Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Expedition Duffel Bag - Small

Closeouts. A heavy-duty gear bag for rugged adventures, Mountain Hardwear's Expedition duffel bag keeps gear protected and organized in abrasion- and puncture-resistant HardWear Tarp construction with sturdy anodized aluminum end handles and grab handles that double as shoulder straps to keep your hands free when you're hiking into the perfect climbing spot.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.444444 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MAL from Alabama on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    I ordered this item because it matched the medium Mountain Hardware bag we had purchased earlier. The medium was so big that, when filled to capacity, it was heavy and awkward to deal with. This bag looks to be just about the perfect size for a weekend trip and like the other, seems to be well-made and sturdy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike W from South Carolina on Wednesday, July 2, 2014
    I'm a little hard on the rating as the bag is slightly bulky for a 'small' sized bag. And it is small. A little pricey when compared to the Marmot duffel, which I have-its worth looking into that bag (mine's a large). The MNT HRDWR bag is sturdy and has some inside pockets for organizing. The 'wear it like a backpack' feature is nice...it looks too like it's sized as a carry-on. It's a little larger than a gym bag, so keep that in mind.
  • Reviewed by Berkeley Climber from California on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    I have a large North Face base camp duffel and it is perfect for storing and toting gear around. However it is bad at storing clothes and small items because they disappear into it. Simply put, it could us a few more pockets for a single piece of luggage. The mtn hardware bag on the other hand, is perfect for carry-on and can hold all you will need for a weekend or longer. It has two external slim pockets, perfect for tickets, keys, phone, wallet, etc. Additionally the hand straps double as simple backpack straps. The base camp has a separate set of straps for each purpose. Tons of extra nylon to get caught on things... To be fair, neither will be comfortable for any extended carrying. Neither have a waistbelt or other support.

    If you are looking for a small overnight duffel with room for more, look no further.
  • Reviewed by Lazy Climber from Washington State on Friday, November 15, 2013
    I have these duffles in small, medium and large sizes. The small makes a good day bag or overnight bag, the others have been used to haul climbing gear all over the world. I used the large and medium on a trip to nepal, the large carried climbing gear for two of us. They survived yaks and porters just fine. I like the large opening on top, easy to get stuff in and out. My only complaint is the "backpack" straps, they work OK to hand carry but not so good as a backpack but you would not want to carry one of these things fully loaded as a back pack anyway.
    For the STP price you cannot beat them, the other main brands (Patagonia, BD and NF ) have good products but overall these bags are great .
  • Reviewed by Mountain Hiker from Georgia on Tuesday, October 1, 2013
    This bag is the perfect size for carry on luggage. The bag is sturdy, very well made, and the small internal pockets provide easy access to items such as keys or sunglasses. I have not used the bag in an expedition setting, but have used it on a couple of business trips. The bag easily held my laptop, enough clothes and personal items for a two-day trip and still slid in the overhead bin without a hitch. The bag is a little small to use in “backpack mode” which is really just a function of its size rather than any design shortcoming. Overall, I really cannot find any design flaws or workmanship issues with this bag. I would highly recommend this bag and believe it is versatile enough to use for business travel and outdoor adventures.
  • Reviewed by hdwrlover from WA on Tuesday, June 11, 2013
    Bought this duffel at a great price from STP. STP is the best online discount store for outdoor products. I am pleased with the features the bag has, especially the 2 pockets inside and 2 outside. I own many other brands of duffels but not all are "expedition" rated. This one may be, but it is not as tough just comparing the two side-by-side as a North Face base camp duffel. I think I would put my things in a North Face if I were going to 3rd world locations, as I plan to. However, if you keep your bag with you most of the time then this bag should provide excellent service.
  • Reviewed by csi from Charlotte on Monday, May 20, 2013
    I use the bag for traveling the airlines and it fits in all the overhead bins.
  • Reviewed by Wolf on the beach from Burney, CA on Wednesday, May 1, 2013
    This duffel bag is well constructed and beefy. I originally ordered the small, but it is smaller than the dimensions stated in the description; so I exchanged it for the medium. The main compartment zipper is strong, and the lid covering the zipper does a good job. I can see this handling air travel better than my last bag with cheap zippers. The 'backpack' straps are adequate, not great, but will do for short periods of time. The duffel is a little heavy, but that seems to be because of the construction material, not because of extra, non-essential components. Not sure if the aluminum handles on the ends are necessary, but they are handy.
  • Reviewed by Tillman from Indiana on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    I bought a pair of these small duffles last year for a trip to England for myself and my wife. They held up well to baggage handlers and the backpackable straps made ground transport easy. I utilized the Eagle Creek Specter pack it folders and cubes for organizing both work and casual clothes. I highly recommend these as well for getting a weeks worth of clothes into a relatively compact bag.

    Over the last year the duffles have replaced the standard roller style carry-on suitcase as our go to travel companions. The internal straps hold everything in place and the two small internal pockets work well for toiletries and other small items. The light weight makes it easy to carry and chuck into the car trunk.
  • Sort by: