Mountain Hardwear Fluid 18 Backpack

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Fluid 18 backpack combines stability and a streamlined design for fast and light backcountry outings. The back panel has air channels for ventilation and lumbar padding for load support.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Reviewed by Joe from Missouri on Monday, November 03, 2014
    Purchased this for my 11 year-old son to use on overnights. We took it out last weekend and it worked very well. He's pretty skinny, so he had it sinched up pretty well and therefore it did have a lot of extra straps hanging around. but you could tuck those away a bit if you liked and we didn't have an issue with that. It was comfortable and able to fit quite a bit into the pack. It's not for carrying heavy loads, but for a light pack to hold maybe 10 pounds of stuff, it was perfect. It's very light and we found it to be adjustable enough for him. Not sure it would fit all the great on my long torso, but for him it's perfect. The interior pocket was nice, but the extra "pocket" on the back is not terribly functional. But it held a waterbottle on the side well and the tiny pockets on the waistbelt could hold keys or a small snack.
  • Reviewed by mountain maiden from Hesperus, Colorado on Saturday, October 18, 2014
    I got this because the pack to replace a pack from that company from Cortez, CO who never discounts their products because it had some major design flaws, This pack takes the good features: light weight, lots of pockets, adjsutable, waistbelt with pockets and fixes all the problesm with their design. Here, you can get the straps that go across the bottle pockets completely out of the way (unlike the other brand); the torso length is easy to adjust (unlike the other brand), the zippers on the waistbels pockets can be opened with one hand (unlike the other brand), the sternum strap can be adjusted so it does not choke you (unlike the other brand); you can get a water bottle in and out of the side pockets without dislocating your shoulder (unlike the other brand), etc. I jettisoned the other pack in a fit of rage and truly appreciate the better design of this pack. The only think I don't lke about it is that hook that holds the outside pocket closed is not very secure - a pinchy buckle thing would be much better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rebadog from Arizona on Monday, October 06, 2014
    The small to medium was just the perfect fit for me at 5' 11". It is very light weight and has all the "bells and whistles" you need on a pack. it is perfect for a day hike and the shoulder strap adjustments work perfectly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by reston biker from virginia on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    I am very happy with this pack. I will use it bike commuting to work. I bought it for a 30 hour adventure race, but it is too small. I should have ordered the 26 liter for that. But this is a nice size for a day's clothing, lunch and a wallet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yotee from Syracuse, NY on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    perfect size day pack for me. almost went with the 12 but found the 18 here cheaper and glad I did, the 12 would have been to small. love the on the fly trimming features to snug it down fast when moving and loosening it up at rest without taking it off, not that that would really be a big deal. materials are a little light feeling so hopefully they will stand up to some abuse. to early to tell and that is my only concern with the pack I've never used a hydration bladder before and this pack may turn the corner for me as it's so easy to carry and I like how streamlined it is without bottles on the sides..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anna from Seattle on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    I bought this pack for hiking, but so far have been using it on my 5 mile bike commutes and loving it. It's incredibly light and has great functionality (flexible, strong mesh pockets everywhere, straps to compress it down to nothing or expand, very comfortable hip belt and shoulder straps). I can't wait to take it hiking, and might even go for some super-light overnights with this awesome little pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jake from Washington on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    When I first received this pack it was a little bigger than I had anticipated, but after having and using it the past few days it is really a nice size. I have been using it for walking back and forth from work ~1 -2 miles a day. It has plenty enough room for my rain coat, a long sleeve shirt, my lunch/water bottle with still enough room for a few groceries or what not. The water bottle pockets are nice, they actually fit a nalgene and holds it in there securely. The front shove it pocket is also really nice, super stretchy and versatile. The pack is also fairly water proof, walked in the rain for about 45 mins and the inside was still bone dry. The only thing that I would change on this pack would be a larger internal zipper pocket to keep things easily accessible.
  • Reviewed by Stavros from Burlington, VT on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    I ordered this after reading and watching reviews online, all of which said it was the best daypack any of the reviewers had ever seen. couldn't agree more; the features of this pack blow away any of the competitors, and it's very well made. Excited to start using it!
  • Reviewed by DAP from Spokane on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    I found myself hiking behind a friend who carried this pack on our recent day hikes in Arches, Canyonlands, and Capitol Reef National parks. I kept admiring how well designed it was. When I got home, I ordered this pack, and find it's a winner. Separate hydration compartment, big main compartment, and I love the long compression straps that allow adapting from large to small loads. It's a versatile, lightweight, well-designed pack, and feels light even when fully packed. My husband was so impressed with the features of the pack that he turned around and ordered one, too. Besides function - it's good looking. I have the red pack and my other 1/2 has the blue one; we both like the colors.
  • Reviewed by Haydee from Miami on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    Distributes weight great. Only downfall is that it is so strappy that it is not good hiking when there is too much underbrush. It gets caught on everything!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.