Mountain Hardwear Girdwood Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Girdwood jacket is built with two-layer, Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable technology and a MicroClimate Zoning lining for maximum breathability and comfort on grueling ascents and thrilling descents.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
  • Reviewed by Snokat Al from East of the Everglades on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    Bought this shell to be my dedicated spring skiing jacket and love how it performed. DryQ Elite breathes well for a spring membrane and that is exactly why I got it. I match this shell up with my Snowtastic pants to help shed heat and sweat during warm, sunny days. I go with Gore-Tex when the wind and cold require it, otherwise this is my go-to spring skiing outfit.
    Large is perfect on my 6'2", 200 lb. frame.
  • Reviewed by Marky Mark from North Carolina on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    This is a great shell. It is very light and waterproof. I wore it this past weekend sledding and tubing in 25 degree weather with a layer underneath and it did a great job of keeping me dry and the wind out. I am 5"9" tall, 163 pounds, size 40 jacket, 32" sleeves and the medium fit perfectly. It's not so big that it can't be worn alone as a rain jacket in warmer weather, but had enough room to comfortably fit a layer underneath for warmth. The hood is pretty big since it's made to go over a helmet but it has a nice cinch that allows it to be fit to your head when being worn without a helmet. Snow skirt worked well. Good pockets and placement for me. Not a big fan of the two-way zipper - it works fine but can be a little more trouble to get started than a single zipper. All in all I am thrilled with this shell and look forward to it becoming one of my go to jackets. Anxious to try it in warmer weather since many of the reviews talked about how well it breathes.
  • Reviewed by Snow Rider from North Tahoe on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I bought this jacket for skiing. I used it in spring of last season into late April in the Tahoe area. Performed very well in warm weather and breathes better than any Gore jacket I own. Gave it the test this fall in unseasonably cold weather with a down mid-layer. Temps in the 0 to 15 degree range were managed with no problem. Overall the only gripes I have is the two-way front zipper can be a pain and the sleeves are not quite long enough for my 6'4" 200 pound frame. Okay with a gauntlet glove, but under the cuff gloves are constantly slipping out from under the sleeve. Also the little thumb hole thingies are useless to me as my thumbs go numb if I use them. I just leave my thumbs out and it is good. The chest pocket is big enough for my Galaxy Note with an Otterbox case, which is unusual as most pockets have too small an opening to get the phablet into. I rated 4 stars only because of the sleeve issue. The rest is really good and the deal on this jacket is one of the best anywhere for a fully waterproof shell with a bunch of snow friendly features.
  • Reviewed by Montana Mom from Montana on Monday, October 21, 2013
    I bought this for my husband, and he loves it. He says he has never had a ski jacket this light before. It is like wearing a shirt! He hasn't worn it skiing yet because it is only October, but he wore it to a football game one night just to try it out, he said it was extremely warm and it was 23 degrees out that night.
  • Reviewed by dk from PNW on Sunday, October 06, 2013
    This jacket runs true to size. I am 5'8", 180lbs, and wear a size 40 normally and have size 17 arms in dress shirts. I have broad shoulders, but most mediums fit me. Lately I've found Patagonia and some other brands are narrow and too tight for my chest and shoulders. Perhaps I'm getting fatter or their sizes have changed. I was a bit worried about buying this online, but...

    This jacket fits great. It is a little large in the stomach, but that's fine since this is where I stash my gloves, hat, etc. when touring in the bc. The hood is large enough to cover my helmet and the collar is large enough to easily fit around my face when fully zipped. The arms are almost perfect - when I put my arms straight out the monkey thumb hole pulls a little. But, the length of the arms overall is just right.

    I only tour in the bc (never inbounds), so this jacket will only be for descents. With that said, there are lots of nice features: there are 4 outer pockets - 2 side pockets (which are somewhat covered by my pack waistbelt, but can still be accessed), 1 chest, and 1 near the left wrist. There are 2 inner pockets - a zippered one on the right side with access for headphones and a deep, open pocket on the left. It has a zip off powder skirt that has two sets of buttons dependent on your waist size. And the pitzips are easy and long enough. Also, the monkey thumb part of the sleeve is elastic so it will help keep the powder from getting in the sleeve.

    Overall, I'm really impressed and can't wait to get out with this jacket.
  • Reviewed by BC from NY on Wednesday, July 31, 2013
    The jacket is light weight but very well built. Runs large, I'm 5'-8"/170 lbs and the medium fits great. Very water proof and had to have a wind skirt for winter skiing. The only con is that I've never really liked the waterproof zippers, but they work.
  • Reviewed by Kendall the Skier from Charles Town, WV on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    Haven't had the chance to wear it yet, but can't wait, seems to be very well made. Plenty of pockets in all the right places, high quality material, length is perfect and good fit, not a tight fit and not lose, just a good cut, what you see in the picture is actually what you get, lightweight, but it has that feel that it will protect you well in the elements. STP is offering this high quality jacket at a steal, this is a must have.
  • Reviewed by Outdoor enthusiast from NY on Sunday, June 30, 2013
    Got this one in the mail, and in contacting customer service, the lady who worked with me was courteous and eager to help - great there! I am slim, at 5'10", and small fits me pretty well - looks best unzipped actually, bc it has some extra room around the belly. Good for layering, probably. Wore this on my cruise to Alaska this summer, and it was perfect as a wine proof layer. It showered a bit in Juneau, and I was perfectly dry. To further test this product, I ran it under the faucet for half a minute and nothing got through - very happy about this, as I was unsure about a softshell's waterproofing when compared to a hard shell. Love love love the built-in wrist gaiters. Nicest feature of any outer layer I've ever had. Five for looks and weatherproofing so far, but I haven't tested this out in bad weather yet.
  • Reviewed by Sierra Skier from Lake Tahoe, California on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    This jacket fits me very well. I’m 5/10 with a stocky build. The large has just enough room for a full fleece and a fleece vest under layer. Without the insulation layers it is not bulky. I have to rate the fit for me as perfect. I will be skiing in all weather conditions next season and will rate the DryQ Elite this time next year. All of my previous water proof breathable jackets outer layers soaked up water after 50+ day ski seasons in the mid Sierras. I wash and maintain to the manufacturers recommendations. So far I am very happy with one mixed snow and rain day.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KF from Western Maine Mountains on Monday, January 28, 2013
    All in all very happy with the jacket. I have worn it in snow and extreme sub-zero weather and have had no problems. Have not worn it in rainy or mixed precip. weather yet. I got a 2x so that I would have no problem with any layering combination underneath and that seems to be a good choice. I am 6'3" and like my clothing a little loose. Front zipper seams to catch sometimes when zipping up but not a big deal right now.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.