Mountain Hardwear Fluid 18 Backpack

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Fluid 18 backpack combines stability and a streamlined design for fast and light backcountry outings. The back panel has air channels for ventilation and lumbar padding for load support.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anna from Seattle on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    I bought this pack for hiking, but so far have been using it on my 5 mile bike commutes and loving it. It's incredibly light and has great functionality (flexible, strong mesh pockets everywhere, straps to compress it down to nothing or expand, very comfortable hip belt and shoulder straps). I can't wait to take it hiking, and might even go for some super-light overnights with this awesome little pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jake from Washington on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    When I first received this pack it was a little bigger than I had anticipated, but after having and using it the past few days it is really a nice size. I have been using it for walking back and forth from work ~1 -2 miles a day. It has plenty enough room for my rain coat, a long sleeve shirt, my lunch/water bottle with still enough room for a few groceries or what not. The water bottle pockets are nice, they actually fit a nalgene and holds it in there securely. The front shove it pocket is also really nice, super stretchy and versatile. The pack is also fairly water proof, walked in the rain for about 45 mins and the inside was still bone dry. The only thing that I would change on this pack would be a larger internal zipper pocket to keep things easily accessible.
  • Reviewed by Stavros from Burlington, VT on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    I ordered this after reading and watching reviews online, all of which said it was the best daypack any of the reviewers had ever seen. couldn't agree more; the features of this pack blow away any of the competitors, and it's very well made. Excited to start using it!
  • Reviewed by DAP from Spokane on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    I found myself hiking behind a friend who carried this pack on our recent day hikes in Arches, Canyonlands, and Capitol Reef National parks. I kept admiring how well designed it was. When I got home, I ordered this pack, and find it's a winner. Separate hydration compartment, big main compartment, and I love the long compression straps that allow adapting from large to small loads. It's a versatile, lightweight, well-designed pack, and feels light even when fully packed. My husband was so impressed with the features of the pack that he turned around and ordered one, too. Besides function - it's good looking. I have the red pack and my other 1/2 has the blue one; we both like the colors.
  • Reviewed by Haydee from Miami on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    Distributes weight great. Only downfall is that it is so strappy that it is not good hiking when there is too much underbrush. It gets caught on everything!
  • Reviewed by Changping Wu from china on Wednesday, October 02, 2013
    great backpack. I love it.
  • Reviewed by Loolux3 from Baltimore on Sunday, September 01, 2013
    This is a great day hike bag! You can cinch down the bag for a compact warm weather hike and expand it for fall and winter when you may be carrying more layers. The separate zip compartment for the hydration pack is a nice feature. Plenty of adjustments to customize the fit and plenty of pockets to stow your stuff. The zip pockets on the waist belt let you keep a compass, energy bars and other small items accessible on the go.
  • Reviewed by Linda from Maryland on Thursday, August 29, 2013
    Very comfortable, easily adjustable (even while wearing it), very practical, high quality construction. I can't think of anything I would change.
  • Reviewed by Later in life student from New York, NY on Monday, July 22, 2013
    I got this bag for school, I had a different 18L which did not provide as much support and was uncomfortable with a heavier load. Somehow, this bag seems to hold a lot more as well, even though the difference in size is just a few cubic inches.
  • Reviewed by DustinTN from Nashville, TN on Monday, June 24, 2013
    I've been using this for my daily bike commute and general kick around pack for a few months now. Great for biking, hiking, an overnight (for a minimalist) or just general daily use. I love it! It's Well built, well-designed, rugged, and light. The molded back panel is awesome for cooling and airflow and the pack can really be adjusted to conform to your back securely and comfortably. It's the best day pack I've ever used.

    The only thing keeping this from being a five star review is the metal (aluminum?) slider clip on the big front pocket. It's looks good, and I'm sure MHW likes having their logo displayed, but a simple plastic clip closure would have been MUCH better. The metal can be cumbersome to slide off and on when tight and can flop off when loose. Not a big deal, but a very minor annoyance for daily use.

    Also, I would have preferred the front pocket panel to be entirely made of stretch material (like my beloved Osprey Talon and many Gregory models) which can accommodate more gear more easily, IMO. The pocket does have stretch material on the sides, however, allowing for some "overstuffing."

    All that said, I love this pack and am EXTREMELY happy with it at such a great price from STP.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.