Mountain Hardwear Fluid 26 Backpack

Closeouts. Perfectly sized for a full day on the trail, Mountain Hardwear's Fluid 26 backpack lets you adjust load stability while you're moving and has a breathable mesh back panel to keep you cool.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kris from Florida on Thursday, August 7, 2014
    I was looking for a biking/commuting pack and it is exactly what I was looking for. It holds all of the things I need for the day (tablet, gym stuff, etc) but is very light and breathable. I am a 5'6'' woman and the small/medium is a perfect length for my torso and I barely had to adjust it. I also really like the kangaroo pouch in the backfor stuffing jackets and other items into, as well as the deep water bottle pockets on the sides. The hold my 1 liter nalgene very snugly. The zip pockets on the hip straps are great for an ipod, small cell phone, granola bars and whatever else you want close by.

    I would definitely recommend to a friend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nate W. from South East Idaho on Saturday, July 26, 2014
    This backpack is very lightweight with great features and lot of storage. I am 6'4" and have a large frame so many backpacks (even large sizes) do not fit well. I was easily able to adjust this one to fit and distribute weight appropriately.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lo from Utah on Friday, July 25, 2014
    The one thing I don't love about this pack is the support in the back. It tends to pull away from my back, so it's not as solid as if it had a better support set-up.

    I love everything else about the rest of the pack. It is light, all of the storage is easily accessible and useful, and it condenses down to a small pack well. I LOVE the pockets on the hip straps.

    Overall, it is a decent pack, especially at this price.
  • Reviewed by Mark from Virginia on Friday, July 25, 2014
    I purchased the first several months back, and was pretty impressed by the quality. It has all the adjustments a nice large back-packing pack has, but in a small lighter package. It has plenty of pocket space for everything you might need on a day hike, but is probably too small for an overnight trip if you need to haul a tent and sleeping bag, along with all your other essentials. It's light weight and seems to resist water and spills quite well. I like the pockets on the waistband, to store my camera and wallet. If there's anything I don't like, maybe it's the amount of extra adjustment for the waistband. The straps are too long and after adjustment you have about 12 or more inches of extra strap on each side. I don't see how even the biggest people would ever need that amount of extra length. Anyway it's really just an annoyance that I have tuck them each time I put the back on or have these long straps that dangle nearly to my knees.

    So other than that, it's so completely awesome my wife wanted one. She had used mine several times for hiking, and since we both liked it so much, she now has hers. By the way she's 5'9 and I'm 6ft and 175lbs and we went with the M/L size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Man Mountain from Eastern Pennsylvania on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    Bought this pack on sale for less than $60 as an introductory backpack for my wife for longer day hikes while we were on vacation in the NPs in the Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon areas July 11-20. We put a separately purchased 2 L hydration bladder in it and used it each day of our trip. Lots of pockets and built in organization of gear and good ease of access. She could fit her Nokia 822 Windows phone in one of the waist pouches (others commenting on inability to fit must have larger phones) and a couple of granola bars and electrolyte gel strips in the other.

    My wife is an inch or so above the small range in torso length but might have been better suited to a small frame size after all. She is still deciding on whether to get a small, but this one will definitely go to my older son if we decide to purchase her a new one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scout Dad from Pollock Pines, CA on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    My son's scout troop was going on a day hike, and I needed something to carry the necessities (food, water filter, first aid kit, etc) as well as my hydration bladder. I didn't want anything too cumbersome, and this pack was perfect for a day hike. If you pack really lean, I can see this being acceptable for an overnight as well.

    Lots of storage, good access, and very comfortable to wear. Highly recommended!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Evan from Tennessee on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    It has a nice semi frame, zips all the way down to the bottom so that you can lay the pack down to pack stuff in, and fits to your back better than a normal day pack.
  • Reviewed by rocket from utah on Wednesday, March 5, 2014
    This pack has been a long-time favorite. Sadly I burned it on a four-wheeler tailpipe and had to get a new one.

    It's very light weight. It's comfortable. It has all of the right compartments. Perfect for hiking and longer mountain bike trips. It can easily compress if you don't have a full pack.
  • Reviewed by sara from new england on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    This is great for commuting - holds my laptop, lunch and extra clothes needed for the winter. The front pocket is great at organizing, and the outside flap can be used for gloves, helmet, whatever. It's also really comfortable, and well-suited for a smaller (5'5") frame!
  • Reviewed by Duck Dad from Gig Harbor, WA on Monday, September 30, 2013
    I get a little tired of reading reviews from people that haven't used the product. In this case however it took me about 30 seconds to figure out that the frame sheet on this pack was apparently designed by an idiot. Its basically a series of plastic tubes joined together. That in itseld might be okay except that the tubes are arrayed in a horizontal manner which means that the frame sags into a z pattern. The whole idea behind a frame is to provide a rigid structure to allow the weight to be carried by the waist belt. Had they arranged the tubes in a vertical manner it probably would have worked just fine. If i had time I would send this pack back and order a Black Dimond which is what I have (this pack is for my wife) and which has a killer suspension system. Alas we are climbing St Helens in 4 days and there is just no time to reorder. This will have to do. I will probably try to modify it with some vertical stays if I can find the right material. It was very reasoanbly priced but I could have purchased the Black Dimond for only $10 more. The BD's do tend to be a little spartan (they put thier money into function, not adding a lot of features) and I thought my wife would like a few of the features of this pack such as the U shaped zipper that provides easy access to the main pouch and the stuff it pocket on the back. Those features are nice. I also did a mock loading and it seems the size is adequate for what will be needed in a summit pack in October. Bottom line if you are looking for a good technical pack you might want to consider something else unless you don't mind making the modifications I am considering.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.