Mountain Hardwear Hammerhead 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Warm weather camping is more comfortable with a convertible roof panel, two spacious vestibules and the well-ventilated design of Mountain Hardwear's Hammerhead 2 tent.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Reviewed by Outdoor Lover from Oregon on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    As in GET A HAMMERHEAD 2 TENT!
    This is a great tent, though a bit heavy for backpacking. It's our new car camping tent.
    Spacious. A nice feature is; the large mesh panel can be closed off with a zippered in flap. Great for high wind, blowing dust, etc. situations. Helps increase warmth as well. Making it a 4 season option for the willing.
    Easy set up, secure and dry with minor managing in wet weather tenting.
    Bought ours on one of STP's great sales. So even happier with the purchase!
    An excellent, durable, well made tent for 2.
  • Reviewed by northwest mountaineer from washington on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    They just don't make them like they used to...overall construction and materials give me the impression that this tent isn't going to have the lifespan of my 20 yr old SD tent. Having said that, I'm happy after very limited use. Good headroom, free standing, 2 doors, good ventilation. Kind of tight for 2 but adequate. 3 pole design worth extra weight for my needs.

    Sale price made this impossible to pass up
  • Reviewed by Wiley out West from Southern CA on Monday, November 18, 2013
    This tent is only good for one person, it is not 36 sq feet like Mountain Hardwear claims on the tag, unfortunately it's only 30 sq ft, and that's just only a very weak 42" wide to share. So, unless you're a couple of mummies' you had better forget about trying to get any sleep without you and your partner's arms and legs getting all tangled up big time. I guess it's ok then if you really like that kind of stuff, and some of us even hope for it to make something happen on the trip , lol. Otherwise, the rest of us would like it if you would please give us the six more feet you claimed so we can get a good night's sleep, Mountain Hardwear. Instead of lying to us with a straight face about how big you claim your tents and poles are, and how much they will be sure to satisfy us, oh so good, right? I gave up that B.S. about the same time when I graduated High School and my girlfriend called me on it, ok guys just give it up. STP still has a good honest deal on it though anyway.
  • Reviewed by Wiley out West from Pollock Pines, CA on Friday, November 8, 2013
    Unfortunately the tent only maxes out at 57" in the middle...so it's actually only 30 square feet, not 36. Snuggle up tight for two in mummies on 20" pads, or it's good for 1 on a 25" or 30" pad in a rectangular bag. In other words...this should really be considered a 1.5 tent at the most, but hey...sometimes we all wish we were as snug as a bug in a rug at one time or another. So that's why I will give it three stars out of five, just not for honestly but for functionality...isn't that what the little tents are supposed to be for? Steam it up baby!
  • Reviewed by Paul the backpacker from Kentucky on Monday, November 4, 2013
    I have not had the opportunity to use my Hammerhead 2 tent outside. I did set it up in the middle of my living room the first day that I received it. My six year old grand daughter and I slept in it. We loved it. I intend to use this tent for backpacking. It does appear to be well made and ideal for backpacking and flexible for different types of weather. I loved the two doors and vestibule areas for keeping gear dry on rainy nights without having to pack gear inside the tent. There is lot of room for two people with high ceiling area.
    The cons are: As with most tents today, it did not come with a footprint. I was able to find one at local outfitter store. The total pack with footprint is a little heavy, around 7 pounds. The weight may not be a con, since can be reduced for dry, warm nights. The weight may be a pro since the tent is flexible to be used in different types of weather. I personally like the fact that I have these options.
    As stated above, I have not used tent yet. The real test for me will be how warm & dry I stay on those cold, rainy nights.
  • Reviewed by VA Hiker from Virginia on Monday, September 23, 2013
    I actually borrowed one of these that was a few years older and really enjoyed the head room size and the fact that you can zip up all of the mesh parts of the tent from the inside. This feature is really helpful when it gets below 45 degrees outside. They call it a summer tent on their website, but it could really be classified as a 3.5 season. It is also a great summer tent as well because you can take all of the "windows" off from the inside and only have the mesh allowing plenty of airflow. I purchased a Light wedge and returned it due to the fact that it did not have the ability to fully zip the tent and cover the mesh from the inside. The weekend I borrowed the older version of the hammerhead, it rained pretty hard and was about 35 F outside. I was very dry and warm. This is the same tent, but just a few years newer. The tent is slightly heavier than a normal 2 person backpacking tent, but that is due to the warmth and feature mentioned above. It also has 3 bars to keep it sturdy in the wind as opposed to some other 2 person tents that are a bit lighter and only have 2 - the 3rd bar also increases the head room. It is well built and built to last. I ended up purchasing two of these tents and split up the family when we hike and camp, but it is worth it over a 8 person tent that is not nearly as warm, dry, or sturdy.
  • Reviewed by Falcon Sails from The Great Lakes. on Thursday, September 5, 2013
    I use tents like this for living out of my Sea Kayak.
    So a couple extra pounds is not a problem.

    The hammer head 2 gives you more square footage, more head room, 2 side entry doors, 2 large vestibules, a more solid design, 18 staking points, large screen openings that can be zipped closed, and every other basic feature you want. I also have owned a hammer head 3 for car camping. That tent has been used for 6 years and about 100 nights and has zero problems. My new hammer head 2 is an updated design with a lot of improvements.

    Some tents are a few pounds lighter, and a little faster to set up. Many tents weigh more, with none of the items listed above.
    A tent that is so solid in the wind is always going to take some extra time to set up, and will weigh a bit more.
    You are talking about 2 pounds more than the lightest 2 person tent you will ever find, and a few extra minutes of set up time.
    Any tent that out performs this tent on any feature surely compromises something else.
    It is just a awesome tent.
  • Reviewed by XplorN from Fort Worth TX on Friday, August 30, 2013
    I've set it up twice and spent two nights. It was rained on an played with by a marmot. No problems at all. One nucance was the string by the fly door that kept falling into the zipper because I wasn't using it. Simple fix was to un tie it. It also looks very nice and I like the very large removable window cover.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from Silverthorne, CO on Saturday, April 14, 2012
    We had a previous model of the same tent for 7 years and loved it so much bought it again.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by Hiker Chick from Cambridge, MA on Tuesday, February 7, 2012
    Interesting tent. So far we've only been able to put it up in the kitchen, so obviously this is a limited review.
    When I ordered it, I was concerned about the narrowness of the floorplate according to STP's measurement. Actually, the floor width varies, and not always for the better. The stated 48" width looks like the head width, the middle widens out slightly (unstated), and the foot is narrower than stated 48". I am a little worried about finding the correctly matching footprint since the 2P size seems to change with each year's model, and I might want it for the light pitch option.
    With the tent empty except for two people (no bedding or gear except in our imagination) it seemed like a snug but decent size and like a slight improvement on wall verticality and peak height to give the impression of space (and an outside possibility of being able to dress in a seated position instead of while lying down). The tent is a pretty close fit for two normal-sized people plus some gear/ clothing (or okay for a couple or secure friends). I'm a little skeptical about the "dented" vestibule footprint for holding more than your boots, but to be fair, we couldn't pitch the vestibules fully indoors.
    The main feature improvements we were looking for over previous tents were dependable high performance in rainy conditions (over the otherwise spacious and light Alps 3 person we tried out last season, in which we were sleeping in a puddle on our last rainy trip but for our nearly floating mattresses, _and_ we were sleeping under puddles in the fly despite best attempts to guy out and tighten) and for less compulsory ventilation than in my first backcountry tent model (the light but very small Sierra Designs Sirius 2, which lacks privacy and which requires a directional pitch for wind scoop or wind block-- and just never mind if the wind shifts).
    In contrast, the Hammerhead seems like its optional interior zip-out panels will give a lot of flexibility to our early and late season NH high country use (as mentioned by the previous reviewer), and the rain room test result sounds promising.
    Even in our chilly kitchen, we built up noticable extra warmth while sitting in it talking and inspecting for 15 minutes or so with inside panels zipped shut. I can imagine LOVING that feature from about 2-6 in the morning when at either chilly end of the season in high country. The panels seem to be breathable enough, and there are other adjustable vents for condensation as well. While the panel zippers may add some weight even when the panels are removed, I did note that the panel zippers are very light gauge. If removing all the optional fabric panels (which are sizable) only saves 4 ounces while already including one-half of that zipper assembly, the tent-side zipper itself can't be adding more than an ounce or so, logically. If I had to say where the "extra" weight on this model is coming from, I would say it's from the third, ground-to-ground arch pole (my postal scale clocks it in at 8 ounces). I am hopeful that arch pole will be well worth its weight for better performance and stability in wind and rain, with elimination of the scary/ heavy puddle spot that is indeed common on three pole tent designs with small, partial dome bridger pieces.
    We inspected the plastic/ nylon connection pieces at the tent corners and were pretty satisfied with them. Light metal options aren't always better than nylon "hardware" options for durability. Yes, piece failure with wear/ stress is a possibility with any design, but it isn't too hard to imagine a way to rig a corner with extra nylon web ties in case of a clip or seating plate failure (and in this tent's case, if a corner pole seat that's out on a piece of exterior web connector fails, you might not have to repair the entire tent body corner/ grommet area, or even to give up on the whole tent as structurally weakened in the worst case-- just a thought).
    I'm looking forward to trying the Hammerhead in the field, and I plan to make an updated review at that time.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry for couples
    • Cons: Little heavier for size, Weird vestibule footprint
    • Pros: Flexible pitch options, High peak
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.