and, knowing what I know now, would've paid a higher (though not full) price for it!
  • Reviewed by Gary the runner from Northern California on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    very comfortable, great fit, windproof and water repellent
  • Reviewed by nunnone from Alabama on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    Nice fit. Lightweight. Windproof. Great for biking or driving with the top down.
  • Reviewed by Bikerwoe from Charlotte on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    I own a lot of gear, but nothing like this one. It's wind proof in front of your chest. I use it for biking, as I'm not a runner and it's great. I ordered the M, and I'm 5'10", 160#, fits great.
  • Reviewed by YIYI from CA on Monday, October 07, 2013
    GOOD THING
  • Reviewed by Ron from Bremerton, Washington on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    This pullover is super lightweight, but also add warmth and protection. It is really nice looking and extremely comfortbable
  • Reviewed by Suzie-Q from Louisville, CO on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
    This shirt is just about perfect for running or use as a light outerlayer. It is stylish and nice wind resistant but still breathable. Not to mention how good it looks. The fit was right on also.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.