Mountain Hardwear Fluid 18 Backpack

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Fluid 18 backpack combines stability and a streamlined design for fast and light backcountry outings. The back panel has air channels for ventilation and lumbar padding for load support.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
  • Reviewed by neil from portland from portland on Friday, April 17, 2015
    I got this bag last fall and still use it to this day, but there are a few things that I'd like to share with people about it. First of all, the back panel likes being bent, and the bag never sits up straight, even when set down leaning against something. Secondly, many of the zipper ties have fallen off. Not the end of the world, but should be noted.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Danny from NY on Tuesday, March 3, 2015
    The pack is very comfortable. Straps are nice and so is the hip belt. I bought mine in the red color and it looks great. Everything seems well thought-out and the materials are very nice. It's an 18L pack, so it may be on the smaller side for some people. However, it's a great size for a simple day pack.

    It has a compact and slim design. It rides close to your body, and because of the narrow design, it never gets in the way of your arms. The compression straps are very well placed and help to keep things tight and tidy.The mesh pockets can fit 1L Nalgene bottles without issues, so that's always a plus.

    The only potential drawback has to do with the structure of the back. if not fully packed, the back flops over. There is generous foam padding for the upper back/shoulder blade area, as well as the lumbar area. It's the area between them that lacks padding, and that's where it may flop over. It's generally not an issue when you are wearing the pack, but I thought I'd point that out.

  • Reviewed by Tele boy from Tahoe on Wednesday, January 7, 2015
    Ordered this pack for longer mountain bike days when I need to carry more than just water and a snack. Haven't used it yet but it seems well built without excess weight of a full day pack. Does not come with a bladder so I plan to swap in an extra Camelbak one. The inside has one small mesh pocket for keys and a wallet. Some additional internal pockets to keep small items organized would be nice. Really like the side bottle pockets and back pouch to stash the helmet or an extra jacket. As always, can't beat the STP price.
  • Reviewed by Jules from Maine on Tuesday, January 6, 2015
    Great for short day hikes, good weight distribution. The side pockets can hold large water bottles. The hip belt pockets are useful for stashing small items. My only complaint would be that the outer pocket clip comes undone while hiking. I would recommend this pack.
  • Reviewed by Joe from Missouri on Monday, November 3, 2014
    Purchased this for my 11 year-old son to use on overnights. We took it out last weekend and it worked very well. He's pretty skinny, so he had it sinched up pretty well and therefore it did have a lot of extra straps hanging around. but you could tuck those away a bit if you liked and we didn't have an issue with that. It was comfortable and able to fit quite a bit into the pack. It's not for carrying heavy loads, but for a light pack to hold maybe 10 pounds of stuff, it was perfect. It's very light and we found it to be adjustable enough for him. Not sure it would fit all the great on my long torso, but for him it's perfect. The interior pocket was nice, but the extra "pocket" on the back is not terribly functional. But it held a waterbottle on the side well and the tiny pockets on the waistbelt could hold keys or a small snack.
  • Reviewed by mountain maiden from Hesperus, Colorado on Saturday, October 18, 2014
    I got this because the pack to replace a pack from that company from Cortez, CO who never discounts their products because it had some major design flaws, This pack takes the good features: light weight, lots of pockets, adjsutable, waistbelt with pockets and fixes all the problesm with their design. Here, you can get the straps that go across the bottle pockets completely out of the way (unlike the other brand); the torso length is easy to adjust (unlike the other brand), the zippers on the waistbels pockets can be opened with one hand (unlike the other brand), the sternum strap can be adjusted so it does not choke you (unlike the other brand); you can get a water bottle in and out of the side pockets without dislocating your shoulder (unlike the other brand), etc. I jettisoned the other pack in a fit of rage and truly appreciate the better design of this pack. The only think I don't lke about it is that hook that holds the outside pocket closed is not very secure - a pinchy buckle thing would be much better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trecker from Arizona on Monday, October 6, 2014
    The small to medium was just the perfect fit for me at 5' 11". It is very light weight and has all the "bells and whistles" you need on a pack. it is perfect for a day hike and the shoulder strap adjustments work perfectly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by reston biker from virginia on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    I am very happy with this pack. I will use it bike commuting to work. I bought it for a 30 hour adventure race, but it is too small. I should have ordered the 26 liter for that. But this is a nice size for a day's clothing, lunch and a wallet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yotee from Syracuse, NY on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    perfect size day pack for me. almost went with the 12 but found the 18 here cheaper and glad I did, the 12 would have been to small. love the on the fly trimming features to snug it down fast when moving and loosening it up at rest without taking it off, not that that would really be a big deal. materials are a little light feeling so hopefully they will stand up to some abuse. to early to tell and that is my only concern with the pack I've never used a hydration bladder before and this pack may turn the corner for me as it's so easy to carry and I like how streamlined it is without bottles on the sides..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anna from Seattle on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    I bought this pack for hiking, but so far have been using it on my 5 mile bike commutes and loving it. It's incredibly light and has great functionality (flexible, strong mesh pockets everywhere, straps to compress it down to nothing or expand, very comfortable hip belt and shoulder straps). I can't wait to take it hiking, and might even go for some super-light overnights with this awesome little pack.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #